We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good value option amongst the opulence of Capri”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Floridiana
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A good value option amongst the opulence of Capri”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at La Floridiana for two nights in late May 2013 and could have easily stayed longer. Capri is the playground of Italy's rich and famous meaning that you can easily spend several hundred euros a night for a decent hotel near the centre.

Therefore, we were delighted with this hotel, particularly as it was tucked away in an excellent location just a flight of steps away from one of Capri's many renowned designer shopping streets.

Upon arrival we were talked through a map of the area and the island as a whole and given the news that's always good to hear; that we'd been upgraded from a standard city view room to an executive room with sea view and a jacuzzi on the balcony. Great!

However, my dreams of sipping prosecco from the bubbling tub in the sun were short lived as once we reached the room I was informed that as we had only been upgraded to this class of room, the jacuzzi wasn't available to us. This seemed a little mean after the initial good news, but hey ho the room upgrade was better than nothing.

The room itself was spacious but a rather strange mish mash of ultra modern appliances like flat screen tv and fridge, mixed in with furniture and curtains which could have come straight out of my grandmas house. The bathroom too was in need of a modernising refit. It was a bit of a shame as the rest of the hotel reaches such a high standard.

The daily breakfast was excellent with a large range of hot and cold options and we found the staff throughout the hotel to be excellent.

The pool and sun deck area is also very good to have and gives this hotel the feeling of a much more expensive place than is the reality.

Overall this is a great value place which has everything you need to enjoy a stay on Capri. Were the owners to invest in bringing the rooms more up to date then I would have had no hesitation in giving this place 5 stars.

Room Tip: In hindsight, I think it would probably be worth paying extra for a sea view room - the views are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    200
    66
    34
    36
See reviews for
135
322
46
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Feldkirchen, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice rooms, very friendly and very helpful staff, very clean and impeccable room, nice pool, a great view of the ocean, good breakfast. I can warmly recommend this hotel. If I ever come back to Capri, I will surely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 65 and 66 have a nice view to the ocean, in room 60 you have a nice and quite large terrace of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudi1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel was a solid stay in Capri. Unfortunately for this review we didn't get a chance to stay here much as we only spent one night (our first in Italy) at this hotel. I do know it's clean, has a great view of the ocean, has a complimentary breakfast and has a small but friendly staff.

One small downside is the location. This was the first hotel we stayed at when coming from the U.S.. We did have some issues getting our luggage from the ferry to the hotel as you need to take a train to the center of town then walk a ways to the hotel (using mass transit). Going back they were kind enough to have a golf cart bring the luggage to the train to head back down to the marina. There are many other hotels closer to the center of town but we picked this one because the views appeared to be great, which they were. Because it's off the beaten path, you'll probably have a better view than most others.

Everything else was very satisfactory. Staff was helpful finding a restaurant, rooms were spacious and clean, had a decent breakfast, and the view was gorgeous. We didn't get to use the pool but it did look very inviting.

Would recommend this hotel for a couple staying a night or two. Anything longer and you may want to try something closer to town or the marina.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masiker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff are all very friendly and helpful, especially when it comes to recommending trips and we have enjoyed our stay in room 68 with its beautiful view! The room was always clean and impeccable, although we would have wished that the water in the minibar would have been refilled more frequently.
Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stay in Capri for 3 days with a nice jacuzzi sea view room. The service was very good!!! The reception lady give us many information about Capri island, i will recommend this hotel for my friend to stay. by Yahui Hsu from Taiwan

Room Tip: Nice Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonHsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
246 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Set on top of a hill overlooking the sea, this pleasant and classy hotel offers a stunning view that you will enjoy from your balcony at the time of an aperitif, lying on a deck chair by the pool or having breakfast by the bay window. Elegant and sober, the design is modern, light and luminous. Breakfast consists in a choice of fruit, pancakes, various buns and home made cakes along with omelette and local delicatessen. The friendly personnel is as discreet as efficient (a special mention for Dina at the reception for her useful advice and professionalism) and will do their best to make your stay wonderful. We stayed three nights and enjoyed the silence, the charm and the warm welcome that make La Floridiana a true place of choice. One slight change would make this place truly heavenly: could you please change the playlist by the pool from one day to another, or perhaps even better, no playlist at all. The sounds of nature are the best soundtrack once in a while ... We shall definitely come back anyway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dtshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at Hotel La Floridiana and would very much agree with the last post "Wonderful hotel and staff". From first arrival at the reception desk all staff were exceptionally helpful, friendly and kind. The location is excellent, down a charming lane secluded but very close to the town centre. It is also right next door to other highly rated hotels but much more reasonably priced and we did have the feeling of being in a 4 star hotel but with warm friendly service. The foyer, breakfast room and pool are all delightful areas. We were also VERY happy with our room which was a 2bedroom/bathroom unit with our own HUGE terrace overlooking the sea and pool. It was kept very clean with regular replacement of towels etc.The breakfast was great with a full selection plus cereals, eggs & bacon and again very attentive and pleasant service.
The pool looked beautiful and again very clean -still a little cold at 24C in April for we Aussies to venture in, but would be great for families in summer. We did book a boat trip around the island through the hotel and would also highly recommend this -went for 3 hours in private boat and saw all main options including blue grotto and 2 family members braved a swim through the emerald grotto.
Just a note regarding arrival - the ferry area is very busy and you need to go up to Capri town to reach the hotel. There is a funicular which you can take and send luggage up with porters -would recommend contact the hotel in advance regarding arrival options. We took a cool open air taxi up to the town centre with our luggage roped on the back! Once at the centre you need to walk to the hotel as there is only vehicle access for narrow porter mobiles. This is the same however for all the hotels as this part of the island is closed to vehicles but something for anyone with a disability to be aware of. There is beautiful walk very close to the hotel which gives you a great viewpoint over some of the main Capri coastline attractions.
All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel as a great value option in a fabulous location and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return again!
Heather and family

Room Tip: We took a family unit for 4 people with a sea-view. We were on the floor 1 level above the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#15 of 41 in Capri
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#21 of 41 in Capri
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#9 of 41 in Capri
735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Vega
Hotel La Vega
#30 of 41 in Capri
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Floridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Floridiana

Property: Hotel La Floridiana
Address: Via Campo di Teste 16, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Capri
#15 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#19 Family Hotel in Capri
#23 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Floridiana 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
new swimming pool with whirpool,colour therapy,it is possible to swim undercurrent, new solarium with green area,lounge bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Floridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Floridiana Hotel
La Floridiana Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing