We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service - nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible service - nice view”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is not the right place to stay if you are looking for good service or nice people. The people working at hotel weber ambassador are arrogant and they do not at all make their guest feel special. Quite the opposite, they even have a sign at the front desk saying "Yes we will serve you... But not only you!" I could not believe my eyes when I saw this sign, but actually it really pictures quite accurately the service you will get at this place. The terrible service at the front desk and the restaurant makes you forget everything else that is so wonderful about Capri. At least we have warned you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anethee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarantinoGiovanni, Direttore at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
My name is Giovanni Tarantino.
I am the General Manager of Hotel Weber Ambassador. I am really surprised by this review, although I am happy because the writer says that the Weber Ambassador hotel is the best hotel in the nicest part of Capri Island. But she states that part of the employees is arrogant. The only thing I can do is to apologize with her!
Sometimes my employees deal with very important guests as Princes, Bankers and Celebrities, they believe are like them and they forget they are simple employees. But this surely was not the case. About the sign that the client read on our note board at the front desk, it was posted by the promoters of the convention of Italian private banks. Their motto is "We serve everybody in the world and not only you, in Italian and in English language".
Probably our guest hasn't got the real message, naturally not addressed to her.
Sometimes guests are like children, they become jealous when they believe we treat better our usual guests or Vip people like American billionaires that use to stay at Weber Ambassador because the Marina Piccola bay is the best side of the island to anchor their yachts.
Better if the guest would have asked us what the sign could mean.
Dear Weber Guests, we treat everybody the same way.
Anyway the summer is over and the Weber Ambassador Hotel is closing for the winter time.
We thank all our 68723 Guests, we wish them a Merry Christmas and a Happy 2014 Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    542
    152
    82
    67
See reviews for
265
904
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Weber Ambassador during one of our stops in our honeymoon. Let me say that we fell in love with it almost at first sight...so much that we cancelled the next few nights in another city just to stay for longer.
The hotel sent a mini van to pick us up at Marina Grande and welcomed us at check in with a glass of prosecco. The reception if classy and has a stunning view of Marina Piccola. At night you cna delight yourself with a drink on their piano bar.
The room had a spectacular view as well and a very spacious semi private terrace. It is, however, on the smaller side, but with a comfortable enough bed and a large bathroom with bathtube and complimentary bath foam toiletries.
Service is attentive and gav eus good advice on restaurants and arranged the best way to do a private boat excursion of the Island with entrance to the Grotta Azzura. One of the highlights of our trip.
The hotel provided complimentary shuttel service between the hotel and Capri town, and back, every 15 minutes. This saves you a lot of money on taxis.
The pool is very good as so is the jacuzzi and the girls attending the bar were really nice and friendly.
However, a few things to point out that simply undermine the hotel's excellency: breakfast is NOT included and costs 9 euros pero person. While this price is not excessive by the high Capri standards, I guess it would be commercially more friendly if it were simply included on the room rate. Also, they charged us 10 euros for wifi which is a rip off price, considering other 4 star hotels tariff.
The worst was discovering the 10 euro rate for each trip to Marina Grande, just to pick us up and drop us off, which should be complimentary given that it is only two trips per group of passengers and it does not really appera clear on their website.
All in all, a great stay, a luxurious hotel which could be faultless if it could manage in a more guest and commercially friendly this little extras.
Would love to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a cheesy hotel from the 80's! Our room was old looking and there were ants on the white tiled floor. The bedding was terrible and so was the wallpaper and decor. The only nice part was the view.
If you are picky like me, you will be disappointed by staying here. If you are easy going and don't mind a few hairs on the bed sheets then this place will be just fine.
Staff at the front desk was a bit snobby...the only people that were working hard were the guys picking up and dropping off people in the shuttle every 10 minutes.
Hotel needs a facelift!! There's nothing worse than charging people money and not putting it back into your business. I would never stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Meech_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarantinoGiovanni, Direttore at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
The guest is not saying the truth, we do not have wallpaper on our walls, we do not have ants in the rooms and any hair on the bed sheets. Our décor hah not got 30 years but 150 and we are sorry for our guest because he was not able to recognize the ‘800’s style. If you go to Rome, you cannot say that the Sistin Chapel is ugly because is old.
The truth is that our guest booked two rooms for two nights and she came only the second night. Despite her threats of writing bad reviews on Tripadvisor, we charged the no show fee. We only are employees and we tried to explain the cancellation policy to our guest. When you do not get what you want you may find ants and bugs, noisy discos deside the hotel, mouses in the room and more and more.
Few years ago, a Swedish guest threated our hotel saying that if he didn’t get breakfast for free he would have written that for one night he had slept with a cow!
Sometimes fantasy is endless..
Giovanni Tarantino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

While this hotel seems to have all the bells and whistles- it lacks all attention to detail. While I let some of it be 'the Italian way', some things are notable
1) pool is hardly worth the visit
2) does not have own beach
3) breakfast is hardy worth the 9€

But... The shuttle service is prompt and friendly. The restaurant has a very nice view and rooms, while basic have everything you need and are clean

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We can't understand why some people would miss the opportunity to stay on Capri as it is truly breathtaking! Hotel Weber is lovely - it is situated on the other side of Capri - Ana Capri... and this makes it that much more romantic and relaxing.
Our room was immaculate and our view was gorgeous! The cocktails at the bar are fantastic and very well priced, and the pool is a wonderful place to read a book and relax. You are also just a short walk to where the boats come to take you on tours around the island and to the Grottoes.

I would love to return here one day!

Room Tip: A room with an ocean view is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronkaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel after a week visiting Rome, Sorrento and Positano. We arrived in Capri to the busy port area but when we arrived at this hotel it was like being in another world. We had a small corner room but the balcony was great. The property was very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the restaurant had great food with reasonable prices compared to other restaurants in Capri. We used the shuttle to go to town which was great. We had planned to stay 2 nights but we stayed 3 because we enjoyed it so much. Just a short walk down to the beach to swim in the sea was also a plus. The restaurants down by the sea are over priced so avoid them. Do rent a scooter on the island, we road to the lighthouse and Ana Capri which was great. This hotel takes a while to get to but it is worth the trip.

Room Tip: The suites have huge balconies and looked really nice but they were sold out when we were there. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 696Ellenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just left Hotel Weber after two wonderful nights. We drives from Massa Lubrense after travelling around Amalfi coast. It was a welcome rest from the crazy tourists in Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi. We had a junior suite which meant a large terrace overlooking the sea and cliffs, and a large king bed plus an extra room with two single beds. Staff were wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable. We took the privat boat tour shared with 4 others which was $25 each. Great guide. Skipped the blue grotto because of crowds, went to the green instead. Fabulous. Only complaint, is the food. In the hotel it was ok, reasonably priced. Breakfast not great, but there are no choices. All around the hotel it was bad, and expensive. If you must eat it, take it out. The charge extra plus a sitting fee. We took a trip to Anacapri for a recommended dinner. If I return to capri I will go back there to site see. Beautifully quaint and much less touristy.

I highly recommend The hotel, only complaint is the food.

Room Tip: Terrace for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.8 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 41 in Capri
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 41 in Capri
795 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#27 of 41 in Capri
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 41 in Capri
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri

Property: Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Address: Via Marina Piccola 118, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weber Ambassador Hotel is a four-star luxury Capri hotel, right on the beach of Marina Piccola, the nicest of Capri Island. No beach in Capri isle and in the world is more fashionable and exclusive than Marina Piccola. This hotel is ideal for those who are looking for a totally relaxing holiday, in perfect harmony with nature and the sea, in a location well away from the bright, noisy and some time problematic Piazzetta, a very crowded place where all discos and night clubs are, and where thousand of young people spend the night in gangs. Although this is only 500 metres away, and can be reached using our free shuttle service, which runs every 5 minutes throughout the day and until 3.00 Am. From the terraces of the Ambassador Weber and from a number of the hotel’s bedrooms, sweeping views over the Bay of Marina Piccola, the Faraglioni rocks and Monte Solaro can be seen. For centuries this panorama has been inspiring writers and artists of worldwide fame, including Thomas Mann, Maxim Gorky and Frank Sinatra, all of whom stayed in the historic Pensione Weber. One of the oldest of the island’s establishments, the pensione is now a luxurious 4 star hotel. We won't offer you "3 for 2" or "5 for 3" nights like some Capri hotels do and in which, when you book and stay only one night because the place isn't inhabitable, they make you pay for the whole stay. We will never try to keep you prisoner for longer, if you do not like the place. We will give you a 96 hour cancellation policy, not 2 weeks which is the common cancellation policy in all Italian hotels. You can book a room at the Weber Ambassador Hotel through our booking system online or through 36 different Tour Operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing