We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here in Sept 2012, I thought the staff was friendly enough and the shuttle made it very easy to go into the town. I did not love the breakfast. I thought the food was very average in the morning and I am very generous on this subject. The property is not new which might add to the charm. The pool however should be updated to new astro turf as that part looked dated to me and I was not too excited to sit out there.

I would go back, the rates I felt were very reasonable given the view and the location. The bar was close to my deluxe room so it was easy to run back and forth.

Room Tip: when you walk in the lobby you walk down a flight of stairs to get to the room we were in. It was ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierreChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Weber Ambassador for 3 days and fell in love with Capri. It was important for me to stay close to the water. With the free shuttle every 10 mins to Capri town it makes the location by the beach even better. Via Krup was within walking distance. The staff at the hotel and the shuttle drivers were very nice and pleasant. We got an ocean view suite with a patio, and it was really worth it. The only con was that our room was under the dining room and we woke up to chairs squeaking above us each morning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperator8152, Direttore at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Ms. Lisa,

thank you for this nice review, we are glad that you appreciated the location of our hotel and our staff. We hope that you will come back to Capri very soon and will choose Hotel Weber Ambassador again.

Best regards,

Giovanni Tarantino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here in October last year! Got free upgrade to a sea view room. The view was spectacular, service in the hotel was okay. Food was pretty poor. Over all I'd still say okay hotel if you not looking to splash out in capri, not great if you are. Though I still think the view and capri is why you are there and the hotel wont be what you remember anyway. I'd go back again and stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenMcNulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

First, in general, I found the hotels on Capri to be a much better value than those in Positano. Specifically the Weber has a great location at a very reasonable price. You should know however, that we stayed in the shoulder season (October). In the peak summer months "your milage may vary".

Things I liked:
The location of the hotel is great and the scenery is awsome.
Our ocean view balconyless room on the 4th floor was large, and contained one of the truely real king-sized beds (not two twins pushed together) I have seen in Europe.
The food and wine at the resturant was both good and reasonably priced.
I very much enjoyed the pool area (pools are hard to come by in Capri and the Amalfi coast).
they have a coutesy shuttle that runs to the Capri Centre and back every 10mins.
The staff was pleasant and helpful.

Things I didn't like:
It was not made clear to us weather b'fast was included in the room price until we checked out. Yes, we could have asked, and no we didn't. It wasn't a huge sum, just proceedurally something the hotel should improve on. A sign perhaps.
Internet was not complimentary.
The hotel charges 5 euro per person each way for transportation to Marina Grande. Not a big deal except that we didn't use the shuttle, but the hotel charged us anyway. We asked that it be removed, and it was, but review your bill when you check out.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, felt like it was a great value ($134.00/night), and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, or stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackandniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The sea view room we had was ideal and the views were perfect for an afternoon drink on the balcony. The location was excellent and the hotel shuttle to Capri town was convenient. The beach was easily accessible and not crowded and swimming or just relaxing whilst taking in the scenery was very rewarding.
Could not have asked for a better hotel at the rate!

Room Tip: Please check your bill as some items are added and then corrected only when you ask. Sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperator8152, Direttore at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear Asrie,

We are glad that you appreciated the location of the hotel and also our free shuttle to Capri downtown every 8 minutes. Thank you for your excellent review, we hope to welcoming you again very soon at the Hotel Weber Ambassador.

Best regards,

Giovanni Tarantino & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were given a room that felt like a cellar, the "balcony" opened to a brick wall. The room was not well maintained and had a bad odor. Internet was extra; we learned we could go have wine down the road and get it for free. Breakfast was extra, the only place we stayed in our three week vacation where it wasn't included. The desk staff was not friendly and gave us misinformation. The shuttle runs every 15 minutes, but on the day we left it was every 30 minutes; guess we misunderstood. The shuttle was free, but we were charged!
Seems if you don't look like you are rich you are treated differently,
avoid this place, there are so many other nice places why stay where you feel unwelcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperator8152, Proprietario at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Members,
I started my hotel career when I was very young, at the legendary Frontier Hotel in Las Vegas that unfortunately no longer exists. When guests arrived there they were stunned, even though the hotel was not the best on the Strip. But after a few hours spent gambling, after losing almost everything of what they had, our hotel was no longer appreciated.
Sometimes complaints were very challenging, some people even claimed that they were forced to see the moon from their window and that was something that clearly bothered them.
In our case, our guests had booked a Classic room without a sea view and without breakfast included.
Upon arrival everything was fine, no complaint received at the moment of check-in otherwise the guests would ask to change the room, obviously no one would sleep in a "cellar"!
Next morning they realized the reservation did not include breakfast and at the time of the payment of the extra 9 € their opinion on the Weber had changed.
The Ambassador Weber has 5 categories of rooms: Junior Suites, Deluxe, Superior, Standard and Classic rooms. The Classic room chosen by our guests is a large room with a nice balcony and all the comforts of a four star hotel, unfortunately it doesn't have a view on the Faraglioni rocks but on the walls of our gardens.
These rooms are less expensive than rooms with sea view. They are dedicated to those who have a small budget and still want to enjoy the amenities of a four star hotel: three swimming pools, a jacuzzi, free shuttle to the city centre, free beach towels, free deckchairs, the entrance to our private beach and many other things that the Weber offers to its customers. With regard to the review of Mr. Robyn, he only had to look at the confirmation of his reservation in order to see that it was written quite clear that the breakfast was not included in the room rate so he had to pay extra.
I would like to point out that our shuttle to the city centre is free but if you want a transfer to the Port with our limousine, you have to pay an extra charge of 5 Euro per person, luggage included.
I wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year Mr. Robyn, we apologize for not being able to uphold your expectations.
Giovanni Tarantino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

After being travelling for two weeks in mainland Italy, we spent our last night at Capri.There were few positive factors - nice welcome drink when we arrived; reception staff was really helpful and friendly. In few occasions it felt like a proper 5* hotel. Food at the restaurant was outstanding. Location of the hotel is just perfect - you cant ask for a better view while having afternoon drinks or dinner - blue blue sea, white cliffs and Faraglioni Rocks.
Main pool outside was just great - outstanding views, all day sun and good mojitos.

On the down side: Definitely not a 4* hotel. It could be that I was given a dogroom, as we didn't have Gucci & Versace written all over us, but room 218 would rate about 2+*/3* (barely). I never complain in the hotel (unless it's really necessary), because I want to write my reviews based on something that I was given as it could have been given to anyone else - we all know that once you start to complain and scream at the reception, you get what you want...does that make the hotel better? Don't think so, because the room you complained about, still remains and will be given to someone else (fingers crossed, hopefully they don't complain, or care).
I've been working in hospitality-hotel business for last 10 years and must say I've never stayed/worked in a 4* hotel where: view from your room is to a 1 m away brick wall (especially frustrating as the sea was just 100 m away, other direction - I know i didn't book a sea-view room, but I really didn't expect to have a brick wall view either); exposed wires in the bathroom next to the sink; random cables hanging from the wall (instead of removing it, it was painted to the same pattern as the wall); 12 hangers in a closet, all different - probably from housekeeping lost and found; shaving mirror metal parts all rusted and dirty; 14 inch TV (I rather have no TV in the room - or a radio, same size basically); AC units remote-control was duct-taped together; decorative pillows on a bed were anything but decorative - teared up, broken/missing zippers, dirty; also - AC unit didn't seem to cool down (my mistake was not to point that out to the reception on time), so the room was pretty hot whole night. and we couldn't open the window, as the kitchen extraction fan was somewhere near our window and all the smell came to the room.
All of the above you can expect from a 2*/3* hotel, but not in a 4* hotel. I've stayed better B&B rooms.
PS. Keep an eye on your restaurant bills prices and double check everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank homelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperator8152, Proprietario at Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Incredible, this review is just like the plot of a thriller movie!
As the guests stated, they decide to spend a night in Capri. In the evening they arrive on the island and they are welcomed at the port by the hotel shuttle that take them in a heavenly place just in few minutes.
They are greeted with music and champagne.
Enchanted by a breathtaking view of the white cliffs of the mythical island of Capri and by the background of the famous Faraglioni rocks, they sit tired at the restaurant where they have an outstanding dinner with excellent service, just like in a 5-star hotel.
But after the dinner the drama begins.
They go to the room: Crutches are not of the same size or colour, three are for female dresses and six for men suits. A small and non-branded tv. A pillow is not Gucci’s.
They think: "Maybe they gave us a standard room because they did not notice our Gianni Versace shirts or because we forgot our Gucci bags! Ouch! You left the Louis Vuitton suitcase at home "!
None of that.
Dear guests, if you arrive at Weber Ambassador without booking a room or you book a Standard room at the last minute, your risk is to lose the most beautiful view of the Mediterranean sea.
Don’t even try to find the speck of dust, a rust’s stain, cracked cement out of the window, now the trouble is done.
At the end, you realise that to save only 15 Euro, which is the difference between a room with a view and one without a view, you give up the chance to have paradise for one night.
Fortunately, we understand our guests and we hope that they return to the Weber and enjoy one of our romantic rooms from which at night you can even see Sicily.
Giovanni Tarantino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#29 of 40 in Capri
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#9 of 40 in Capri
843 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 40 in Capri
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri

Address: Via Marina Piccola 118, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Price Range: $87 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weber Ambassador Hotel is a four-star luxury Capri hotel, right on the beach of Marina Piccola, the nicest of Capri Island. No beach in Capri isle and in the world is more fashionable and exclusive than Marina Piccola. This hotel is ideal for those who are looking for a totally relaxing holiday, in perfect harmony with nature and the sea, in a location well away from the bright, noisy and some time problematic Piazzetta, a very crowded place where all discos and night clubs are, and where thousand of young people spend the night in gangs. Although this is only 500 metres away, and can be reached using our free shuttle service, which runs every 5 minutes throughout the day and until 3.00 Am. From the terraces of the Ambassador Weber and from a number of the hotel’s bedrooms, sweeping views over the Bay of Marina Piccola, the Faraglioni rocks and Monte Solaro can be seen. For centuries this panorama has been inspiring writers and artists of worldwide fame, including Thomas Mann, Maxim Gorky and Frank Sinatra, all of whom stayed in the historic Pensione Weber. One of the oldest of the island’s establishments, the pensione is now a luxurious 4 star hotel. We won't offer you "3 for 2" or "5 for 3" nights like some Capri hotels do and in which, when you book and stay only one night because the place isn't inhabitable, they make you pay for the whole stay. We will never try to keep you prisoner for longer, if you do not like the place. We will give you a 96 hour cancellation policy, not 2 weeks which is the common cancellation policy in all Italian hotels. You can book a room at the Weber Ambassador Hotel through our booking system online or through 36 different Tour Operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing