We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Capri”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Relais Maresca
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The staff were absolutely amazing. They went above and beyond expectations to ensure that our stay was fantastic. I would especially like to thank Domenico at the front desk. He was extremely knowledgeable, helped us book the most wonderful private boat tour of Capri, and even went out of his way to give us the best room he could! I literally can not think of one thing that I would ask them to change.

The hotel is located in the main port. You don't need a taxi and you don't need to take the obnoxious funicular cable car to the top of Capri. My advice would be to take the boat from Sorrento (20 min boat ride). If you are coming from Salerno, get ready for a two hour boat ride. Drive to Sorrento and drive all the way down to the bottom and do the valet service (25 euros). Otherwise, prepare to stress yourself out trying to find parking; you will not find anything for under 15 Euros and knowing the peace of mind that you get that your car is safe and valet"ed" is well worth the extra 10 euros.

My recommendations:
-They have Happy Hour at the hotel everyday; seeing as they have the nicest view of the harbor from their terrace, I would highly recommend going to this. Their chef Mario is QUITE THE CHARACTER. He has a very good level of English and is very knowledgeable about not only the island, but of all things Italy (and US for that matter!). Their terrace is on the 4th floor and is the only way to do Capri at night; beautiful views of the sunset, reasonably priced, and wonderful food.
-Ask Domenico for advice about what to do on the island. He booked a private boat tour for 150 Euros; without a shadow of a doubt this is the BEST way to do Capri - I cannot stress this enough. The boating company comes right to your hotel and walks you over to your private boat. This is a 2-hour tour that is private. I would not ordinarily recommend this because I am super cheap, but when you see the way that they pack people into other boats you will be happy with your investment. Having this private service allows you to stay at certain sites that you want and others that you don't. It's a huge boat and I am really surprised that they don't charge 300 euros (I would have paid it!). Ask for Vittorio when requesting the boat; very knowledgeable and a great level of English.
-Also, when checking in, see if they can't put you on the second or third floor: my wife was really sick when we checked in and didn't want to be stuck with the smell of diesel on our balcony. Domenico REALLY helped us with this and went above and beyond expectations.
-Spend the extra money for a sea side view; well worth it!

My wife and I are already plotting our return!!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the only way to do this. GO WITH THE SEA SIDE VIEW!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Andrew F,
Thank you on behalf of myself and all the staff for the nice words had for our Hotel.. It is very gratifying to learn that your stay at the Relais Maresca was enjoyable. With best wishes to seeing you to spend other beautiful days, for the coming visit to Capri, I greet you cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 843 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a great hotel, situated approximately 200m from where the ferry docks at the port. Don't bother paying for a taxi or porter as you can walk your bags right to the front door (don't go via the steps).

The rooms are comfortable, and clean, if you pay a little extra you can have a habour facing room with a balcony. Free internet which carries over most of the hotel, friendly staff, and a spectacular rooftop position for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or just to chill out in the separate sun lounges.

Access to Piazza Umberto is via a swag of choices all very close to the hotel. Bus, taxi ($$$), cable car, or you can walk, which is what I did. The walk is a challenge, not suited for elderly, young children, or pregnant women. Allow 30m to get up there, this includes a few rest breaks of a few mins each. Expect an incline of approx 35 degrees, so wear practical footwear if walking, and take water.

Getting onto boat tours of the grotto's and the island is also very easy and close to the hotel, form the front door it would be no more than 100m to the counter to buy your tickets.

There is a pharmacy located very close to the hotel, in case you need supplies when arriving.

Would I stay there again? Yes, indeed and I would even say it is child friendly. The breakfast, whilst simple, is plentiful. Hygiene is also very good right across the hotel...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

we would like to thank you for sharing your views and comments on our structure and our Staff. We are very pleased to learn that your experience at our hotel was quite positive, and that means for us to achieve our main objective, namely the satisfaction of our guests.
Thanking you again for your valuable opinion, we hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a very comfortable stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We Stayed At HOTEL RELAIS MARESCA for the nites of JUNE 9-11, 2013.

LOCATION: fabulous / get off the ferry and easy two minutes walk to the hotel. Take either a short staircase or since we had two large and two small wheeled suitcases - used the the gentle roadway to the hotel.

WE FOUND BEING LOCATED PERCHED ALONG THE WATERFRONT AND NOT UP IN THE TOWN (MUST TAKE THE FUNICULAR OR TAXI) WAS A GREAT ADVANTAGE AND AWAY FROM THE CROWDS AND THE BEST PLACE TO GET BUS SERVICE.

We had a room with balcony overlooking the harbor - BEST VIEW IN CAPRI

We found great restaurants on the waterfront especially - Zorba

THE HOTEL ITSELF WAS OUTSTANDING - THE ROOM (LARGE & VERY COMFORTABLE FIRM BED) / BREAKFAST (ON ROOF W/GREAT VIEW & BUFFET) / STAFF (KNOWLEDGEABLE & VERY HELFUL)

The hotel has a beach right across the street.

The only disappointment of our trip to Capri was the Blue Grotto.
A RIP OFF - after a wait (10-30 minutes to get into a small rowboat) You are only in the dark grotto for about three to four minutes, TOTAL DISAPPOINTMENT.


KEN & ELLY
NEW YORK, NY

Room Tip: Room with balcony and view of harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenNETHB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

we would like to thank you for sharing your views and comments on our structure and our Staff. We are very pleased to learn that your experience at our hotel was quite positive, and that means for us to achieve our main objective, namely the satisfaction of our guests.
we are sorry to read of the little inconvenience you had with our shower and we assure you that all will be done that similar circumstances do not happen again.
Thanking you again for your valuable opinion, we hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a very comfortable stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed one night during a two-week journey through Italy. A friend recommended this hotel. Overall, it was an average stay. The hotel is situated in just above the Grand Marina area; we liked this location. It was easy to find from the ferry we took from the Amalfi Coast, and it was a neat place to stay and people-watch. Things quieted at night, which was also nice. The hotel was a short walk from the marina, bus stop, and "beach" (Italy has mostly rocky beaches - not sand).

Our room was ready early, which was really nice, and a nice staffer showed us to our room. The room itself was very disappointing for what we expected of a "four star" hotel - it didn't give the impression of being very clean since the seat cushions and lamp shade were all stained, and the bathroom shower door was dingy and old. For the price, we expected much better finishes and fixtures. Also, while we had a lovely view of the marina and bay from our balcony, the balcony door was broken (fell off its hinges). If we had been staying longer, I would have complained about the room, but it was only for one night. The room was an average size; we didn't spend much time there, so it was fine for us.

The staff was knowledgeable and helpful. One of the front desk associates made a dinner reservation for us, and Mario, the chef, was incredibly charming and hospitable during our visit to happy hour on the terrace. The breakfast provided was also very good and included cappuccino, meats and cheeses, eggs, yogurt, and an assortment of pastries.

I'd probably recommend this hotel to friends, but I would preface it with having them ask for a clean, updated room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsd185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear jsd185
we are pleased to learn that overall your stay here at the hotel Relais Maresca has been satisfactory.
we are sorry instead to know only now of the problems found in the assigned room. if we had known on your arrival, we would have immediately given another room to you.
Thanking you again for your valuable opinion, we hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a second opportunity to offer a very comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just checked in at Hotel Relais Maresca (June 6, 2013) - If you are looking for beautiful views, and a wonderful experience, this is NOT the place to stay. If you are looking for a cheap but clean hotel in the marina then select this location. Hotel is on par to a Howard Johnsons (US standards).Very small room, A/C barely works, Clean bathrooms, but minimalistic at best.
Also,the marina area is not a nice area to stay. Make sure you are clear where your hotel is located when booking in Capri. A TERRIBLE location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank PRNoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear PRNoles,
We are saddened as this review is fruit of your bitterness at not having fulfilled your request to have a free upgrade of your room. the negative reviews are inspiration for us and urge us to do always more to improve ourselves, but have not becomes a weapon for those guests who claim benefits or discounts. I understand that maybe our position was not appreciated, but it is well specified on our website, on the online booking agencies and also by the many reviews of customers who are excited instead.
Thank you also to have noticed the cleanliness and care in the conduct of this hotel.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Relais Maresca is conveniently positioned just 50m away from the ferry port; which i eventually found to be ideal as i preferred the restaurants and small personalized oriented shops that surrounded it. The cable car that takes you to the town centre is also just a stone's throw away.

I'm giving Maresca an average 3 stars because the friendly staff eventually made up for some of the inadequacies of the hotel. I.e hot/cold water from showers was exactly that - first hot then cold then hot hmmm......one small elevator serving 25 rooms.

Hotel though quaint needs s slap of paint and some re-tweaking of it's internals.

Won't be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkcw6862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear kcw6862,
We are pleased to learn that your stay here at the hotel Relais Maresca has been satisfactory.
Our location is true is very confortable, and for our staff the customer has to feel at home.
We are sorry instead to know only now of the little problem found with water in shower If we had known in your stay, we would check immediately for the cause or have immediately given another room to you.
Thanking you again for your valuable opinion, we hope to be able to welcome back you to our hotel and have a second opportunity to offer a very comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is not a first time review, but I am so delighted with this hotel ! You are made welcome by the entire staff. The rooms are nicely decorated, floors that beautiful blue tile, and the crisp breeze from the Bay of Naples greets you as soon as you step outside. The hotel sits just up from the ferry boat docking, and has a spectacular view of Mount Vesuvius, plus the mountains of Capri. An added plus is that you have easy access to the funicular to Capri town, and buses and taxis are close by to take you to Marina Piccolo and Anacapri.
You are treated to a well-stocked breakfast buffet on the restaurant veranda, overlooking the harbor of Marina Grande.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Sirs,
Thank you on behalf of myself and all the staff for the nice words had for our Hotel.. It is very gratifying to learn that your return even this year at the Relais Maresca was once again enjoyable. With best wishes to seeing you to spend other beautiful days, next year, full of sunshine on our terrace, I greet you cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.1 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#29 of 40 in Capri
723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Maresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Maresca

Address: Via Provinciale Marina Grande 284, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Capri
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Capri
#6 Family Hotel in Capri
#6 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#6 Business Hotel in Capri
#14 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $102 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Maresca 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Relais Maresca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maresca Hotel
Relais Maresca Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing