We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel and Perfect Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Relais Maresca
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel and Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Relais Maresca for two nights at the end of June 2011 and had a wonderful time. The location just off of the Marina Grande is perfect! When getting off the ferry, you don't have to cart your luggage far at all and we were right across from the Funicular up to the square. It's also convenient for boat trips.

Though the hotel is located right on the main street from the Marina Grande, the streets and shops close down at about 8 p.m. every night and it is pretty quiet after that, so it was never too loud to get a great night's sleep. And even though most of the restaurants on that main street close pretty early, there are two very nice restaurants just in front of the dock (walking distance) that are open much later and serve delicious food!

The main street does get pretty crowded and busy during the day once the ferrys start coming in, but we were out exporing the island away from the Marina Grande during the day and avoided much of this.

Our first day we rented a scooter from the shop just next door, which was the best way to see all of Capri! The island is incredibly easy to navigate as there is only one main street to any of the areas you want to go and the scooter shop gives you a great map to get around. We stopped in Anacapri to shop and have lunch, took the Chair Lift and then drove to the Blue Grotto. After the boats leave for the day (after 4 p.m.) you can swim in the Blue Grotto, which my husband did, though it can be a bit dangerous as the tide rises and the entrance is shallow. We then drove to Faro Beach to enjoy the sunset (recommended by the scooter shop) and check out the lighthouse.

Our second day we rented a private boat to tour the island. There are many private boat owners around Marina Grande offering tours so you don't have to take one of the overcrowded public boat tours, which look just awful! We paid only 20 Euro more to have a private boat tour, he told us all about the island, took our pictures everywhere, took us into every grotto and let us swim through the Green Grotto, which you didn't get to do on the public boat tours. The extra money is worth it! The line was too long to wait to take us into the Blue Grotto, so we took the scooter back to the Blue Grotto and waited in line there, which went pretty fast. It is 12.50 Euro to go into the Blue Grotto and it's pretty quick inside and out, but you just have to see it since it is what Capri is known for!

Every night at about 7 p.m. the square at the top of the Funicular is buzzing with many of the socialites coming off of their yachts and the restaurants get full for pre-dinner drinks and snacks. So every evening we went to the square for cocktails and enjoyed some of best people watching! The most fabulous and elegant yacht crowd just fills the square and you're surrounded by the most reknowned retailers in the world (Valentino, Prada, YSL, etc). The drinks are expensive - 10 Euro each - but well worth the enviornment!

The Funicular stops running at 10 p.m. so we'd head back down to the Marina Grande just before that and eat dinner at one of the two restaurants still open. Since everything closes, it is nice to enjoy a quiet dinner on the Marina Grande.

I'd highly recommend this hotel, everyone at the front desk was so kind and helpful! The breakfast is your traditional Eurpean breakfast with meats, cheeses and pastries which are good and tide you over until lunch. The hotel is clean, nice decor and the most perfect location to get around!

If you are comfortable driving a scooter, it is the best and most affordable way to see the island (cabs can get pretty expensive) and the private boat tour is a must!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the sea view room with a view over Marina Grande.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KrysT1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    233
    59
    17
    11
See reviews for
135
413
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

After declining an "upgrade" for 40 Euros a night, the service from the receptionist turned from fake to bad. The room was however ok, but very small, and the location was great when we arrived in Marina Grande. I am not sure we will stay there again, but except from the very unpolite receptionist, the other staff turned out to be quite nice, so I suppose we just met the wrong person.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

NIce hotel. It was our honeymoon & gave us a room upgrade to a suite which was lovely with Champagne upon arrival.
Close to the Port & view of the sea. But not up high in Capri. Have to get bus or cable car to the centre. Which are regular & go til late at night so its not a problem.
Good value for money

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Relais Maresca is a very nice boutique hotel. It is very well mantained, the staff are very attentive but never intrusive and the service is very good. We stayed for a long weekend and decided to have also lunch in their lovely restaurant. The food wa very good and the homemade cakes are to die for. Very useful was the free internet wireless connection in the room. Overall, for sure one of the best value for money places I have ever been. We will go back for sure and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoneybatter1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

I am amazed that each review is not positive. We have stayed at the Relais Maresca for the last five years, and plan on staying there again next year. The harbor view is beautiful; we like watching the ferries and boats arrive and depart, and love the view of Mt. Vesuvius. It may be busy in the daytime, but early morning and evenings it is quiet. This hotel is located 2 doors down from the rail service up to Capri town, and Taxis are right at the harbor for Anacapri. You could not imagine a prettier place for the included breakfast! We were very impressed this year with the maid service and overall cleanliness of the room. The manager of the hotel, as well as the staff, are eager to be of help to you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

When we arrived, the first thing we asked at reception was about the room view, and it was said that our's was Standard room with no view to the Sea. Fortunately there was a superior room available. The view was amazing and room very nice. We have enjoyed a lot. Would stay a this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleRafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

The hotel itself was nice,but the young man at the reception and breakfast room staff we're not so kind,we a couple of spanish stayed with our little girl and the ants in the room were a problem.the location was not so convenient if you want to visit Capri.the girl at the reception was really nice!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luisagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#15 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Maresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Maresca

Property: Hotel Relais Maresca
Address: Via Provinciale Marina Grande 284, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Capri
#6 Family Hotel in Capri
#6 Business Hotel in Capri
#7 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#14 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Maresca 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Relais Maresca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maresca Hotel
Relais Maresca Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing