We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking. Stay here.”
Review of Casa Morgano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Morgano
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stop looking. Stay here.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights at this amazing hotel after lots of agonizing over where to stay. Firstly, I must say that the best way to really experience Capri is by staying over night. The island is completely different at night when all the day trippers depart. Capri town is absolutely stunning, very clean and the people that work there, friendly. We loved this hotel. It is beautiful, high end, yet not the least bit stuffy. Every single one of the people working there go out of their way to make your stay fabulous. Service is first rate and everything is taken care of for you from getting your luggage to and from the hydrofoils, restaurant reservations and in our case, replacing a phone charger that we thought we forgot at our previous hotel. We stayed in a superior room with large balcony with an amazing view. The bathroom was huge as was the room itself as well as the balcony. This hotel has a restaurant which serves lunch only to hotel guests. This is an absolute must if you stay here as it was truly one of the best meals we had in Italy. The day we ate there there was only one other table being served so it felt like we were in someone's home being treated really special. The breakfast in the morning is served outside on the patio over looking the water and is plentiful; eggs, bacon, etc is served a la carte. This was the highlight of our 10days in Italy. A real treat.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheerleader99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    37
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
30
174
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit to Capri in September was another great holiday. We simply adore this island and everyone should visit it at least once in their life.

We stayed at Casa Morgano, which is the sister hotel to the glamorous Qvisisana. It's rated as 5* hotel but don't expect 5* accommodation. But, read further to learn more about this hotel.

Advantages:

Great staff, in every sense of the word: polite, welcoming, helpful, smiley..., are a big big plus here. They will do all the best of their ability to be at your service. They are, without any doubts, 10/10!!!...ALL OF THEM!

Food - breakfast buffet is very nice. Lots of choice of fresh fruits, cooked breakfasts, nice relaxing area adjacent to the pool with amazing views of the Mediterranean Sea. Very idyllic indeed. Lunch at Casa Morgano is a hidden gem. You can only have a lunch here if you're staying at the hotel. Homemade, freshly prepared foods will leave you breathless. So, lunch at Casa Morgano is a MUST to do!

Location is also a big advantage being just minutes from the piazza yet in a lovely and quite environment.

Disadvantages:

What really disappointed us was our room. We were staying in a Junior suite, big enough to be a suite, but that was about it really. This room isn't what would you expect from a 5* hotel. Decorations are generally a bit shabby and the air conditioning was very noisy.Bed wasn't comfortable, even after we asked to put an extra 2 comforters . It was was still very hard and consequently we didn't sleep at all well throughout our stay. Walls are paper thin and so every sound from the adjoining rooms is audible.
We were disturbed every morning at 7am which was probably the maid (who's LOVELY btw) trying to clean.

We stayed here 11 nights and, I reckon, only 3-4 nights we had a good sleep. Pillows are another matter. They are very uncomfortable and we tried all they had (only choice of 2) but none worked properly. Again, this might be ok if you're staying in 2* accommodation.

Conclusion:

However, don't be put off by these things as I'm sure management will be aware of these things and they will make changes for the next season. Being located in an amazing location is something you can't change, all these disadvantages can be fixed and I'm sure Casa Morgano will get to another level with these changes.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank WRTEAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Casa Morgano without doubt is set in an amazing location and has fantastic views. The staff are friendly and attentive. However i wouldnt stay here again. On our two wk trip we stayed at 4 hotels all 5star, and Casa Morgano was a distant 4th. The bedroom was very nice, clean and relatively simple, good sized balcony with a great sea view, the bathroom however was dated and seriously needs redoing. The other major difference compared to the other 3 hotels we stayed at is that Casa Morgano provided no nice little touches, and consequently it didnt seem particularly special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DfH9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my 9th trip to Capri. First time at the Casa Morgano. For Capri, this hotel is very well maintained. Hotels in Capri tend to be on the older side and this sometimes shows. You can see a little bit of this at Morgano but not much. Staff is absolutely superb and exceedingly friendly. Food / breakfast is top notch. The views from the Morgano are very good. Perhaps not as good as at Punta Tragara or Villa Brunella, but Morgano is a bit more behind the mountain so it gets less wind. Its worth splurging on a sea view. But even if you don't there are PLENTY of areas to lounge about with a great sea view. As far as booking services around the island (reservations) just let them do it. They will set you up with the best. Highly rec taking a boat around the island and hitting some of the key dinner spots.

Room Tip: Sea View. Just do it. You will spend most of your time out there anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackPackGuy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in September for 6 wonderful nights, the service and attention from the lovely staff, the view from the huge balcony and the cleanliness of the entire hotel left nothing to be desired .. Just perfect, as well as gorgeous tasty lunches and ample breakfast . This hotel is also in a fantastic location.. A short walk from the breathtaking fraglioni rocks and the most romantic resteraunt monzu which is definatrly worth a visit .. Can't wait to come back again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Have been staying here for many years. The staff are all delightful from the owner Nik Morgano down. We always have a junior suite with an amazing balcony almost as large as the room and a magnificant view. HOWEVER, the decor of the room is virtually non-existant and the bathroom is from another age. Come on Nik, spend some money and bring your wonderful hotel up to date!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel-agent-boris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Casa Morgano is the an opulent but warm and inviting and magnificently luxurious European hotel on the breathtaking Isle of Capri. The views for our room were breathtaking. Our room, while not overly large, was one of the most decadent that I've stayed in with stunning marble bathroom and a terrace made for lounging with an endless ocean view. Next door to sister hotel, La Scalinatella, steps away from the finest shops and restaurants, close by the most exclusive beach club, La Fontelina and a short walk to Hotel Quisisana where I highly recommend that you stop for drinks on the terrace before dinner; Casa Morgano is the perfect place to spend a few nights while exploring and enjoying all Capri has to offer. Our hotel concierge arranged a private boat ride around Capri as well as recommending restaurant choices from our short list. Very romantic, very decadent...would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisweinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.0 mi away
La Scalinatella
La Scalinatella
#26 of 41 in Capri
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
659 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Punta Tragara
Punta Tragara
#24 of 41 in Capri
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
0.2 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Morgano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Morgano

Property: Casa Morgano
Address: Via Tragara 6, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#16 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#21 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Morgano 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Morgano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morgano Capri
Casa Morgano Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing