We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty room and sub service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regina Cristina
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“dirty room and sub service”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The room was very dirty, and the service regrding it took some time. It was a tiny hole in the wall, uncomfortable bed, and the dining service was awful. Truly a place to skip on if you know what i mean. Other than that, the Island was very nice, overpriced, but my God, what a view! Explore the place fora few days and you will see why!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a more interior room rather than a wing, since they are smaller. Do not take a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppingupdaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    118
    73
    29
    32
See reviews for
60
140
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Asan American I guess my expectations were too high. My first room had dirty linens, dirty floors, no linens in the bath, ashes from a cigarette on the window sill, and the tv didn't work. I couldn't get another room til the following day since they were ". Booked solid". The second night, the room was a tiny bit bigger, clean linens and all. This was much better, but really, why did it take that long to fix?!
The pool that you are allowed to use at the vega hotel is wonderful.
One more thing, a coke will cost you 5 euros....l seriously, 5 euros.
Beds are hard too.

Room Tip: Try vega, it is really nice. Great views and location is perfecto!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelReginaCristina, Direttore at Hotel Regina Cristina, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for staying at the Hotel Regina Cristina and for your comments, although negative, they are even more useful to continue our efforts to improve and hopefully obtain better references on the occasion of a future visit to our beautiful Island of Capri.

We apologize for not having been able to accomodate your requests the first night.

If you decide to come to Capri sometime in the future, please do contact us before reserving your hotel as we most certainly will have progressed in improving our service level and allow us to remediate for this occasion.

Sincerely yours,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Capri hotels

Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights there and it was awful. I had a tiny pokey room, very noisy, I thought the staff were very rude. Breakfast was ordinary. There was cheese and ham and when the ham ran out they did not replace it. The hot food was bought out on a plate, you could not get it yourself from the buffet as the other food. On the second morning there was no tubs of yoghurt. WIFI was only available in the lobby. If you wanted Wifi it in your room then there was a fee. The shower was way too small, no soap holder or anywhere to rest soap or shampoo on while showering. Would not go there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank PM963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelReginaCristina, Direttore at Hotel Regina Cristina, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for staying at the Hotel Regina Cristina and for your comments, although negative, they are even more useful to continue our efforts to improve and hopefully obtain better references on the occasion of a future visit to our beautiful Island of Capri.

We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced and all though hot items are still an extra have ensured timely replenishment of the breakfast buffet.

At present Wifi is through a third party with registration and payment online (never claimed anywhere that a free service is offered) and only free of charge in the public areas which we hope to extend at the end of the contract.

If you decide to come to Capri sometime in the future, please do contact us before reserving your hotel as we most certainly will have progressed in improving our service level and allow us to remediate for this occasion.

Sincerely yours,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I did not stay in the hotel, I went there to eat. The have a menu posted at the sidewalk, so we went in to eat. The maitre'd was noticably distraught that we were there and ask if we were guests of the hotel. When we answered no, he gave a big exasperated sigh. He did have a table made ready, then another server brought us water. He took our order, never offered a wine or drink list or anything but the water. The water was gone quickly as it was a hot day. He was very careful not to make eye contact or send anyone else to find out if we needed anything. After waiting a half an hour, we got up and left. I do not know why they have a menu posted at the sidewalk if they do not want customers other than there guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allie90905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelReginaCristina, Direttore at Hotel Regina Cristina, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for staying at the Hotel Regina Cristina and for your comments, although negative, they are even more useful to continue our efforts to improve and hopefully obtain a better review on the occasion of a future visit to our beautiful Island of Capri.

We do apologize for this wrong attitude and are sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Just for your information, the sidewalk menu is for drinks, light meals and snack served on the terrace.

If you decide to come to Capri sometime in the future, please do come in to meet me, we most certainly will have progressed in improving our service level and please allow us to remediate for this occasion.

Sincerely yours,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Teresa and Alex greeted us upon arrival and couldn't do enough for us. They gave us an extra room for the children which was adjoining. After being in the room for five minutes we were given a bottle of Prosecco and two cokes for the kids.
Every day they were helpful.
The location is perfect.
The use of pool at the Hotel La Vega was beautiful.
I think the rooms have been painted since the earlier reviews as we had clean white rooms and they were very clean.
Thank you Alex and Teresa!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcherkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Great View, Great Location, Great Experience

We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who showed us our room. The room was fantastic with a wonderful terrace, view, and a huge TV. I love comfort.

Unfortunately we needed to leave at 5:00 a.m. the next morning. Special thanks to the receptionist who insured that we had our hot morning cappuccino. Friendly helpful staff is not always so easy to find at that hour.

We look forward to returning for a longer stay. My compliments to the GM and staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The hotel is well located, near the center of town but with a lovely view of the ocean from our balcony. All the facilities were perfectly fine (we had none of the complaints others mentioned), and the staff was helpful. The room was clean and in very nice shape, with one of the best bathrooms we had on our trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomjacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 41 in Capri
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#7 of 41 in Capri
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Residenza
Hotel La Residenza
#27 of 41 in Capri
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 'A Pazziella
Hotel 'A Pazziella
#29 of 41 in Capri
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#22 of 41 in Capri
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Hotel Gatto Bianco
#16 of 41 in Capri
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina Cristina

Property: Hotel Regina Cristina
Address: Via Federico Serena 20, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina Cristina 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Regina Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Cristina Hotel
Regina Cristina Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing