We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Minerva
Nearby Hotels
Hotel della Piccola Marina(Capri)(Great Value!)
$210
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Capri(Capri)(Great Value!)
$144
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri(Capri)(Great Value!)
$149
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel La Palma(Capri)(Great Value!)
$187
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Relais Maresca(Capri)(Great Value!)
$258
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Sanfelice(Capri)(Great Value!)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$711
$645
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$349
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$353
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Mamela(Capri)(Great Value!)
$206
$200
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,092)
Filter reviews
1,092 results
Traveler rating
1,035
41
6
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,035
41
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree brothersesposito familyour honeymoonbrothers who rundeluxe roomturn down serviceboutique hotelwalk in closetlight lunchbeautiful hoteljacuzzi bathowners and staffoverlooking the seasmall hotelthree nightsferry ticketsfavorite hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 1,092 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We had an absolutely fabulous time in Capri and we really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful Hotel. All the staff and management of La Minerva were extremely friendly, informative and helpful. Luigi, the owner's son recommended us some great restaurants and suggested some marvelous itineraries such as the "Sentiero dei Fortini": a stunning walking route skirting the stretch of coast which leads all the way from Punta Carena and Anacapri's lighthouse to the Grotta Azzurra. A wonderful breakfast with local pastries such as torta caprese got us started every day. Our room was very comfortable, always clean, fresh and bright with an incredible sea view. I will recommend the Minerva Hotel to anyone and hope to return some day...

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efstathios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I can be very brief about La Minerva. Superb!!!
We also overheard some construction going on the beginning of June, but it's hardly worth mentioning and you obviously cannot blame the hotel; it was not even on their site!
Splendid rooms (ask for 41, 42 of 43; we had 43 with a large balcony, jacuzzi and great views plus the very best hotelbed I have EVER had!!!) However, some balconies lack some privacy (as in fact most balconies in Italy; might be a way of life.....)
Breakfast is good and fresh. Service is outstanding; Kamahl deserves a price as one of the very best poolattendants I ever had. Also Marc is very helpfull. Nice snacks by the pool, however, no restaurant on site.

A couple of hints if you plan to go to Capri.
1. Go several days, not just a daytrip. Capri (and Anacapri; take the bus) is the nicest when the crowds are gone; i,.e before 10am and after 4 pm
2. Arriving by boat. The main hotels have their representatives at the harbour to take care of your luggage. The rest of the walking you'll have to do yourselves. Their are taxis and buses, however, most hotels can only be reached by foot or electrocar.
3. Shopping. In fact just don't. Most shops ashore offer same items for half the money; you're on an island indeed.
4. Eating out. Da Gemma in Capri is great and genuin. Most places offer the same kind of food and I just have to say that after two weeks of pizza and pasta I am truly longing for some homemade cooking (currently still staying In Naples)
5. Just walk a lot. Most tourists stay in the center or go on organised trips, but really, you have some splendid hikingpossibilities with spectacular views.
6. And finally, if you like a good massage in your room or on your own balcony (super); ask for Tina!

Thanks Luigi and staff, we'll be back!
Kraaijeveld
the Netherlands

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This hotel has a lovely setting and our room had an incredible sea view, but no sooner had we sat down to enjoy it than we started hearing the kinds of construction noises we were traveling to escape (we live in Manhattan) -- jackhammers, saws, all resonating the more loudly because beautiful Capri has no car traffic. We looked over and saw that the hotel between Minerva and the Floridiana is a big crater in the ground, undergoing extensive construction. I wouldn't stay anywhere on this strip without asking the hotel to confirm in writing that there is no construction being done nearby, and from the looks of it, the work is going to take until at least September to complete.

Our first night we slept really well, and waking up to the sea view was pure delight; the second night, there was a loud intermittent hum in the room that kept me up most of the night. When we told the manager about it the next day, he told us we should have told him earlier, and that there was nothing he could do.

I am admittedly quite noise sensitive, but my partner is not and she heard the noise too -- it was a deep vibration that penetrated ear plugs and was quite disruptive. If you do stay here, I recommend asking that you not be put in room 22, the room we had.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon6636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capriboy, Proprietario at La Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2010

Dear guest,

I perfectly remember the problems you encountered.
Unfortunately the renovation works are managed by a third property and we are really sorry about the noise. Local rules allow them to do some constructions, not too noisy anyway, between 10 am and 2 pm. I am pleased to inform you that the big works are over by now and that they informed us that in just few days from today any activity will be stopped until the winter.

About the noise in your room the problem has now been solved. As you said room 22 was a beautiful room and you loved it. Regarding the fact we could not do anything, I just told you that it was difficult to fix the problem on a Sunday night at 7.30 p.m. and that since you encountered the problem the night before we could have been much more helpful if you told us in the morning and not wait until the evening.
This is not a good excuse anyway as you said and I am sorry for the bad experience.I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Best regards,

Luigi Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed three nights in Capri at La Minerva and absolutely loved it. When we first arrived in Capri and saw all the people walking around, we wondered if we should have stayed in Amalfi longer, but we were mistaken. Capri is a paradise as is La Minerva. The rooms are beautiful as are the views, the pool and everything at La Minerva; including Luigi who was wonderful and Kamal who was incredible. Kamal anticipated our needs before we did, he is a treasure. Capri is a beautiful island with lovely surprises everywhere we walked, and with the most amazingly friendly people we have ever met. We cannot wait to return.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank osnarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

A nicely located hotel a ten or so minute walk from the Piazzetta down a quiet narrow alley alongside other Hotel/ albergos such as Canasta. Decorated in a fairly minimal blue and white theme throughout with pretty majollica tiles on all the floors. The bedroom was rather small considering it was one of the top priced rooms and was for three people , but did have very nice bed linen and was immaculately clean. Brakfast was served on the roof terrace, the usual continental one would expect and nicely laid out. The one problem with the breakfast area is that on colder/windier days the only means on protecting the area is by pulling down plastic blinds, a heater or two would be a great investment. I'm sure cooler days are few but they do happen. The hotel could then maybe make use of the area in the evening too and have drinks on the roof too.
by day Capri is a heaving mass of (slightly annoying) day trippers dutifully folling their flag weilding leaders, at nigh an altoghether different and much quieter place. We enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff were helpful, the owner Luigi most informative and helpful with suggestion of what children might like to do.
Capri is an expensive Island. The hotel is clean and very well maintained. The rooms are just small and quite sparse considering their high price, especially in comparison to the prices we found friends travelling at the same time had paid for their accomodation, all of which was a good standard.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Double_bed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews