We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Minerva
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

We are in the customer service businesses, so always very aware of what it takes to make people exquisitely happy. Luigi is one of those rare finds when it comes to going above and beyond and Kamal is a treasure, there at every turn to assist in making your stay unforgettable.
The hotel is lovely, very clean and refreshing in it's quiet surrondings. My husband is very tall and thought the bed in our room was the best, most comfortable bed he has ever slept in while in Europe.
Breakfast every morning was delighful.
Luigi recommended a new wine bar in the bell tower, the first night we were there and we loved it. Also loved a restaurant call Aurura.
We will surely be back to Capri and La Minerva.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucca777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    42
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
103
680
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Luigi and staff - fantastic. The rooms and views - superb. La Minerva is in a beautiful location. We booked the Deluxe Room which was the perfect setting for me to prepare myself before my wedding on 12th September. Luigi and staff were so accommodating. They made us feel so welcomed, not to forget Kanie. I booked a massage the day before to relax my mind, who was with Tina. As a Skin Care Therapist in London, regularly receiving massage, I can honestly say she gave me one of the best massages I have received in a long time.

La Minerva will always be the boutique hotel for me to stay in, as there was nothing that I could fault.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

As other reviewers have indicated, this is a beautiful hotel. In an excellent location on Capri, its only minutes from all the bustle of the town centre, but feels like you are worlds away as the hotel is so in a quiet spot with amazing views and calming decor. It was a memorable experience to sit on our our balcony relaxing and looking at the view of the sea and the rest of the island, and the modern pool area and gardens were excellent. On the most part the service was very good, staff were helpful and we were offered breakfast on our balcony at no extra charge.

Unfortunately the hotel is very sightly let down by a few minor things. For example, the lights flickered in our room, the water pressure in the shower often dropped and sometimes nearly turned itself off, the sound on the TV didn't work and when the air conditioning broke one night and we asked staff about it, their response wasn't what you'd expect from a high class hotel.

In another hotel these are things we'd probably overlook, but given that this is a luxery hotel with corresponding luxery prices, you expect perfection! However, saying that these issues didn't affect our enjoyment of our stay at La Minerva - our stay is memorable for the beatiful setting, rather than the minor niggles. We just think the hotel is perhaps due updating in some areas to ensure it can always deliver the perfect level of service it promises.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruth+andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

We just returned from Capri and had a wonderful experience at La Minerva. Luigi (the owner's son) made our stay so enjoyable and very easy. He made us great restaurant reservations and gave us some useful tips, e.g. after dinner at Villa Brunella, be sure and walk a little bit further to an amazing look-out to see a beautiful view of the water given it was a full moon. The breakfast was excellent, and Kamal always greeted you with a smile and was very service oriented during the entire stay. The pool was wonderful, especially given the high temperatures during our stay - it was great to be able to relax by the pool in the late afternoon. The room was perfect with a view of the water (we booked the second level of room). If we had to do anything differently, which has nothing to do with the hotel, I would recommend having the porter service take your bags from the port upon arrival - the service is well worth the 10 euro charge per bag versus lugging them up the funiculare (and paying 1.40 euro for each of them) and then through the streets of Capri. We will definitely stay at La Minerva when we return to Capri.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfedoryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Fabulous experience at Hotel La Minerva!

The hotel is impeccable, with a sophisticated flare -- but balanced with friendly service and support. There are little touches everywhere that remind you of very expensive hotels -- candles, fresh flowers, etc. Luigi, the hotel owner, couldn't have been more accommodating and received every question with a smile. One of their employees -- Kamal -- who we interfaced with quite a bit at the pool and at breakfast, was simply wonderful!
The rooms were lovely and the pool fantastic -- a great way to cool off in the August heat. The location was terrific -- it was just off the main square and shopping area. When you exit the crush of day trippers to Capri and turn off the main square, La Minerva is a serene and peaceful oasis. When we left, we felt like we were leaving family! We would return to Hotel La Minerva in a heartbeat! Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

This is a wonderful place to stay. Charming, beautiful view, attentive service. I can't say any more. If possible get the deluxe room. I think we had number 43 and it was great. The breakfast is very nice, and included. Luigi is your host (the owner's son) and he is charming. He gave us great restaurant recommendations. The location is also very nice, just steps from the center but removed from the hub-bub. If you are looking for a small hotel with luxury and personalized service I cannot imagine there is a better choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownbody1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed at Lam Minerva on our trip to Capri. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. In particular we especially liked Kamal. He was always ready to help us - with a smile. The rooms were beautifully done warm not overly fussy way. The whole hotel was laid back and extremely comfortable. I loved the modern pool with a view of the ocean. I would recommend La Minerva to anyone planning a trip to Capri. Don't forget to eat the Gelato from all the Gelatorias :)

Insider Tip: If you need your clothes washed go to Orchidea Lavderia -- They do a great job and you dont have to pay an arm and a leg. ----------------

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.6 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 41 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Property: La Minerva
Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing