We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bellisimo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Minerva
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bellisimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2005

We stayed 5 nights in a superior double (room 21). I would just echo what everyone has already said about this hotel - exceptional view, beautiful decor, spacious bathrooms, breakfast on the terrace. Luigi is fantastic, and his english is superb (he spent a year in NYC). When he found out where we were eating our first night, he called ahead and had them bring us champagne. All of his recommendations were spot on.
Just a word about the area this hotel is in. The pluses are that it is just off Via Camarelle which is the premier shopping area of the island. It is not on the main drag, which is a plus as during the summer it is full of people and noisy. The minus of this area is that it does occasionally have a pungent, sewer-esque smell. This is not unique to La Minerva, but seems to be more noticible on this part of the island.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacks121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    41
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
100
674
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2005

We stayed at La Minerva for 4 nights in late May 2005 and it was perfect. We had a deluxe room which had an enormous bathroom with jacuzzi bath, double sinks and robes. There was also a walk in closet which was ample in size and had a safe, rails, drawers and a big mirror with enough space in front of it to actually be able to see yourself in it (something sadly lacking in alot of European hotels!) But the real treat it the beautiful large bedroom which is painted a cool white with a blue patterned tiled floor leading to the terrace which is sunny and sea facing and partially covered by a cane roof to provide some shade. I felt very pampered and relaxed here. The hotel has no pool but does have access to a lovely pool next door with sun lounger, bar and sea view. We hired the hotel boat one day for a jaunt round the island which I would throughoughly recommend you do. We were able to stop and swim and have a picnic and see island from the sea.

The hotel is immaculate and kept very clean by unobtrusive cleaning staff. Luigi the owner is polite and friendly and could not have done any more to help us. The fact that the minibar is very reasonably priced speaks for itself in that the owner wants you to enjoy your stay rather than trying to extract as much money as possible from you as most hotels seem to. Breakfast each morning on the terrace was unforgettable and I shall definitely be returning to this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2005

Where do I start? Everything I had read on TRIPADVISOR and more. Immaculate, beautiful decor and furnishings including a queen size bed co-ordinated bedding and sofa, jacuzzi bath, his and hers vanity basins. robes, slippers, airconditioning and remote controlled black out blinds - the heightof elegant and sophisticated luxury! Freshly squeezed orange, pastries, rolls,marmalade, yoghurt, cappucino, served on large terrace (complete with sunbeds -detachable pads stored in walk- in closet) at a time of your choice.

Wonderful staff, so interested in making your stay perfect,they almost read your mind, suggeting a beautiful walk before dinner. Also helped with booking restaurants if you wished.
Exellent sense of humour, even in English!

Thr view of the sea through the trees - BLISS- Capri is idyllic, La Minerva is the icing on the cake. We felt so spoilt - maid service twice a day!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2005

We took the advice of Tripadvisor and booked at the Hotel La Minerva for three days which we extended to four. The stay was delightful in all respects. The room we had, number 43, was aesthetically appointed, functional, clean and with a huge terrace overlooking the sea. The service was exceptionally cheerful, helpful and professional. The breakfest was served either in the room or on a lovely terrace. The food was prepared to order and served with distinctive class. The beauty of the hotel is energized and constructed by Luigi Esposito the owner/manager. His vision is to create an environment that is designed to spoil the client and set hotel standards that are difficult to duplicate elsewhere. He has succeeded royally! What has surprised us is that none of the travel books mention the hotel and the La Minerva is in some respects a well kept secret. The problem for us is that it may become so popular that booking will be difficult. The only solution is for Luigi to take over the entire block and duplicate his vision over and over again!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2005

We loved this hotel! We booked a superior room for two nights and it was lovely. Both the bathroom and bedroom were very large and we had a nice private patio that was great for sunbathing on and eating breakfast at. They offer breakfast on your private patio and we highly recommend doing so.

The nicest surprise for me (being a woman with a lot of makeup and toiletry items) was just how much counter space there was in the bathroom. We travel to Europe often and I have never encountered a hotel that had that much vanity space. It may seem like a small thing, but I am sure there are a lot of other women out there that can get frustrated when there is no space to get ready.

The staff was extremely helpful about where to eat and what to see. All of their suggestions were top notch.

I wouldn't even think twice about going to this hotel again. We thought it was the "best bang for our buck" on our whole two-week trip. Great ambiance, great location, and great staff!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkirschbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2005

We just returned from our vacation at the Hotel LaMinerva. It was an exceptional hotel. They provided us with an upgraded, large room with a beautiful view of the coast.

This is a wonderful boutique style hotel with 5 star service. Luigi, the owner, provided us with exceptional touring and restaurant advice and treated us like his own family.

The location is perfect. You can walk to the center of Capri in less than 5 minutes while enjoying a very quiet and beautiful neighborhood.

The breakfast included fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, meats, cheeses and yogurt. Also, great cappucino.

I have stayed at many hotels on Capri over the years, but this is the best value and service on the island.

Our family looks forward to our next trip to the Hotel LaMinerva in a few years.

Ciao Marco/Boston

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mseminar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2005

If you are looking for a reasonably priced, charming hotel in the heart of Capri, I recommend you stay at La Minerva. It is a beautiful place, white stone with fantastic tile work throughout. The hotel is a short walk from the heart of Capri's stores and restaurants, close to great hikes to some of Capri's most beautiful sites as well to the buses that take you to other parts of the island. Yet it is secluded enough to be quiet and relaxing. The room I stayed in had a nice view of the cliffs and the communal balcony's is even better.

The hotel's host, Luigi, is warm, thoughtful and takes time to give super recommendations as to restaurants and places to see. His advice as to things that he described as "not to be missed" was right on. He even gave me an umbrella to get me through the rain when I checked out! He was a wonderful, friendly adviser for how to explore the island's treasures and was great at setting up the details for arriving, getting around, and leaving the island.

The rates are very reasonable and breakfast with breads, sweets, juice coffee and jam was included. I had a wonderful, relaxing stay in Capri, and Luigi and La Minerva made my stay a warm and memorable experience.

Helpful?
6 Thank Shantih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.6 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 42 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Property: La Minerva
Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing