We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Minerva
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I wont make it too long: simply amazing from the moment I corresponded with the owners to get rates and available dates, till the arrival and the attention/engagement from the staff, the quality of the hotel/facilities (pool, breakfast,...), the highly classy feel and warm atmosphere in the whole location, the candles and flowers in the evening,... I can truly say that my stay in Capri was memorable mainly because of this place. Would definitely get back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the highest floor, but still you can have a beautiful view from the lower ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc_Chem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    41
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
100
674
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just left La Minerva (11/3), the final guests of the 2013 season. We had a beautiful, well appointed room with a lovely view. All of the facilities were clean and we'll maintained. What made our stay very special was the personal attention from Antonino and the staff, who made us feel so welcome and went out of their way for us. They had great recs for dinner and activities. We Accidentally left a scarf we purchased at Hermes in the room, and they found it and immediately dispatched a staff member to race down to the port to bring it to us, with only minutes before our ferry departure. Loved breakfast on the rooftop solarium. Loved the private boat tour around the island that they arranged. Athena gym across the street was adequate, if not the most modern. We'd love to return one day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We visited La Minerva for 3 nights in October. This hotel is just beautiful with excellent service by the owners Antonio and Luigi. They are committed to making your stay the best it can be. By communicating with Antonio prior to our arrival we felt like friends even before we arrived. They helped at all stages of our trip from the planning to our boat trip returning to Naples.
We opted for the complete transfer service from the train in Naples to the hotel which was perfect after a long trip from Philadelphia to Rome to Naples. We were picked up promptly and driven to the boat where the driver purchased our boat tickets and made sure we were on the correct boat. We were met at the dock in Capri and taken to the Piazetta by taxi and walked to the hotel.
They worked with us to be sure we made the most of our stay on Capri and made all of our dinner reservations and gave suggestions for what to do every day based on the weather. Every dinner was wonderful and our tables and service were top notch.
The breakfast daily served by Kamal was very relaxing on their rooftop outdoor room with a wonderful view. They even opened this room for us one afternoon when we brought some sandwiches back to the hotel for lunch.
This is also a beautiful hotel. We chose the superior room with a balcony. It had a wonderful view and was very private. Every night there was a wonderful turndown service with candles and flowers. What could be more perfect.
We travel a great deal and this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casco, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I took a two week trip to the Amalfi Coast and Capri to celebrate our new "empty-nester" life. Our final destination was Capri and La Minerva. I had learned of La Minerva on Trip Advisor and corresponded back in forth with Antonino and Luigi to select the room type and dates. From the minute we arrived on Capri, it was easy. The staff assisted us with everything from collecting our luggage upon arrival, to arranging a private boat, selecting restaurants, locating the best beaches and booking ferry tickets upon departure. Kamal and Marco were so gracious and friendly. The hotel is beautifully furnished, the view is great and we loved that La Minerva is more "boutique" with a more intimate feeling. We felt like old friends after three nights. I would strongly recommend this spot to anyone. It completely exceeded my expectations, and they were high to begin with. Mille Grazie!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with views and terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

La Minerva's top rating in trip advisor is very well deserved. Clean, bright and fresh, with elegant fittings and a beautiful view, the hotel is a joy to be in. But of course, Capri is full of beautiful hotels.

What makes La Minerva special to me is the outstanding service.

Everyone on the staff is friendly, welcoming and as helpful as can be. Enquire at reception about any aspect of your stay on Capri and be bowled over by the response. The front desk will have your day organised for you in the blink of an eye, with bookings and calls made on your behalf. Their advice was always spot on and the restaurants and tours they recommended impeccable.

Returning to our room every evening to find it turned down, flowers on the bed and candles lit was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nasheraris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We loved EVERYTHING about this hotel. Great location - close enough to the Piazetta but far enough away to feel like a peaceful haven. The room was fantastic - a view to die for, comfortable bed, great bathroom. However, the thing that makes this more than just a beautiful little hotel is the staff. Everyone we spoke to was super-friendly and couldn't do enough for us. I had to play around with the dates for our trip to enable us to stay at this hotel. It was recommended to me by a friend and, having read the reviews on Tripadvisor I was fairly convinced that I wanted to stay. Thankfully we were able to get a room for the dates we needed- even the string of emails that went back and forth to the hotel made it seem as though they couldn't do enough for you! If you are planning a trip to Capri this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARKC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is a excellent! I had high expectations given the reviews, but it surpassed them!

Pros:
Great views
Close to the centre, but far enough to keep the summer crowds away
Excellent blind that makes the room 100% dark (great for sleeping
Turn down service goes that little extra mile with a cute flower and candle
Service of staff is fantastic-all are genuinely happy to help and support in any way possible
Breakfast is service on a beautiful terrace with stunning view
Late breakfast times until 11:00
Happy to service you breakfast in the room free of charge
Flexible on check out times

Overall a flexible, peresonalised service, that is very homely better than the 5* we visited in Capri

I can't think of any negatives!

Room Tip: We had a room with a terrace, lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonesms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.6 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 42 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Property: La Minerva
Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing