We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in Capri, stay at La Minerva!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Minerva
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“When in Capri, stay at La Minerva!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Minerva for three nights and we will never stay anywhere else in Capri. The location was a little off the main area but it was nice to enjoy some quiet and get away from the crowds. The staff was amazing! They had great restaurant suggestions and did everything they could to make our stay perfect. The breakfast was delicious and you can't beat the view. There's a reason why this is the #1 hotel in Capri.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redraidergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    42
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
103
680
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Capri guests and hoteliers, take note - La Minerva delivers the winning formula of bespoke service, tremendous value, and impeccable hospitality. Although the hotel's physical properties are delightful (commodious and well-appointed rooms, beautiful views, ideal location, tasteful design), its differentiating feature is the service and guest experience that Luigi, Antonino, Kamal, and the entire staff provide. And they lavish it on guests with a warm, genuine smile.

Another hallmark of La Minerva is its discerning, polite, and sophisticated base of guests. While clientele may not be terribly important in a large, sprawling property with multiple dining options and swimming pools, it most certainly is in a small, contained boutique hotel such as La Minerva. The people we met during our five days were primarily couples, pleasant, and gracious. While they were of means, they did not flaunt it.

The food at La Minerva is excellent. Breakfast options are plentiful and range from hot prepared ("as you like it") dishes (eggs to crepes) to cold items such as charcuterie, cheese, and fruit. The view from the breakfast terrace is memorable - and, perhaps the only thing better than the food. Lunch is simple - daily options of salads and pasta - and served poolside. Kamal (the breakfast and lunch waiter) is terrific in every respect and never missed a beat. He was by far the most attentive and helpful waiter we experienced in Capri.

We cannot wait to return to La Minerva. It is difficult to imagine a nicer property, staff, or location. The cliche "you get what you pay for" does not apply at La Minerva - you get much, much, more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank liketotravel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I have been back from our wonderful trip to Italy for about two months. When we returned home, I quickly wrote reviews of all the other hotels we stayed in. They were all quite good. However, the reason this one has taken me so long to write is because it is difficult to put into words what sets La Minerva apart from the many other hotels on Capri. It is beautiful - decorated with utmost care and elegance. The bedrooms (we were in a deluxe room) are decorated impeccably with every thought to convenience and luxury. But, what truly sets this small hotel apart from all the others is the warmth that is exuded - from the owners on down the staff. The moment you set foot in the hotel you feel welcomed. I really was skeptical that all the glowing reviews could possibly be on point, however after having fallen under the spell of La Minerva, I know they weren't exaggerated. I hope that my husband and I are fortunate enough to get back to Capri at some point. We won't have to do any research on Trip Advisor as to where we will stay next time. There will only be one choice - La Minerva!

Room Tip: We loved the deluxe room with a large balcony and sun loungers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I recommend La Minerva, without reservation! The hotel is ideally located, close to the Piazetta without being too close, and with lovely sea views, especially from the breakfast terrace. The hotel and rooms (we spent 4 nights in a De Luxe room and 2 nights in a Superior room) are furnished very tastefully, simply and to a very high standard. The owners, brothers Luigi and Antonino, were very considerate and welcoming, even before we had arrived and throughout our stay. Their recommendations (walks, restaurants, etc) and practical advice (travel, logistics, etc) were helpful and accurate. The staff of the hotel, especially Marco and Kamal, were warm, genuine and very professional.

This is a gem of a hotel and it is a luxury treat to stay here. If we get the chance to return to Capri, we won't stay anywhere else!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We are just back from our stay at Hotel La Minerva, Capri.
We had originally been looking at another hotel but after a review on Trip Advisor, decided to book up La Minerva.
They say the best things come in small packages - absolutely true. A 4Star Hotel with a 5 star experience and a small, boutique hotel which prides itself of special care and attention for all it's guests. The rooms are beautiful, the pool area and breakfast terrace is stunning, with views to die for and the breakfast itself - second to none. All the staff are attentive and caring and have worked with the Esposito family for a long time - which again, speaks volumes to the value placed by the owners, on their staff. We will go back - definitely - and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We had a superior room that comes with a terrace and sea view - it was beautifule. But if you are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

These reviews are spot on. The Aussie in Stockholm summarized our experience well. The guys are great. Rooms are clean and beautiful. They even left tea lights and flowers in our room for when we returned from dinner. I was concerned about getting my bags to the hotel. We called before getting on the ferry in Naples and were advised that Giovanni would meet us at the pier. They charged 5 Eur per bag to bring them to the hotel. You can take a tram (cable car) to the main part of town for less than 2 eur a ticket. Then it's maybe a 10 minute, really great walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Luigi and his brother welcomed us again back to Capri in the wonderful setting of la minerva. Everything was just perfect and they will always go way out to get things absolutely right for their guests. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Top rooms have better view but terrace on 3rd floor down was super at the end of the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JASPAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.6 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 41 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Property: La Minerva
Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing