We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated Elegance”
Review of La Minerva

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Minerva
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Understated Elegance”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This boutique hotel has everything the modern, stylish traveller to Capri desires. From the moment you walk through its doors you are transported to a tranquil, elegant space complete with stunning vistas.
The white decor with blue accents compliments the backdrop of blue skies and the ocean. I particularly loved the black and white prints based on Malaparte, orchids and hydrangeas placed through out the hotel.
Breakfast is served on the outdoor terrace overlooking the ocean - what better way to start your day?
The hotels location is perfect - a short walk to restaurants, shops or just sit in the square and watch the world go by. Antonio and Luigi made great dinner reservations for us. We also sailed around the island, explored the caves and enjoyed a leisurely lunch at the famous Fontalina.
If you want to relax and laze by the pool overlooking the blue ocean and mored yachts this is the place. Lunch and a cool glass of wine are served poolside under a vine covered pergola. Thank you to Marco and Kamal for looking after us so well.

This beautiful hotel gives you a true sense of Capri, stylish and elegant. Thank you for a wonderful vacation I hope to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtyJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    41
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
106
712
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

With my wife being 6 months pregnant, it was important for us to find a hotel in Capri that was comfortable, clean and accommodating for us to be as adventurous or as lazy as we wanted, depending on how she felt each day. La Minerva was the ideal spot.

Antonino, Marco and Kamal went out of their way every single time we saw them. From the most incredible home made ravioli (my wife is second generation Italian and a very tough critic) by the luxurious pool, to the warm greeting every time we came back from a walk. They made us feel at home and 100% comfortable.

From the second you get off the boat at the Marina Grande, Giovanni in his La Minerva hat will greet you with a smile and some simple instructions on how to get to the hotel. That's where the vacation begins. From then, the toughest decision you'll be faced with during your whole stay, is what to order for breakfast - from the incredible omelettes, eggs benedict, fruit crepes or the fresh buffet of Italian delights. We ended up trying everything, every day.

The highlights:
a) Rooms - spacious, bright, clean. If you get a room with a terrace (complete with sun beds!) you'll think you've died and gone to heaven.
b) Breakfast - this happen on the rooftop deck with spectacular views and fresh / delicious local Italian produce and is included in the price of the room!!
c) Staff - warm, genuine and at your beck and call. We tried to kidnap Kamal but he was a little too big for our suitcase. Damn.
d) LUNCH BY THE POOL: Firstly, the pool with it's view is out of this world but nothing beats enjoying their freshly homemade ravioli after a midday dip.
e) The Beds - big, comfortable beds meant we slept so well every night. Also the rooms have blockout shutters to keep ALL the light out. This made such a big difference to our trip because we weren't jetlagged and totally energized for new adventures each day.

There truly aren't enough great things to say about this hotel and the amazing people that work there. We went with a group of friends who were all scattered around the island, so we got to see a few other 5 star hotels. Every time we got back to our room (often to a fresh flower on the bed) we were so pleased we'd followed the advice on trip advisor about how incredible this place is.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MossyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Absolutely the most incredible hotel, staff, amenities, location, pool and did I mention the Staff!! We will be coming back to this hotel in the future for at least a 4-5 day stay. Ask for the room with the gate that opens onto the walking path to the pool. You know you are staying at the right hotel when you order a mojito and the bar tender stops on his way back to the bar to pick the mint he will be muddling into your drink. We were only there 2 days, but they were two days of bliss!! Stop reading and book now, you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony room with the walking path gate to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent our 30th anniversary at La Minerva in October of 2012. There are not enough superlatives to use in describing our experience. The entire staff was accommodating, professional, friendly, and they made us believe that we were the only guests (even though the hotel was full). Capri is my favorite place in the world and La Minerva is just the cherry on top! The hotel is simply stunning; the breakfasts are world class; and the ambience is superlative. We are planning our next trip to Capri and there is no doubt where we will be staying.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at La Minerva
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a lovely hotel, plus the airline had lost my luggage so Antonino was very helpful in contacting Air France and conversing in Italian with the people in the lost luggage department.
A truly amazing hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I went here the last week of June to celebrate my birthday with three friends. Nothing was too much for any of the staff. Antonino was most attentive and made some great recommendations after first finding out what our expectations for the evening were. Fantastic location very quiet but with easy reach of the main streets. Rooms were very tastefully decorated, views amazing. Breakfast offered a wide choice and lunch at the poolside bar was something we will never forget I highly recommend the Lemon Pasta.
We will most definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay - concierge was amazing, with great advice and recommendations and seemingly had memorised the phone number of every restaurant (which by the way you do generally need to book to get a nice table, or in fact any table on a summer Saturday evening).

The level of service from everyone was excellent. It really feels like a boutique hotel, with a relaxed atmosphere and staff have a 'can do' attitude.

The hotel is slightly away from the main square and sandwiched among other hotels (as is virtually everything in Capri) but it feels quite isolated in most areas. An oasis of calm without pretention.

There are little touches like coming back to your room at night to find candles, music, a flower and a little newsletter - may sound cheesy but actually it's lovely and an illustration of the thoughtful way in which this hotel is run.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makethemostoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 41 in Capri
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Property: La Minerva
Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
#3 Best Value Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing