We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel with the best service I have experienced.”
Review of La Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Minerva
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay - concierge was amazing, with great advice and recommendations and seemingly had memorised the phone number of every restaurant (which by the way you do generally need to book to get a nice table, or in fact any table on a summer Saturday evening).

The level of service from everyone was excellent. It really feels like a boutique hotel, with a relaxed atmosphere and staff have a 'can do' attitude.

The hotel is slightly away from the main square and sandwiched among other hotels (as is virtually everything in Capri) but it feels quite isolated in most areas. An oasis of calm without pretention.

There are little touches like coming back to your room at night to find candles, music, a flower and a little newsletter - may sound cheesy but actually it's lovely and an illustration of the thoughtful way in which this hotel is run.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makethemostoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel has some of the best service I've ever encountered. Everyone is incredibly helpful and cheerful and they provide many nice, personal touches.

The rooms are nicely appointed and have new TVs with many satellite channels and wifi included.

Breakfast is fine, though because it is a smaller hotel is not as extensive as some larger luxury hotels. The views from the breakfast patio are great.

The pool is beautiful.

There is also access to a full gym just down the street. The gym's equipment is older, but it provides lots to work with if you're into lifting (full benches, barbells, pull up bar, machines, etc.). There's also a studio downstairs to stretch, dance, yoga, etc. I worked out twice during our stay and was the only one there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

From the warm welcome by Antonino to the most helpful recommenfations by Luigi, to the caring poolside and breakfast service by Kamal, one is immediately treated as a worthy family member owed indulgence. Sea views are spectacular. Rooms immaculate. A perfect R&R setting free of tourist hubbub. Do yourself a favor and stay here. Life is short.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I fear I am likely to be repeating all the excellent comments about this hotel... so many positive comments about a truly magical place that really does deserve its No. 1 rating.

For those who like their interior design, this hotel has a lovely crisp blue and white mediterranean design that is 'So Capri' and very chic. The colours, and beautiful ceramic tiles, in the hotel mirror the beautiful blue skies and waters of the island.

The size of the hotel means that everyone knows who you are and everything feels very much tailored to your individual needs. Its neither too formal nor too informal. Everyone who works there gets the balance just right, something very rare in a hotel.

The people who run the hotel - the managers, the chefs, the waiters, the cleaners - are good at what they do and really enjoy what they do, and that comes across clearly in the running and feel of the hotel. Everyone helps to make you feel relaxed and able to enjoy yourself.

From the moment you book, in the planning of your holiday before you arrive, Antonino is incredibly helpful and an absolute delight to converse with. His English and social and conversational skills are really excellent. Luigi too is helpful and knowledgeable - he suggested a lovely series of walks when we arrived to the Villa Lysis and Villa Jovis (do bring sensible shoes because the countryside is great).

The breakfast terrace is beautiful - lovely wicker furniture and a relaxing view of the sea. The breakfast table is made up of lovely fresh ingredients - fresh fruit juice, fresh fruit kebabs, pastries and bread - and home-made specialities - pannecotta (fantastic), eggs benedict (perfect) and fruit pancakes (delicious). No mass production here - just good fresh and home-made produce. Finally, in relation to breakfast, they have the most delightful of all waiters in the whole world - Kamal - who is incredibly charming and makes a great cappuccino (if you are reading this Kamal, better than the Palazzo Avino in Ravello!).

We stayed in a Deluxe Room. These rooms are incredible. The colours again, crisp white and blue and beautiful tiling on the floor. The bed was really comfy and had beautiful 100% linen sheets made in Italy, which were absolutely ideal for the climate and probably the nicest I have had in any hotel in the world. These rooms also have a 'walk-in closet' with hanging space, drawers, shelving, places to put your suitcases and full length mirror. The great thing about this closet was that you could unpack properly and keep your room tidy, which made if feel much more 'home from home' - and, by the way, ladies, you will want one of these closets at home! The Delux Room also had a lovely terrace with sunbeds and view of the sea.

As others have commented, when you return to the room after dining out, tea-light candles have been lit and relaxing music has been put on - making it the most romantic and calming of places to return to in the evening.

I could go on... but many of it has been said before.

For those reading this still deciding whether to stay the night on Capri, you really must. Yes, it is expensive to stay overnight on the island - wherever you stay - but you really do need to stay overnight, and preferably several nights, to appreciate the beauty of this island. In the morning - before 11am - and the late afternoon - after 4-5pm - the daytrippers have gone and the island's tourist population shrinks to those staying on the island, and this is when you can really appreciate its beauty and the variety of activities it has to offer. I hadn't appreciated, for example, the lovely walks that there would be along the coast, providing fantastic views (see some of my photos I have provided on the La Minerva Facebook site).

For those reading who have decided to stay the night on the island, but haven't yet decided where to stay, you really don't need to look any further than La Minerva. It is worth every Euro.

I would suggest at least 3 nights, more if you can afford it. If you want to do things at a more leisurely pace, then you probably need 5 nights to see the sites.

Believe me, you will want to keep returning!

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a Delux Room. They are worth every Euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

La Minerva was the absolute most delightful hotel experience. The service was sincere and impeccable. This family operated hotel has left no stone unturned and every "i" dotted. The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly. Our deluxe room was pristine and beautiful and the service exceeded any 5 star hotel we have experienced. We left to go to another location in Italy and called to see if we could come back to our paradise at La Minerva. We give it our highest recommendation! I only hope they have a room available when we come back!

Room Tip: Deluxe room patios are spectacular...great views and comfy furnishings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttpssp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I chose this hotel for part of our honeymoon, mainly off the strength of the TripAdvisor reviews. When somewhere is rated #1 destination to stay on Capri, you have high expectations and La Minerva certainly lives up to its deserved reputation. We had booked in for 3 nights, and I wished we could have stayed longer which says a lot about the venue and the staff there.

There's a real personal touch, as there a small number of highly available staff who are always there to help and ensure you're having a great time on holiday. Antonio and Luigi were great, and helped us with booking a boat excursion and nightly dinner reservations. A special note about Kamal whose good natured humour and charm is infectious - such a nice guy who who reminded us we were on holiday and to enjoy ourselves. Plying us with Limoncello after lunch probably helped in that regard!

The venue itself is lovely - all white and azure blue sea views from the windows and terraces. The pool area is also very nice and well kept and there is a small area for lunch which I would highly recommend. There were only a few simple dishes available every day (Caprese and tuna salads, lemon spaghetti, ravioli), but they were all delicious and as good as eating out anywhere on the island.

Breakfast is served daily on the roof terrace and has a wide selection of choice. The coffee was particularly good. You also had the option of eating breakfast in your room for free, but we didn't take advantage of that during our stay.

Every night we would return to the room, to find it candlelit, music on and my favourite feature - the "daily news" for the next day printed out. This newsletter is a lovely touch - it has the weather, a suggestion for something to do (a walk, visit a garden, etc) and well as the special cocktail of the day.

I'm struggling to write anything negative about La Minerva to give this review some balance as it really is that good. I imagine they get a lot of returning visitors and I can't wait to go back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baydr Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Beautifully located, La Minerva offers a superb view, an excellent hotel and above all, the most terrific service. Its run by a family and they will go out of the way to make sure your stay in comfortable to say the least.

I loved my stay and whenever next I go to Capri..La Minerva will be my first and only choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehtaaadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#9 of 40 in Capri
842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 40 in Capri
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $201 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your La Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing