We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. We will return!”
Review of La Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Minerva
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked to return to this hotel before we left. It was that good. Lovely room, fantastic staff, really warm welcome. We couldn't fault it. One nice touch is the aperitifs they serve early evening. There is good choice and it's a nice start to the evening. They really know the good restaurants in Capri so it's worth taking advice, and the bag service to the port was faultless. Really strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

The friendly welcome at the La Minerva by brothers Antonino and Luigi was just the beginning of an outstanding hotel experience. The rooms are beyond lovely, the view of the sea is stunningly beautiful, and the delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace is served by one of the nicest gentlemen on earth. Our two night stay was enhanced by Luigi and Antonino's suggestions of restaurants and sights to be seen on Capri. Thank you, Trip Advisor, for helping us find this perfect place on Capri.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnesanglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon, it was both our first time in Capri. As soon as we arrived we felt like we were in Heaven. The hotel was beautiful inside and out and was so relaxing to be in, but with any great place, it's the people that make it amazing. They were literally some of the friendliest people I've met, not just in Italy, but anywhere. We were treated like royalty, so much to the point where I felt like I should cook them a meal or make them a drink in return. When we had breakfast on the morning we had to move on, my wife was almost in tears when saying goodbye to Kamal. (if you've stayed here, you know this awesome dude) I've never stayed in a place that made me feel like this, Capri is magic, La Minerva is it's heart. I'll plan our next trip to Capri around La Minerva's availability. Miss it more everyday.

Room Tip: Definitely spring a little more for rooms with a terrazza. I think most have them except for a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmh51812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here as a couple last July for three nights before heading on to Sorrento. We had read the fabulous reviews about the hotel on tripadvisor and chose it on that basis. The reviews did not do the hotel justice but then I will struggle to find superlatives good enough to praise this hotel.

The hotel staff and owners for a start are absolutely wonderful, so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. Luigi and Antonino were so welcoming and gave out such great advice on what to do and where to go. Their suggestions were invaluable and they would happily go out of their way to make reservations etc. for us. Kemal served us the most delicious breakfasts on the patio (out of this world), lunches at the pool (an absolute oasis) and again he would go out of his way to get us whatever we wanted with a smile on his face and a friendly chat. Marco was similarly wonderful. We always went up at seven to the bar area (fantastic decor, breathtaking views on the balcony etc.) where he would choose and make cocktails for us and they were always delicious and he was so friendly too. We just could not speak highly enough of them all and really missed them when we left !

As for the hotel itself it is nothing short of paradise. We are quite fussy people (especially my girlfriend) but I can hand on heart say there is not one thing we could find fault in, it was just perfection. Our room was idyllic, we had a super large terrace with the most comfortable sun loungers and heavenly views. Every day there was a printed pamphlet left on our bed letting us know what was happening in Capri and giving a bit of history about the island as well. There were numerous small touches like that which just made us fall in love with the place. It was truly the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We went for my girlfriend's 40th birthday and I could not have been happier there save for us being there on our honeymoon ! We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room, wonderful terrace and seaviews. Very spacious room with beautiful furnis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseeker0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at La Minerva as part of a trip to Naples, Sorrento, The Amalfi Coast and Capri. It was the cheapest hotel we stayed in by some way. It was by far the best experience. And having travelled on 4 continents in dozens of countries and visited hundreds of hotels I'm going to go out on a limb and say it was the best.

The staff are exceptional - friendly, attentive and knowledgable. They helped us with everything from restaurant recommendations, to great walking routes around the island, booking onward travel and dealing with every question we had. They even fixed my girlfriends hairdryer.

The food is done very cleverly too. They don't have dinner because, I assumed, they don't have room (or the need) for a big kitchen. No problem, plenty of places nearby, but for breakfast and lunch (which you can have by the gorgeous pool area looking out to sea), they have very simple options done brilliantly. Eggs of all sorts in the morning, fresh pasta or salad at lunch. Delicious.

The room was wonderful too. Large balcony looking out to sea and landscaped cleverly so that the surrounding buildings were obscured by plants and trees giving a great feeling of seclusion. Lovely bathroom with local Caprese tiles, comfy bed, good spacious storage, seating area, TV with more channels than you'd ever need to watch, good Wifi... what else do you need?

It's no surprise that La Minerva is one of the top choices on Capri. I have a policy of never staying anywhere more than once - life's to short not to explore more of what the world has to offer - but for La Minerva, I think I'm willing to make an exception...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Molvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is the best hotel in Capri, hands down. Luigi, Antonino and the rest of the staff are simply amazing. Breakfast is served on the upper patio with a breathtaking view of Capri. There are only a few rooms so it has a family feel to it. My mother fell in Capri on our last trip and Luigi and Antonino treated us like family and my mother used the same surgeon that had operated on their granmother. They were with us every step of the way and Mariano came to see us (we were in a suburb of Naples) every day for 5 days. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Capri!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bonovox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed in La Minerva last July for a few nights (2 adults and 2 teenagers, in two rooms on different floors) and I was reminded of this wonderful hotel only this morning seeing the tripadvisor's list of most romantic hotels to visit. And it's absolutely where it belongs.
We reserved our rooms well in advance and it proved to be necessary. We had a slack of one day before our flight to Denmark and thought we'd skip our other hotel in Nepals in favor of staying one more night in La Minerva. But even if the prices are quite steep, it was fully booked.
I'm well aware that writing this review more than half a year after we actually stayed in the hotel runs a risk of my memory bettering the whole experience. So let me be as factual as possible
- rooms are spatial and beautifully decorated in white and blue shades
- they have big and comfortable beds
- beautiful blue and white tiles on the floor in the rooms and in the bathroom, white furniture add to the romantic feel
- in both our rooms there were slide-in doors to a big porch with sun beds
- fantastic breakfast on the top of the hotel
- swimming pool which we had most of the time for ourselves, despite high season
- and last but not least, very friendly staff who takes pride in going an extra mile for their guests

Would love to come back there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Euridice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.8 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#9 of 40 in Capri
843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 40 in Capri
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $200 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your La Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing