We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Minerva
Nearby Hotels
$316
$307
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$588
$552
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel della Piccola Marina(Capri)(Great Value!)
$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$635
$577
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Sanfelice(Capri)(Great Value!)
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Floridiana(Capri)(Great Value!)
$253
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Relais Maresca(Capri)(Great Value!)
$153
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$279
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mamela(Capri)(Great Value!)
$366
$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gatto Bianco(Capri)(Great Value!)
$298
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,097)
Filter reviews
1,097 results
Traveler rating
1,040
41
6
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,040
41
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree brothersesposito familyour honeymoonbrothers who rundeluxe roomturn down serviceboutique hotelwalk in closetlight lunchbeautiful hoteljacuzzi bathowners and staffoverlooking the seasmall hotelthree nightsferry ticketsfavorite hotel
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 1,097 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It's all true. A perfectly run hotel with that elusive balance of true professionalism and personal attention. La Minerva could show many hoteliers that no amount of training courses in customer service can make up for a truly caring attitude for guests wellbeing, supported by wonderful staff. Kamal in particular made us feel as if we were cherished guests at a rather lovely house party - I sort of expected Liz Taylor or Grace Kelly to waft past at any moment.

We weren't on Capri to explore the (hugely busy) tourist sites but spent our days lazing by the pool. It's slightly disconcerting at first to find there's no restaurant, a tiny bar and that the pool is more than bracing even for someone brought up on the beaches of West Wales - no relaxing dips here, power swimming was required to stop frostbite setting in! By the pool, Kamal served the most delicious pasta and salad for lunch (no choice but that only added to the feeling of personal care), with generous offerings of chilled rose and limoncello. Our room (11) was magnificent with an incredible bathroom and walk in closet (bliss!) and a balcony where the sea twinkled in the distance. One tiny tip - watch the mozzies, particularly at dusk. They seemed to be resistant even to slatherings of Jungle Formula and we came home with more than a few insect souvenirs. It might be best to find a locally recommended anti-mozzie cream - they're clearly quite used to anything that comes from a UK chemist!

We found it a decent uphill walk into town (but we were probably considerably lazier than any of the other guests in the hotel) and boy is it all worth it once you're sipping a drink in the Piazetta. Capri itself is an odd mixture of extremely stylish with more than a hint of its supremely elegant past with a frankly rather tacky tourist resort. But if you're in the Minerva you have a haven to which you can escape. Make the most of it - it's a gem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryMH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

When planning our trip to Capri, we never expected to have the experience we had at La Minerva. Surely on such an expensive island, you would expect high prices and no personal touch. La Minerva is the opposite!! The owners, Antonino and Luigi Esposito go out of their way to do just about everything to make your stay worthwhile. The rooms are well appointed and luxurious....towels fluffy too!! It is so refreshing to see the owners at the reception desk always willing to suggest a day trip, a restaurant or whatever else you may want. They are warm and charming and you can see how much they love their hotel. Antonino planned 2 day trips for us that we're the highlight of our trip to the Amalfi Coast!! We were so sad to leave and wished we planned on staying in Capri longer....if you are planning to go to Capri, La Minerva is the place to stay. You will be in heaven!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Service service service. This place was great. Very nice, impeccable service, and beautiful accommodations without being stuffy. From the welcome drinks, to dinner suggestions/reservations, to help with ferry travel etc., Marco, Antonino, and the rest of the staff there are very focused on ensuring that your trip to Capri and La Minerva is a good one.

My only complaint (and it is very minor) is that the sheets were not very soft. That said, if staying the night in Capri, stay at La Minerva.

Room Tip: We were in room 31. Spacious, great view, great terrace.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

What can I say about Capri except what everyone already knows, it's gorgeous, but expensive. However, one of the best values on the island is Hotel La Minerva. Family owned and flawlessly run, this was one of our favorite hotels of the enitre 22 day trip. The owners and staff here just do back-flips to make your stay absolutely perfect. We were treated like royalty, but at a reasonable rate.

Luigi and Antonio saw to every tiny detail of our stay, they were just wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, quiet and exceptionally clean. The linens are sumptuous and you get a fresh flower every evening at turn-down. The balcony is the perfect spot to enjoy a glass (or two) of Proseco upon arrival.

Our rooms were excellent, with all the bells and whistles. The service here is amazing, you feel the staff is on call just for you 24/7. Breakfast is great, Kamel, our favorite server from Sri Lanka, will make your eggs however you like them, and the coffee...oh my....the coffee is simply the best in the world, strong and piping hot! All this is served on the patio overlooking the bright blue sea. Kamel also mans the bar at the pool in the afternoon, where he will bring you fresh fruit, ice cold Limoncello and clean fluffy towels. He is just a sweetheart, we received the best of care from this gentelman.

Luigi and Antonio know the island very well, and they sent us to many captivating places and several excellent restaurants. They also arranged our fabulous day aboard the Papino with Rafael from Capri Boats and for our luggage to get carted about the island with perfect timing. We were so sorry to leave La Minerva, we got hugs from everyone. We are sure to be back if we ever have the opportunity to visit Capri again. Sincere thanks to Luigi, Antonio and Kamel, we will be back one day!

Thanks guys, we miss you all!

Keith and Camille Taylor
Thompsons Station, TN.

Room Tip: Balcony is a must!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizCamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I never write reviews, but after using Trip Advisor for so much of my planning to Italy, I really want to be able to give back. Let's just start by saying that La Minerva is simply the BEST! Luigi and Antonino could not have been more friendly or more helpful. They know their island well and guide you to the best places based on your criteria. Nothing is ever too much. This hotel is certainly beautiful and immaculate, but it's truly the staff that make it memorable. From our first encounter with the lovely Mariano, to Marco showing us to our room and explaining the hotel(Marco makes the absolute best Aperol Spritz!) and of course Kamal who always greeted us at breakfast with the cheeriest smile. His genuine sincerity and attention to detail are unforgettable. He is truly a gem. I don't think I could possibly say enough about this place except to say that we were originally going to spend 4 nights and after our first 15 minutes there, my husband immediately wanted to add a 5th night and luckily they were able to accommodate us. We can't wait to come back. If you are planning a trip to Capri and are vacillating where to stay, look no further. There is only one choice: La Minerva!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridan6971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews