We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The second time was even better”
Review of Villa Brunella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Brunella
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We returned to VB this May after our first trip there 2 years ago(see previous review). You know how you build up something in your mind, remembering only the good, maybe forgetting the bad? We were so looking forward to our return, and guess what? IT WAS EVEN BETTER THE SECOND TIME!

What made it so? Well, in no particular order, as any/all of these are important.
1. The staff-treated us like old friends, but always being correct and professional
2. The view from the hotel-honestly, there isn't a better pool view anywhere on island
3. The food-so incredibly delicious, using local fresh produce. This is the second time I
cooked in their kitchen, so can vouch for everything which comes out of there.
4. Our room-had the same suite as before, giving us space, priivacy and comfort(ok,
note to management-you could upgrade the quality of the toiletries, and get some
softer bed pillows)
5. Location of hotel-minutes away from all the shops, excitement, but quiet and not so
chaotic.

Bottom line-we will be returning for our third trip there next year. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Dear karenk58,

We thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing us on every occasion you come to Capri.
We look-forward to the pleasure of seeing you soon again.

Kindest regards

Vincenzo Ruggiero

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 461 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

I LOVE this hotel! What can I say? Capri is the most magical spot on the earth and the Villa Brunella is the icing on the cake. This boutique hotel has it all: great service, breath-taking views, the perfect location, super staff, delicious food, amazing views, and more! The only problem was that we had to leave! It was all so perfect I wonder if it was just a dream or if it actually happened! I guess I will have to go back and find out!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Direttore generale at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Dear HerbertSanFrancisco,

We thank you very much for your wonderful review and for the high evaluation you gave to "Villa Brunella".
We look-forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.

Kindest regards

Massimo Ruggiero

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We just returned from our romantic honeymoon in Capri. We were recommended to stay at the Villa Brunella and we are so glad we did. It is the perfect hotel with the best location in town. Villa Brunella is a short walk from the center of town with all the shops and tourists during the day. The hotel is on the cliff overlooking the sea and looks back to the lights of the town - giving the hotel an incredible view day time and night. We had a huge room with a large private balcony with the most breath taking views! The hotel's staff was wonderful and very helpful. The breakfast by the pool was delicous. The hotel's restaurant has the best view in town and the food is fantastic. We stayed 4 nights and it wasn't enough. Villa Brunella is magical. Capri is so romantic and the perfect spot for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. We hiked all over the island, rented scooters and checked out AniCapri, we had a private tour around the island by boat and swam inside the Blue Grotto by ourselves after all the tourists left for the day. It was an incredible vacation that we will never forget. We hope to get back to Capri and the amazing Villa Brunella again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DolphinCoveInnMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Direttore at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Dear CCHColorado,

We thank you very much for your wonderful review and for describing so detailedly your experience at "Villa Brunella".

We look-forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.

Kindest regards

Gianni Grandini

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Hotel Villa Brunella is a luxuriously beautiful hotel in Capri. With large rooms, private terraces, and impeccable service, Villa Brunella is an excellent choice if you are looking for a wonderful place to stay in Capri that is (relatively) moderately priced. The location is a 10 minute stroll from the central piazza, which was much more pleasant than it was daunting. (if this is a sticking point for you, just know that once you get there the short walk through town is quite enjoyable. So you just may want to hire a porter to bring your bags to the hotel for you. We took our own bags, and (although it was a bit of a hike) it was a pretty easy walk nevertheless.)

The views from this small hotel are simply amazing. The complementary breakfast is pretty basic (fresh coffee or expresso, cakes, breads, butter and jam) but you can order off the breakfast menu for an additional charge. We loved Brunella's restaurant (traditional italian) with the best views on the island. Overall, this hotel made us feel like kings and queens. Do yourself a service and stay at the Hotel Villa Brunella.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yodafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Dear yodafish,

We thank you for your wonderful review and for the high evaluation you gave to "Villa Brunella". We take the occasion to inform our TripAdvisor Users that we improved our Continental breakfast: all suggestions are very helpful for us.

We look-forward to the pleasure of welcoming you one again.

Kindest regards

Vincenzo Ruggiero

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

My husband and I spent three nights, mid October, at Villa Brunella. We reserved room # 60. Even though we knew this room had a marvelous view it was almost overwhelming actually seeing it first hand. The spacious terrace was about the same size as our room. Everything was spotless and the hotel staff always available to answer our questions and arrange transportation when needed. Before booking at Villa Brunella we had read about "all the steps" maybe being a problem. They weren't an issue for us at all. We would walk down the few steps to the pool level and then use the elevator. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to Capri, we wouldn't even look at booking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jean1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Direttore generale at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Dear jean1017,

We thank you very much for your kind review and look-forward to the pleasure of seeing you soon again.

Kindest regards

Massimo Ruggiero

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

I decided to take my girlfriend to Sorrento and Capri as part of a surprise engagement, hence the type of hotel we stayed in was extremely important. We stayed in a lovely hotel in Sorrento as recommended through this website (which I'll also write a review for later) and then we caught the ferry to Capri for a few nights.

When we arrived at Capri on 29th September I thought I'd take the chance of carrying our own luggage to the hotel (since it looked quite close on the map!).. as it happens I got lost and when I eventually got back on route I was sweating like a pig.. All of a sudden one of their porters came driving up the road behind us (on his way back from the harbour) and asked where we was going. He offered to take our luggage for us and we gratefully accepted! When we arrived at the hotel we was greeted and shown to our room (junior suite).. it was absolutely perfect!! Clean, fantastic decor, spacious, and superb views over a lovely terrace!!! I'll try to add some photo's later!

After a stroll round Capri we decided to try dinner at the hotel restaurant that night. The people working in the restaurant was exceptionally helpful and recommended great wine and food. I went for a delicious assortment of clams and mussels followed by gorgeous tasting fish. The food and service was excellent, infact we went again the following evening (kindly situated near the window despite it being originally booked up). The choice of food was fantastic making it so difficult to make our mind up!

We'd personally like to thank all the waiters, staff and managers (not forgetting the Chef) of the restaurant. The guy in the black suit (wish I noted your name) who showed us to our table was great and even said hello to us when he saw us in Capri centre.

If the staff was ever busy talking or texting during a break they woud immediately stop to talk to us... there's not many places like this in the world where they actually treat you properly when you want to escape from busy everyday home life.

The staff serving breakfast, light lunches and drinks beside the pool were also very well mannered, very helpful and friendly.
We just wish we could remember everyones names so we could personally thank them...

(By the way, if anyone is reading this, then note we were that english couple who couldn't speak any italian and probably confused the hell out of you at times!!)

Our only regret is not getting chance to tip the porter who stopped to carry our bags, into and out of the hotel. We was going to return to the hotel to see him later in the afternoon but unfortunately missed him.. If your reading this we're sorry. Hopefully we'll be back soon to get married!

In summery the staff and management was great and really made our engagement very special... They really go out of there way to do their best for you (and well deserve a pay rise on what they already get!!). I have nothing bad to say. Highly recommend this place, and miss it already!

By contrast it's just a shame that when we arrived back at Naples airport, the check-in girl refused to take off our old baggage tags and dispose of them in her own bin lol. No smile, and didn't even ask politely, she insisted that we must remove them ourselves and use the bins at the airport entrance!! Her bins were hers!! She must have a sad lonely life and urgently needs a holiday!

Thanks again to everyone (owner and room maid included) for your hospitality,.. we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Alan and Mandy .. UK

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Almand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Direttore at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for your wonderful review and for describing so detailedly your experience back in 2007. We look-forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.

Kindest regards

Gianni Grandini

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

The most beautiful place, the loveliest setting, luxurious accommodations, impeccable service, breakfast OK. We traveled with our 2 adult sons. Rooms 48 & 49 were even better than the ones from the other reviewer. We hired their private boat service and toured the island feeling like royalty. We've had many wonderful hotel experiences around the world. This small hotel tops all and was the highlight of out trip to the Amalfi coast!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ninewinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Dear ninewinx,

We thank you very much for your kind review and look-forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.

Kindest regards

Vincenzo Ruggiero

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.9 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.7 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.9 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 40 in Capri
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.2 mi away
La Minerva
La Minerva
#1 of 40 in Capri
1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 40 in Capri
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Brunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Brunella

Address: Via Tragara 24/a, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#8 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#12 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $232 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Brunella 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most beautiful residential street - Via Tragara - which runs up to the Faraglioni that's where you'll find the Hotel Villa Brunella and its restaurant, Terrazza Brunella, an unbeatable combination of elegant decor, polished service and the warm welcome only a family-owned hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Villa Brunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Brunella Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing