We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel”
Review of Villa Brunella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Brunella
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Sequim, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A jewel”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

When you walk into the lobby, the view takes your breath away. The location is really great because it is a bit off the beaten path and thus very quiet. The room we had was incredible, with a very large patio. It had a table, two chairs, and two lounge chairs with a beach umbrella for shade. The view down the coast was like from a post card. Awesome! The staff was wonderful. The owner of the hotel treated us like family. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, November 22, 2015
Dear Mr. James C,

we are very glad that you enjoyed staying at the Villa. and particularly with our family. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again in Capri,

Sincerely
Massimo Ruggiero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    60
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
76
249
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Villa Brunella for 2 nights, and it was one of the best hotel stays I have ever had. I chose the hotel based on a combination of colleague recommendations and TripAdvisor reviews.

First, the hotel staff, especially Gianni in reception, were very accommodating and helpful. My room and bathroom were very clean, well-equipped and big by European standards. The grounds of the hotel are what really win you over: Stunning views from the pool area and decks! The flowers were all in bloom, making the surroundings even more beautiful.

While an easy 10-minute walk from the Piazzetta (past high-end shops and restaurants), the hotel's location is just perfect for getting away from the tourist crowds and feeling like you are truly on vacation.

Not only would I recommend the Villa Brunella to friends and family, but I would also not hesitate to stay there again personally. In fact, I hope to stay there again in the next year or two!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMamaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, November 22, 2015
Dear Guest TravelMam,

we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and services at Villa Brunella. A sincerely thanks from our staff, and particularly by Gianni.
Looking forward to welcome you soon again in Villa Brunella,

best regards
Massimo Ruggiero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houthalen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was a very pleasant stay at villa Brunella! we were welcomed as if they knew us for years! so we felt immediately at home. They have very large and beautiful rooms with the most stunning view you can imagine.
The food was delicious, we even had the chance to help chef Antonio with our meals and he explained everything with all his passion.
We will definitely return to this beautiful place.
Big thumbs up and thank you for the whole Villa Brunella crew.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candreva-Galasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, November 22, 2015
Dear Guest Candreva,

it's an absolute pleasure for us that you enjoyed so much our location and staff. Sincerely thank you by chef Antonia who is looking forward to let you taste and prepare other Italian dishes.

Sincerely
Massimo Ruggiero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was attending a conference in Rome, and decided to take an overnight trip to Capri at the end of our stay there. Someone had recommended the Hotel, and my internet search confirmed that it might be a relaxing close to our trip. We packed an overnight bag and took the high speed train from Rome. I have noted that many of the negative reviews focus on the luggage fee. If you are thinking of staying here - plan for it – it is part of the culture, and the cost to get luggage from the port to the hotel (something like 14 Euro per bag) is NOT included in the hotel fees. The hotel is 20 minutes walk once you arrive at the top and carrying luggage on cobble stones is not wise. The hotel is a pleasant surprise – better than the photos. I opted for a junior suite with a balcony which was very spacious, and very private, with spectacular views. We dined at the hotel restaurant in the evening and the food is very good – as is the view. Be sure to reserve a table early, as the choice seats closest to the window are highly sought after. There is no hot breakfast in the morning – it is continental with a selection of pastries, cereals, etc. The staff was very pleasant – but could have been more forthcoming with things like the baggage fee, boat travel (it is the way to get around) etc. The hotel has another property on the island with a private beach – be sure to ask the best way to get there. In summary, Villa Brunella was everything I had hoped for – a small boutique hotel with a lot of charm, good food, pleasant staff, and a great way to end our trip.

Room Tip: The junior suites are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, November 22, 2015
Dear Mr Steve B,

thank you very much for your so nice words. We are delighted that you enjoyed the end of your trip staying with us at Villa Brunella. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again in Capri,

Sincerely
Massimo Ruggiero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Villa Brunella is situated at the most breath-taking location in Capri. Hidden in the beautiful green with a stunning setting overlooking Capri and the ocean, we were completely overwhelmed by this miraculous place. The owner, a classy, very nice gentleman and his entire team, grant a professional and friendly service. The atmosphere is familiar and you instantly feel very comfortable staying at Villa Brunella. Walking along the beautiful alley in the most picturesque surrounding to the village of Capri and back to the hotel turned out to be a delight even for me who isn't the biggest fan of walking ;). Villa Brunella itself has a very romantic restaurant with the best view over Capri, outstanding food and great music (composed by the owners son). This place is a trouvaille and I'm already looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 470AnetteB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, November 22, 2015
Dear Mrs. 470Anette,

it's an absolute pleasure for us reading your so nice words. We are delighted to have contributed to your holidays, and nice experience in Capri.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again as our guest,

Warm wishes
Massimo Ruggiero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just returned from a stay at this beautiful property--the true beauty of which is the view and location itself rather than the actual rooms and furnishings which could use updating. The deck is wonderful and I spent literally hours just sitting there soaking in the view and listening to the birds sing. The room we had was also quite spacious which we appreciated. The setting has a magical quality--like being in a fairytale:)

I find it a pro that this hotel is located far ( only 20-35 minutes walking) from the center. The daily walks were wonderful and it was great to escape the crowds in this secluded setting on a lovely road. Free wi fi is also nice and it works well.

As for cons: charging for your bags for sure. If that is standard, so be it, but best to let your guests know of this charge in advance rather than as a surprise at the checkout with an expectation that you will pay in cash.

I was told the cost was E12 per bag by the man I gave my bag to at the port but they wanted to charge E15 at checkout which I didn't appreciate as I felt E12 was expensive enough to take a bag up the hill. Definitely carry your small bags on your own as the price is per bag! I feel this is something they should disclose upon reservation rather than asking you to pay these bag fees in cash at checkout. Also, most of the staff was not very friendly or welcoming. The owner and his father were quite nice ( especially the father) but many other staff members appeared to be going through the motions and lacked personality. Food was okay not special and quite expensive for what it was. E7 for a small plate of fries for example. I understand Capri is expensive but there are plenty of little cafes where you can eat nicely for a better price.

Overall I must say I loved staying at this hotel mostly because of its absolutely stunning location. I hope to return again one day.

Room Tip: Room 54 had a wonderful view and was quiet with a large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, November 22, 2015
Dear Mrs. Wanderlus,

thank you very much for your review: our guests' comments are always useful to improve our services. We hope you'll come soon again in Capri at Villa Brunella,

Sincerely
Massimo Ruggiero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family and I went there in June of 2012 and it was by far the most exquisite and magnificent hotel experience I think I've ever had. It was far enough out of the city center that you didn't have to worry about a lot of noise or busy surroundings. The scenery was stunning and the room was quiet and comfortable. The tile work in the bathroom was intricate and beautiful and the TV had many channels, including ESPN. The gym is outdoors with a covering overhead and a amazing view of the water and the rest of the island. The service was outstanding and the food was out of this world. They even had fresh squeezed orange juice in the morning!! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Capri. They were so nice and friendly and even got us a private boat tour around the island. It's a hidden jewel with the greatest restaurant on the island according to friends in Naples and the outlying areas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yddam106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this review, November 22, 2015
Dear Guest yddam106,

we sincerely thank you for your so nice review. It's always a pleasure for us when our guest appreciate our job. We hope to welcome you soon again as our guest, and we'll do our best to let you enjoy other so nice moments in Capri.

Sincerely
Massimo Ruggiero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.7 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 41 in Capri
813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 41 in Capri
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Brunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Brunella

Property: Villa Brunella
Address: Via Tragara 24, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#8 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#15 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Brunella 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most beautiful residential street - Via Tragara - which runs up to the Faraglioni that's where you'll find the Hotel Villa Brunella and its restaurant, Terrazza Brunella, an unbeatable combination of elegant decor, polished service and the warm welcome only a family-owned hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Brunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Brunella Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing