We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience on Capri”
Review of Villa Brunella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Brunella
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Our friends said to only visit Capri for a day as there is nothing to do there. How wrong they were and obviously they missed a great place.

We booked a junior suite for 3-night visit. Our corner room was magnificent with a splendid view, plenty of sun, and lots of space to relax and enjoy the surroundings. Each time we walked down the steps to our room, we had to go by the great pool/terrace and it was always a magnificent sight. Having breakfast by the sunny pool each morning was a great way to start each day. As well, the 12-15 minute walk to and from the Villa to the main piazza was hardly a chore as it was just another way to enjoy Capri.

Everyone at the Villa were extremely helpful and very friendly. The restaurant, boat, transfers, and whatever else they recommended were perfect. We had our best meal at the Villa's restaurant, and 2 great dinners at Villa Verde and Di Giorgo's. Our private 2-hour boat ride around the island was recommended by the Villa and it was exceptional. We were glad we didn't do the 16Euro trip around on a small boat crammed with day trippers.

When the day trippers left was when Capri became a special place. Very peaceful with lots of time and space to walk around and enjoy everything.

Obviously, the island has a wide range of accommodations to choose from. The ones we looked into were great and Villa Brunella was no exception. We would have no problem recommending it.

All and all, Capri was the mostly enjoyable part of our 12-day trip to Amalfi.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeyDeeAndSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Direttore generale at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Dear Bill_and_Joanne,

We thank you for your kind review and are really proud that you enjoyed so much staying in Villa Brunella. Thank you for sharing your emotions, which help us in feeling involved in our job.

Together with all our staff, we look-forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon again as our guest.

Kindest regards

Massimo Ruggiero

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 450 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

From the moment you arrive at the Brunella the staff makes you feel very comfortable. We stayed 3 nights here and it definitely felt like our Capri "home". Even though we didn't have a room on one of the higher floors, our view was still great. One of the main things that we'll remember is our view first thing in the morning right from bed - you're staring outside at the cliffs and the white houses nestled into them. We loved the location as it's a 5 minute walk to Capri center yet it's in a quiet and peaceful location - and just a minute or so from the belvedere overlooking the faraglioni. The room was spacious, had a nice sitting area, and a large balcony with a table and lounge chairs. It was also a bonus to be staying at a hotel with one of the best restaurants on Capri. We made reservations for dinner our first night there and were seated at the table with the best panoramic views available in the entire restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeJenD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Dear JooeJenD12,

We thank you very much for your reservation and for the high evaluation you gave to "Villa Brunella".

We look-forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.

Kindest regards

Vincenzo Ruggiero

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

In 2001 we were on Capri and had gone out the Via Tragara to the viewpoint to look at the Faraglioni Rocks. Shortly thereafter it started to rain and we had no umbrellas. About 50 meters from the viewpoint we saw a doorway, looked in and down the long steps saw a beautiful blue tiled pool. Stepping into the doorway we noticed there were tables just a few steps from the doorway. We were welcomed in with a "Buon Giorno".We followed the waiters lead and were taken to a window table that overlooked Capri with all its white buildings, a view of the Marina Piccolo, Mt. Solarno at the western tip and the beautiful blue Mediterranean Sea. The lunch we had was outstanding.
We inquired about the rooms and so began a series of stays over the past 11 years, as we have returned to Capri, the Hotel Villa Brunella and its restaurant the Terrazza Brunella.
This is a Gem, a Diamond, that we found and have loved each year or every other year. The food, service, location and the staff are everything you desire. Whenever we travel to Europe it is not complete without a weeks stay at HVB on Capri

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Direttore at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Dear LCondon,

We thank you very much for your kind review that make us proud of trying to satisfy the expectation of all our Guests.

We look-forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.

Kindest regards

Gianni Grandini

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just spent two nights here. It was my second choice, the first one being booked well in advance. In fact, anyone wishing to come to Capri should always book well in advance. The location has some pros and cons. On the pro side, it's off the beaten path on the tiny road leading to the Faraglioni, As opposed to being near the action in the main square. However, the 20 minute walk may bug some people. Also, the first night there was a disco party nearby so that didn't help. Our room was decent, but a bit tired and almost 100 steps down from street level. The staff was quite good. Breakfast near the pool was nice, but they limit you to continental style. The restaurant looked good, but we didn't eat there. In short, it wasn't at all bad or unpleasant but I would choose something else to try next time.

Room Tip: High up is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Direttore at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Dear Flunie,

We thank you very much for your review and are glad for the pros you described. Thank you also for your "minus", very helpful to let us improve. We would specify that the walking to reach the hotel could take 20 minutes if our Guests stop to admire the boutiques of Via Camerelle and the panorama of Via Tragara. The hotel is linked by two lifts which avoid most of the steps and the Continental is the breakfast typology included in the room rate, but our Guests can ask for any extra food they desire.

We look-forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.

Kindest regards

Gianni Grandini

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have been staying at Villa Brunella with my wife and 4 kids + friends. The kind of "off the beaten track" place. Atmosphere is what you get: atmosphere and views!
Plus, we got plenty of style at breakfast by the pool, a good amount of exercise walking up & down the Capri stairs (try the stairs, minimize the use of lifts!), a room with a wonderful view. The staff members have always been just easy and just what you need but with a smile.
Dinner at the restaurant (street level) is elegant, still suitable for families: great musical background, obviously great food and we always get some spaghetti chi spugnitt (tomatoes) as well as Brunella's home made apple pie.
We love talking to Vincenzo or one his sons and get honest advice about boat trips, beaches or restaurant. And - very important - call him to pre - arrange luggage pickup at Marina Grande.

Room Tip: Rooms are simple but, who needs a complicated room in Capri; no gadgets, then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Proprietario at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Dear Andrea C

We thank you for your wonderful review and for all nice words you spent about your stay at "Villa Brunella". We don't have enough words to explain how your description shows the image of the hotel that we try to offer to all our Guests.

We look-forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.

Kindest regards

Vincenzo Ruggiero

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We went to Capri with our two teenage girls. We were very impressed with Villa Brunella. The views were amazing and our girls loved laying by the poolside . The dinner at Villa Brunella was the best place to eat on the island and reasonable. The only thing wrong was the breakfast ,not much of a variety .The owner Vincenzo was always there making sure everything was in order. We would definetly go back to Villa Brunella.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ivankadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Direttore generale at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Dear ivankadale,

We thank you very much for your kind review and for the high evaluation you gave to "Villa Brunella".

We look-forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon again, showing you our improvements regarding the Continental breakfast.

Kindest regards

Massimo Ruggiero

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Highly recommend. Nice views, great service! Breakfast was basic. Dinner was exceptional. Will stay again! Easy walk.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank badgercat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaBrunella, Direttore at Villa Brunella, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2016

Dear badgercat18,

We thank you for your kind review and look-forward to the pleasure of seeing you soon again, showing you our improvements regarding the Continental Breakfast.

Kindest regards

Gianni Grandini

Hotel Villa Brunella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.9 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.7 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.9 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 40 in Capri
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
0.3 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Brunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Brunella

Address: Via Tragara 24/a, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#8 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#15 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $215 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Brunella 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most beautiful residential street - Via Tragara - which runs up to the Faraglioni that's where you'll find the Hotel Villa Brunella and its restaurant, Terrazza Brunella, an unbeatable combination of elegant decor, polished service and the warm welcome only a family-owned hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Brunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Brunella Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing