We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene & Elegant - Perfect Honeymoon location”
Review of Punta Tragara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punta Tragara
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Through the assistance of Holidays Please (specialist holiday firm), we selected the Punta Tragara for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon.

From the moment we stepped ashore off the hydrofoil from Naples, the beauty of Capri was evident (even with the hordes of daytrippers milling around the port & in the main town square!)

We had specifically chosen the Punta Tragara to provide a tranquil oasis, the 10 minute walk out from the main throng proved far enough away to avoid the day tripper hell. The hotel staff welcomed us warmly. Our room had a beautiful view of the bay and marina piccola. Breakfasts on our balcony were a beautiful and romantic start. The hotel room was spacious and airy, it was tastefully furnished and the bed was very comfortable (important on honeymoon!!)

From the hotel, there are a couple of private beaches (not sand - just sunbeds on terraces with steps directly into the sea for swimming). The cost for sunbeds abd umbrella was approx 14 Euros each. The beaches have the amazing backdrop of the world famous Faraglioni Rocks (100 metres high) and provide an awesome spectacle as you bob around in the Mediterranean. You can eat at Da Luigi during the lunchtime period, enjoying fine seafood in the shade away from the hot sun.

Note: The beaches are around 300 metres down from the hotel, the paths and steps are not too steep but its a good way to build up a thirst on the way back up.

Capri Town is full of designer shops and beautiful people parading through the streets. We enjoyed food at Aurora in Capri and a small cafe in Anacapri.

The Punta Tragara proved a great place to hide away when we wanted and explore at other times, we will go back in the future to celebrate our anniversary and perhaps even take a boat ride to see the blue grotto amongst other things....

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Trickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 366 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2007

The hotel has a beautiful view and a private beach. The staff is great. The rooms are nice. We were disappointed, however, that this 5 star hotel has no room service past 10:30pm. .......not even coffee with cream. If that doesn't bother you, then you will enjoy your stay. For us, that is a part of the entire 5-star $1,000 / room experience.

It is also a 25 minute walk from all taxis!

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 8 fantastic nights. The staff is very welcoming and gracious. The pools are fabulous. We had an excellent stay. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lowbjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2003, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Capri1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2007

1  Thank obiwan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank rfgcpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condorCapri, Manager at Punta Tragara, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2008

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llr43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
697 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Morgano
Casa Morgano
#23 of 40 in Capri
297 reviews
1.2 mi away
J.K.Place Capri
J.K.Place Capri
#16 of 40 in Capri
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Scalinatella
La Scalinatella
#24 of 40 in Capri
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Tragara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Tragara

Address: Via Tragara 57, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#18 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $654 - $1,331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Punta Tragara 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places hold a very special type of fascination. Almost always they are places of indescribable beauty, because what ever words you choose will fail to convey the sensations aroused in you.This is what we are proposing, a unique luxury place in Capri and daring design, sculpted out of the rock face, where no two rooms are the same and where nature reigns supreme in a natural setting where space has created a stronghold of incomparable beauty where emotions constantly surprise and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Punta Tragara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Tragara Capri
Punta Tragara Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing