We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Views”
Review of Punta Tragara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punta Tragara
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

off the beaten path at the end of the town....away from all the hustle and bustle....
the hotel is terraced into the hills....lovely amenitites....spectacular views...wonderful buffet breakfast included in the price....staff friendly and helpful altho not always well informed...
rooms were spacious and stark...lovely bathrooms with double sinks!
lots of steps and walking....

Room Tip: with a view, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didisacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 366 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

One of the best Hotel experiences in my life. Staff met me at the pier to help with luggage and provided me with instructions how to get there. My room was upgraded to the Art suite because they new me and my recently acquired fiance were celebrating. They were very helpful the following day arrange baggage transport down, ferry tickets and assistance with the internet. The views are unrivaled. It is on the edge of town away from the absolute craziness in the center during the day. Will stay again next time we are there. oh and we agree one of the best beds we have slept on.

Room Tip: If you are celebrating, and I mean something big, because it is terribly expensive, get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful location albeit a long walk from the old town square. The hotel will not help you with transfers - you are on your own. The staff are rude and generally unhappy ... We never saw them smile nor did we see them help any guests or open the front door for anyone. They refuse to provide water when requested and once forgot to clean our room. One night they knocked on the door at 11pm and asked if we would like a turn down service. Another day they left our door wide open for the whole day. The restaurant is terrible (served burnt chicken) The pool area is nice however for most of the day the kitchen is closed and you can't get food delivered to the pool area - overall the punta Tragara is a terrible hotel that should be rated a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mattmillar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Punta Tragara for three nights in July 2012. The hotel, its staff, the food and the view are amazing. The staff was very helpful, the room was stunning with a view to die for. We would definitely stay there again. The short walk from the centre was always a welcome stroll through the flowery streets of Capri.

Room Tip: We got a beautiful suite which had a huge balcony just on the top of the cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in a Junior Suite and the view was unbelievable. This was the most beautiful hotel we stayed in during our honeymoon. We would stay around the hotel during the day, hidden from all the daytime tourists and explore "downtown" Capri in the early evening. The bathroom was luxurious and had great amenities. Every afternoon we saw the seagulls flying at eye level. Breakfast was excellent and service was very attentive, maybe to the point of being overbearing. It was expensive but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was our second visit to Punta Tragara. Again, it was lovely. The staff immediately recognized us from last year. It was nice and felt like we were one of the regulars who have been returning year after year. We had a junior suite with a gorgeous view. It is quiet and felt like we had our own villa, sharing with old and new friends. Our room was always clean and the staff was attentive to our needs. Although, the hotel is at the end overlooking Fariglioni Rocks, it is worth the walk....especially after eating a late dinner!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meldavall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Wow, what a life time experience. The Hotel on the edge of the world. Actually the hotel sits on the far most tip of Capri, overlooking the Fariglioni Rocks. A Hotel like no other, like staying in your very own Villa. Fantastic pool, very Eprivate, and peaceful. I highly recommend the Presidencial suite. Roof top views of the island. You'll be talking about tis hotel for years to come.

Room Tip: Room 33, Presidential suite highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlicari300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
697 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Morgano
Casa Morgano
#23 of 40 in Capri
297 reviews
1.2 mi away
J.K.Place Capri
J.K.Place Capri
#17 of 40 in Capri
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Scalinatella
La Scalinatella
#25 of 40 in Capri
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Tragara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Tragara

Address: Via Tragara 57, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#17 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $656 - $1,331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Punta Tragara 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places hold a very special type of fascination. Almost always they are places of indescribable beauty, because what ever words you choose will fail to convey the sensations aroused in you.This is what we are proposing, a unique luxury place in Capri and daring design, sculpted out of the rock face, where no two rooms are the same and where nature reigns supreme in a natural setting where space has created a stronghold of incomparable beauty where emotions constantly surprise and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Punta Tragara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Tragara Capri
Punta Tragara Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing