We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the worst customer service in Europe - it does not meet the criteria of a 5 star hotel”
Review of Punta Tragara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punta Tragara
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst customer service in Europe - it does not meet the criteria of a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful location albeit a long walk from the old town square. The hotel will not help you with transfers - you are on your own. The staff are rude and generally unhappy ... We never saw them smile nor did we see them help any guests or open the front door for anyone. They refuse to provide water when requested and once forgot to clean our room. One night they knocked on the door at 11pm and asked if we would like a turn down service. Another day they left our door wide open for the whole day. The restaurant is terrible (served burnt chicken) The pool area is nice however for most of the day the kitchen is closed and you can't get food delivered to the pool area - overall the punta Tragara is a terrible hotel that should be rated a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mattmillar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    60
    20
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
214
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Punta Tragara for three nights in July 2012. The hotel, its staff, the food and the view are amazing. The staff was very helpful, the room was stunning with a view to die for. We would definitely stay there again. The short walk from the centre was always a welcome stroll through the flowery streets of Capri.

Room Tip: We got a beautiful suite which had a huge balcony just on the top of the cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in a Junior Suite and the view was unbelievable. This was the most beautiful hotel we stayed in during our honeymoon. We would stay around the hotel during the day, hidden from all the daytime tourists and explore "downtown" Capri in the early evening. The bathroom was luxurious and had great amenities. Every afternoon we saw the seagulls flying at eye level. Breakfast was excellent and service was very attentive, maybe to the point of being overbearing. It was expensive but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was our second visit to Punta Tragara. Again, it was lovely. The staff immediately recognized us from last year. It was nice and felt like we were one of the regulars who have been returning year after year. We had a junior suite with a gorgeous view. It is quiet and felt like we had our own villa, sharing with old and new friends. Our room was always clean and the staff was attentive to our needs. Although, the hotel is at the end overlooking Fariglioni Rocks, it is worth the walk....especially after eating a late dinner!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meldavall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Wow, what a life time experience. The Hotel on the edge of the world. Actually the hotel sits on the far most tip of Capri, overlooking the Fariglioni Rocks. A Hotel like no other, like staying in your very own Villa. Fantastic pool, very Eprivate, and peaceful. I highly recommend the Presidencial suite. Roof top views of the island. You'll be talking about tis hotel for years to come.

Room Tip: Room 33, Presidential suite highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlicari300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel: the setting has the best views in Capri and the service is impeccable. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was delicious and they made the entire experience a fantastic evening with superb service. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff - from extra pillows, soap, ice....every request was fulfilled immediately and with a smile. The views cannot be described....you have to come and see for yourself. I previously stayed in the Quisisana....but this hotel is the BEST!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Location: The hotel was designed by Le Corbusier and has spectacular views. It is very close to the Capri Faraglioni rocks. Although this location allows amazing views, it also means that the hotel is a 15 min walk from the center (rethink your shoes!). Also, every now and then there are several groups of tourists in front of the hotel in order to see the Faraglioni, which can make the pool sometimes a bit noisier and with less privacy - which is ironic since the hotel itself has lots of rules that the guests need to follow in order not to disturb other guests in the pool.

Rooms are spacious and have a really nice bathroom with rainshower and lovely amenities.

Breakfast had really high quality ingredients and can be served outside if the weather allows.

Pricing/ value for money: Pay attention to the price of drinks! When you're already paying 400+ euros for a room, it seems odd to pay 16 euros for a cocktail in the pool or at dinner, or 5/ 6 euros for a soft drink in the room!

Hotel has a good service to take and pick up your luggage to the port. Don't try to take it yourself! Service is quite attentive and efficient, but lacks some personality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz_Nogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 41 in Capri
645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
1.0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.7 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Tragara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Tragara

Property: Punta Tragara
Address: Via Tragara 57, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#15 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Punta Tragara 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places hold a very special type of fascination. Almost always they are places of indescribable beauty, because what ever words you choose will fail to convey the sensations aroused in you.This is what we are proposing, a unique luxury place in Capri and daring design, sculpted out of the rock face, where no two rooms are the same and where nature reigns supreme in a natural setting where space has created a stronghold of incomparable beauty where emotions constantly surprise and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Punta Tragara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Tragara Capri
Punta Tragara Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing