We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best”
Review of Punta Tragara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punta Tragara
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

OK it is expensive....However, you will not find a comparable hotel in Capri or even possibly in Italy....there is no other place to stay....This Is It....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    60
    20
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
214
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The location, the views, Capri ... Are all simply stunning, and I for one believe the rates are worth it for those things alone. but if you are used to the obsessive attention to detail, and the friendly professionalism of, say, a Four Seasons or Orient Express hotel, you will not find it here.
The rooms have amazing, truly amazing, views from the terraces and windows, the location at the end if the town make it a gorgeous retreat, but minor details just keep throwing you off - just really unexpected little things that surprise you, such as no TV reception, no Nespresso or similar coffee machine in the superior room (which has a separate sitting room), being offered the FT which then either does not arrive or is a day old, only two towels although the bath and shower are on opposite sides if the bathroom, a very friendly concierge but who did not have the tools or objective to help us "experience" Capri (like out of the way restaurants, hiking maps, private exclusive access to the Blue Grotto), no radio (much less an iPod ready radio), breakfast is good but nit exceptional, etc.
Now, you probably din't need any of this, and as I mentioned at the beginning, the views alone all well worth the money, and you WILL enjoy staying here (we will probably come back), but just don't expect to be vowed by the ancillaries.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The moment we walked into our hotel at Punta Tragara my husband and I were amazed. There was a bottle of prosecco chilling and dessert waiting. We opened the doors to our terrace and had an amazing view of the water and Capritown. The pool was great and had the same amazing view. The pool staff was awesome. The daily breakfast was wonderful. The hotel staff was nice, but could have been more informative upfront (it took us 2 days to realize breakfast was included and we never knew about porter pick up for our bags). The only negative thing I have to say is there is a no children under 10 policy but there were 3 children under 10 at the pool each day. They were loud and it was something we weren't expecting because we were excited about the policy, so it probably bothered us more then it normally would.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleTraveler1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

A bit outside the center of Capri, but well worth the 15-minute stroll on a jasmine-scented street, Punta Tragara is perched on the Mediterranean high above the iconic Faraglioni. My sea view room {upgraded from garden upon my arrival} had a terrace that overlooked Marina Piccola and a host of large yachts anchored just off the coast, and the views were amazing. I arrived at around 1:00, hot & tired after a hike from the funicular station with my luggage, and the room was not ready {although the hotel didn't appear full at any time during my visit}. I had lunch while waiting, delicious but extremely expensive, and was the only person in the restaurant or bar -- which seemed a little odd -- and there was no one eating around the pool. Admittedly, April is early in Capri's season -- the day I arrived they were cleaning and filling the pool -- but I enjoyed the solitude and can't imagine La Piazetta crowds during high season. The staff was extremely attentive but unobtrusive, the interiors {especially the baths} fabulous, and the views unparalleled.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollyGoesLightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We were at the Punta Tragara for 4 nights, and it was a really relaxing pleasant experience. The views from our suite were utterly beautiful, and the suite itself was extremely spacious and very tastefully and comfortably done up. Only negative: the bathroom did not have a window. Room service was amazing, beautifully laid out, and great service. The breakfast room was charming - same views again - and overall service at meals was pretty faultless. Only negatives: we came back to the hotel after a meander around Capri and it was probably early afternoon (2.30?) and there was no possibility of lunch at that time. The kitchen rustled up a tomato and mozzarella salad and some wine for us, which was just fine, but we were surprised that there was no real catering at "off peak" hours. Overall our stay was really nice. It is also big plus that the hotel is a walkable "off the main drag" so you have the calm and solitude of getting away from the day-trippers, but can still enjoy all the amenities of Capri itself by a short walk.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelEnthusiast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

My wife and I first stayed at the Punta Tragara in 1993. Although the hotel was not as luxurious as we expected, the breathtaking views and its quiet location at the end of the Via Tragara made us decide to return there in 2010 with our 16 year old son. We were very glad that we did. The hotel has been renovated and modernized. We were very pleased with our deluxe room which included a sitting area with a pull-out couch and separate bath for our son. Our bedroom was up a flight of stairs and had a walk-in closet and large bathroom with separate shower. Both rooms were a little on the small side, but we didn’t feel cramped. The view from our room was somewhat limited because we faced the side of the hotel, but not a major drawback. When we weren't touring around the island, we lounged by the pools where we swam and had drinks while enjoying a view of the Faraglioni. The walk back to the center of Capri is only about 10 minutes, and you can walk down a steep path next to the hotel for a swim in the sea in about 20 minutes (the two private “beaches” located below the hotel do charge a fee). The Punta Tragara is a very nice hotel in a beautiful location. While you're on the island, take a bus or taxi to Anacapri and then a chairlift to Monte Solaro, the highest point on the island at about 2000 feet. The view is amazing (see photos).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This review should be preceded with the fact that we had stayed at Le Sirenuse and Palazzo Sasso for the first two legs of our vacation. I'm just not sure what could possibly compete with those two, but Tragara was pretty close in many respects and, it should be noted, cost less than half of Sasso and 2/3 as much as Sirenuse, making it clearly the best value of the three. First tip: you need to call the hotel on the day of your arrival and tell them which ferry you are coming in on, they will meet you right at the dock and take your bags. It's a bit funny that you are on your own for how to get to the hotel from this point, the cable car is at the end of the dock and leaves you off right in the center of town, the hotel is then a 15 min walk. My gf and I found wandering through dimly lit Via Tragara a bit of a fun adventure but may be something to prepare yourself for if you are not expecting it. Tragara is at the end of the road. The hotel stands on the cliff and offers truly spectacular views of the Faraglioni especially. In addition, we had a wraparound terrace where they will serve you breakfast in the am for a nominal fee of 15 eur I believe, 100% worth it. Our bathroom was the size of many Manhattan apartments, our circular bathtub had a diameter of over six feet (not kidding) and the shower was also quite nice. There were, however, some lacking points that, while small, kept the hotel from quite being on the "totally blew me away" level. First of all, the wi-fi didn't work for all three days I was there (They allegedly had a business center if I somehow got desperate, I didn't check it out). This is generally ok, I didn't come to Capri to surf the internet but just something to note. Also, when we were famished after arriving our first night there, we asked for a nice restaurant that was between the hotel and town, we didn't feel like retracing all of our steps. They told us to go to the restaurant Faraglioni, which is a total tourist trap and generally sucked, worst meal we had in Italy our 10 day stay in Italy. The next night we found Villa Brunella on our own, which was fantastic and just steps from the hotel. Surely they can recognize the difference? The final night, we realized that we had a small ant problem as apparently one of the fruit drippings from the morning danish hadn't been cleaned sufficiently and the ants were congregating around it by that night. The maids came immediately to clean the place and they sprayed bug spray, but still... That was kind of the theme of our three days there, just a touch below perfect. The hotel venue is second to none on the island, the views are spectacular, the pool and sun area was great, the hotel is just a few hundred steps up from the actual coast and the nice restaurant for lunch on the water down there whose name begins with an F that I cannot immediately recall (Faragnielli's or something like that). Throw all of this together for the cost, and it's an undeniably good deal. I still came away with the idea that if I bought the place and spent a few months ironing out the kinks, I could increase the price by 50% and make it THE must-stay option in Capri. Make sense?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csaarbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.4 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 41 in Capri
645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Scalinatella
La Scalinatella
#23 of 41 in Capri
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.1 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Tragara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Tragara

Property: Punta Tragara
Address: Via Tragara 57, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#18 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Punta Tragara 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places hold a very special type of fascination. Almost always they are places of indescribable beauty, because what ever words you choose will fail to convey the sensations aroused in you.This is what we are proposing, a unique luxury place in Capri and daring design, sculpted out of the rock face, where no two rooms are the same and where nature reigns supreme in a natural setting where space has created a stronghold of incomparable beauty where emotions constantly surprise and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Punta Tragara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Tragara Capri
Punta Tragara Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing