We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Very Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gatto Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location, Very Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

The hotel is so squiky clean is unbelievable, the location is great and definetively there is value if you compare it to other hotels in Capri. The breakfast was quite a dissapointment compared to our hotels in Naples and Rome. The problem with this hotel is that the atmosphere is not great and you feel totally disconnected to the place.
Having said that the hotel is not a bad stay by any means and the owner is on top of his hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chefdulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    115
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
61
201
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
IOM
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

I have stayed at the Gatto Bianco twice now and enjoyed it both times. On both occasions we had a small room with a balcony overlooking the town. To the right you can see the sea and one of the Faraglioni rocks. I must say, the tiled floors throughout the hotel are absolutely beautiful.

The rooms are quite well appointed with plenty of storage space. The beds are very comfortable. There is a safe and a minibar, but I did not make use of these. The maid services the room in the morning and turns down the bed and refreshes the towels (if necessary) in the evening. Breakfast was tasty, with a wide selection of cereals, breads, yoghurt, fruits, etc.

All in all a very nice hotel in a perfect location. Highly recommended. In fact I look forward to going back myself.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manxpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed there twice. The first time, July 2008, was reasonable, although services and attitude needed improvement,
Returned there in July 209 with a friend. We fell for the uprade promise of the manager.
Not only we got no upgrade. Everyday they pormised us to transfer up to a different room, and every day something would happen.
The service was almost non-existent: trash was removed only occasionally, dust and dirt left untouched, mini fridge was not working, neither was TV, and finally we got some problems with the safe as well. Kleenex and bath supplies not replenished for days in a row.
When we complained, one of the owners insulted me loudly in Italian for all the guests and and employees to hear.
we switched finally switched hotels. There is no need to be abused on vacation.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank catchmeifucanNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

On the recommendation of a friend we stayed at the Gatto Bianco for five nights during a recent trip to Italy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel; the location is great - only a few steps from the main square(it's across the street from LaPalma), the owner is present in the hotel and solicitous of his guests; he even made dinner reservations for us. A hotel rep met the ferry and took care of getting our luggage to the hotel (it was in our room before we arrived). The room and bathroom we had were always spotlessly clean and there was turn down service/ towel changes each evening. It was hot in September and we especially appreciated the efficient, self-controlled air conditioning in the room. We met Matisee (the gatto bianco at this time ) as well as the canine mascot - both were well behaved and friendly. We enjoyed our time in Capri and would stay at the Gatto Bianco again for the location, service, cleanliness and ambiance.

  • Liked — location, value
  • Disliked — no onean view from balcony
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janeharriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

Went to Capri last summer with my wife and two friends. We had no reservations, but luckily came across the GB (because it really is right in the center of town!) and they had two rooms for us to choose from. We took the bigger of the two and it was like a junior suite with a large living room. It also had a private court yard in the front where we held nightly happy hours! The breakfast in the morning was fantastic and the owner came over and sat with us every day. For the price and location, this hotel is unbeatable!

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2007

My husband and I decided to spend a night in Capri - instead of taking a day trip. We telephoned the Gatto Bianco the day before and they had a room free. The location is fantastic and the communal areas very light and cool. Our room was large, bright and airy - with a very pretty terrace which was extremely peaceful, even though it was right in the town centre. We walked down steps to a super beach which had a restaurant, then took a boat back to the Marina Piccalo - and a short bus trip back to the hotel. Breakfast the next day was good - and served in a lovely open air terrace. I was able to shop away, whilst my husband read his book in peace on our balcony !!! The owner was very friendly - and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EMWDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Maryland, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2007

The Hotel Gatto Bianco (white cat) was one of the nicest hotels we've stayed at in years. Centrally located just steps from the Piazetta. We initially were to stay in Capri for only three days. We liked Capri and the hotel Gatto Bianco so much we decided to stay an additional two days in Capri and remove Naples from our itinerary. We took our tours of Pompeii and Vesuvius from Sorrento instead of Naples. The air-conditioned rooms were spacious and spotless. The entire hotel was immaculate. The staff was superb, friendly and accommodating. They helped arrange our island boat tours, which were reasonably priced with reputable boat owners. The breakfasts were delicious with plenty of fresh fruits, meats and cheeses. I must say, there is not one thing negative I can say about our five days at the Gatto Bianco. We will come back to Capri just to stay at the Gatto Bianco.
Vince & Darlene B.
July 2007

  • Liked — The staff was friendly and accommadating and the entire hotel was spotless.
  • Disliked — The view from the balcony wasn,t much. But, you're in Capri, who cares.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Vbiondino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.3 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#9 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#14 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gatto Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gatto Bianco

Property: Hotel Gatto Bianco
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 32, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Capri
#3 Business Hotel in Capri
#8 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#16 Family Hotel in Capri
#20 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gatto Bianco 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the idea of staying in a hotel right in the center of Capri? You're going to love Gatto Bianco! Just 150 meters from the Piazzetta, the heart of the island's glamorous social whirl, and 100 meters from Via Camerelle, Capri's designer shopping street, if it's a centrally-located 4 star you're after, Gatto Bianco is the hotel for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gatto Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatto Bianco Capri
Gatto Bianco Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing