We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Capri stay”
Review of Hotel Gatto Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2008

On the recommendation of a friend we stayed at the Gatto Bianco for five nights during a recent trip to Italy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel; the location is great - only a few steps from the main square(it's across the street from LaPalma), the owner is present in the hotel and solicitous of his guests; he even made dinner reservations for us. A hotel rep met the ferry and took care of getting our luggage to the hotel (it was in our room before we arrived). The room and bathroom we had were always spotlessly clean and there was turn down service/ towel changes each evening. It was hot in September and we especially appreciated the efficient, self-controlled air conditioning in the room. We met Matisee (the gatto bianco at this time ) as well as the canine mascot - both were well behaved and friendly. We enjoyed our time in Capri and would stay at the Gatto Bianco again for the location, service, cleanliness and ambiance.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janeharriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 478 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2008

Went to Capri last summer with my wife and two friends. We had no reservations, but luckily came across the GB (because it really is right in the center of town!) and they had two rooms for us to choose from. We took the bigger of the two and it was like a junior suite with a large living room. It also had a private court yard in the front where we held nightly happy hours! The breakfast in the morning was fantastic and the owner came over and sat with us every day. For the price and location, this hotel is unbeatable!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

My husband and I decided to spend a night in Capri - instead of taking a day trip. We telephoned the Gatto Bianco the day before and they had a room free. The location is fantastic and the communal areas very light and cool. Our room was large, bright and airy - with a very pretty terrace which was extremely peaceful, even though it was right in the town centre. We walked down steps to a super beach which had a restaurant, then took a boat back to the Marina Piccalo - and a short bus trip back to the hotel. Breakfast the next day was good - and served in a lovely open air terrace. I was able to shop away, whilst my husband read his book in peace on our balcony !!! The owner was very friendly - and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EMWDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

The Hotel Gatto Bianco (white cat) was one of the nicest hotels we've stayed at in years. Centrally located just steps from the Piazetta. We initially were to stay in Capri for only three days. We liked Capri and the hotel Gatto Bianco so much we decided to stay an additional two days in Capri and remove Naples from our itinerary. We took our tours of Pompeii and Vesuvius from Sorrento instead of Naples. The air-conditioned rooms were spacious and spotless. The entire hotel was immaculate. The staff was superb, friendly and accommodating. They helped arrange our island boat tours, which were reasonably priced with reputable boat owners. The breakfasts were delicious with plenty of fresh fruits, meats and cheeses. I must say, there is not one thing negative I can say about our five days at the Gatto Bianco. We will come back to Capri just to stay at the Gatto Bianco.
Vince & Darlene B.
July 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Vbiondino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

First of all, the location! Gatto Bianco is right in the center of Capri, and you can go everywhere without transportations!
The room was nice and clean.
The receptionists are very friendly and can help you for all your needs, feel free to ask and they will be happy to help you!!
Very nice experience, we advise you Gatto Bianco for your vacation in Capri Island!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Francescosaverio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

I stay in this hotel when I am going to be in Capri for only a few days. The location is perfect; you are in the center of everything. If you forget something in your room, just run back to get it. The price, the best deal on the island. The staff, very helpful. If you are expecting luxury, this is not for you, but if you are expecting a pleasant stay this is the place for you.

Stayed: May 2007
4  Thank redmazda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2005

We have spent last week end in this hotel. We tried two rooms. The first one was quite a jail: one only window in front of a very near grey wall. The second one was with internal view, but so small that in comparison the medium rooms in NYC looks to me very large. The Hotel is very near to piazzetta (downtown of capri). I live in Rome, and i am used to stay in a Hotel for business. My suggestion is: avoid Gatto Bianco!!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Em70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenatoEsposito, Proprietario at Hotel Gatto Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2007
Google Translation

We are sorry about this, but believe me that each hotel has little rooms. The 95% of our rooms has terrace and view and I am sure that the price we made was competitive. If someone book for a room with sea view, he will get the room with sea view but if you came here without booking and we have only that two available then you can choose not to stay at Gatto Bianco if you don't like them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#14 of 40 in Capri
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 40 in Capri
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#29 of 40 in Capri
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gatto Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gatto Bianco

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 32, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Capri
#6 Spa Hotel in Capri
#14 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#16 Family Hotel in Capri
#20 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $98 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gatto Bianco 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the idea of staying in a hotel right in the center of Capri? You're going to love Gatto Bianco! Just 150 meters from the Piazzetta, the heart of the island's glamorous social whirl, and 100 meters from Via Camerelle, Capri's designer shopping street, if it's a centrally-located 4 star you're after, Gatto Bianco is the hotel for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gatto Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatto Bianco Capri
Gatto Bianco Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing