We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Verginiello

Verginiello
Ranked #15 of 122 Restaurants in Capri
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We dined at Verginiello twice on our visit to Capri. It was recommended by our hotel and we were very pleased with our experience. On the first visit we had dinner and enjoyed antipasti and pasta. Some of the favorites were the fried zucchini blossoms, Caprese salad and spaghetti with vongole. The next day we had lunch and enjoyed salads and pizzas. The location is not too far from the Piazzetta but far enough away from the crowds. The service was very good and friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Klabens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    728
    274
    100
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood, big servings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel which was great as it was away from all the tourist traps of Capri and still had a wonderful view over the water. If you're after a fancy meal, this isn't for you but for reasonably priced Italian meals and seafood away from the main tourist area, then this is for you. We were recommended to have the ravioli caprese and the scialatelli ai frutti di mare (seafood pasta). Both were delicious and came in decent portions. We wanted to sample more seafood so ordered the fried sardines and fried calamari. We originally ordered the grilled calamari but the waiter recommended that the fried one was better. The servings were very generous but we felt that we had too much fried food. We also wanted a vegetable side dish so the waiter recommended the eggplant parmigiana. This last dish took a while to come so we cancelled it as we were way too full - luckily they hadn't started cooking it yet. A reasonably priced meal for Capri standards and we were amongst the locals rather than the hoards of tourists.

Helpful?
Thank Sydney_Sammy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

If you are on a budget, this may be one of the best choices on Capri Town. This is not a luxurious restaurant, but the food is very good, the place itself is ok. The first time we tried to go, was full... We didn't reserve. The second time, we were able to get in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank yo-no-fui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic unpretentious Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Excellent antipasti - the marinated anchovies were particularly good. Lots of good seafood dishes as well. Generally good value (Capri is fairly expensive).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food: yay! Atmosphere: nay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Upon entering this place I was reminded of my university dining hall (a very long time ago): large open rooms, crappy furniture, very crowded and LOUD! But it wasn't a tour-bus-just-let-out kind of crowd: The tables appeared to be filled with locals. We were seated after a 10 minute wait, and found the service to be perfunctory but efficient; these guys were running their butts off! The food was ridiculous. In a good way. Well priced, generous portions, and all perfectly prepared. We had fried zucchini blossoms ( best battered/fried food I've ever eaten), vegetable soup, brimming with escarole (best veg soup I've ever eaten), grilled veg (meh), pizza (spring for the bufalo mozzarella, it's worth it), anchovies (good but way too many served). House red wine was cheap and passable. Would definitely return, again and again.

Helpful?
1 Thank cmgervais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verginiello also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Verginiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing