We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW, WOW, WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Luna
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW, WOW, WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is one of those special places you remember forever. Of course Capri itself is very beautiful, and the location of this hotel may be in the most beautiful spot on the Island. A short walk from the funicular, you go through busy pedestrian only streets, highlighting some of the top designer boutiques in the world, and also some quaint local artsy shops, and then arrive on the spectacular property of the Hotel Luna. The path from the road to the hotel leads you through beautiful, perfectly kept gardens, with a stunning view of the ocean, and then the lovely lobby of the hotel. We were greeted warmly, and given a lovely room with a view of the ocean and the stunning hotel pool. We were starving when we arrived at 2:30PM, and were told there was only food service at the pool. We expected a quick uninteresting snack, but we were instead treated to a feast of wonderful salads and pasta, beautifully served by a wonderful and entertaining waiter, that was one of the highlights of our 10 day trip to Rome and Capri. What a place. Breakfast was included and it was a delicious buffet with everything you could possibly want. The island itself is magical and unique. Stunning views everywhere you look, friendly, laid back. If you go to Capri, stay at this hotel. It was more than perfect, it was a dream come true. We can only hope we can get back here one more time in our lives.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiseman1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
"Absolutely must get back! We are very pleased that you have kept good memories of Italy and of our hospitality. Your glowing review gives to readers a very sympatic postcard of the Hotel Luna: pool, pasta, joy, surprise. We hope that this is the mood of our Guests in Capri, that they enjoy this life style. We have reported your message to the pool Staff, everybody thank you very much."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    92
    18
    13
    3
See reviews for
88
227
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in the beginning of May. The hotel itself looks very nice on the hill and overlooks Faraglioni. My friends stayed in the room with a balcony which is much better then a standard room (mainly because of the view). All shops and restaurants just minutes away. They also have a large swimming pool and a bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your good review, greetings from Hotel Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, GO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 nights with my fiancee and it was absolutely perfect. From the very nice and helpful staff to the superbly comfortable room, everything about our stay there was flawless. The view from our room to the Faraglioni was stunning, the best in Capri! The gardens are beautiful and the swimming pool area is perfect for sunbathing. Breakfast is a delight, and it was great to be able to sleep until late and have breakfast in our balcony with the beautiful sea view ( although it's a much smaller version of the breakfast they serve on the buffet). Location is also very good, just a quick walk from La Piazzeta. Staff is ready to help you to enjoy the tours and sights and they've arranged us a great boat ride around the island with Rafaelle, a friendly local (Keep your italian sharp!)
It's really worth the price and I can't wait to go back!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank clarissafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
"Dear Madame, dear Sir, if we had written for ourselves this description of Hotel Luna we could not have been more inviting! Thank you very much for appreciating our hospitality and life atmosphere in Capri, we will refer to the staff and Mr. Raffaele your compliments. See you soon"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Luna. We arrived in Capri on Easter Weekend and there were Mobs of Tourists. Arriving at the Hotel Luna was like entering an Oasis of Calm and Serenity. Absolutely wonderful hotel! The grounds are beautiful and the Pool area is very inviting! We were upgraded to a room with a view which we so appreciated! Our room had a terrace with a table and 2 chairs which we used often during our stay. Lovely, spotlessly clean and equipped with everything we needed.
We had lunch at the Pool our first day and we were welcomed warmly by all the staff. Service is top notch both at the front desk and the restaurant where we also had dinner one evening. The views are spectacular and we thought it was one of the nicest spots on the island. We are so glad we found the Hotel Luna and would recommend it highly! We felt so lucky to be able to return to this beautiful oasis every day!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DebandShel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Madame, thank you very much, you wrote a great review and a very nice raccomandation. The top service is our challenge and we are so glad that you appreciated the location and the terrace. We hope that your proposal to come back in Capri will come true soon, we wait for you!
Thanks. -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I love this hotel more than other ones I have stayed in Capri - I have also stayed at JK Place Capri and Punta Tragara. While the latter 2 is indeed a true 5 star hotel in Capri, I would choose Hotel Luna in a heartbeat, and here's why:

1. You can't get views of the Faraglioni better than this. This is probably the best location with the best picture perfect angle. You can just sit outside the balcony and enjoy the wonderful views of sunrise/sunset over Faraglioni. The views from Punta Tragara is too close, too slanted (and not worth the price - view wise). JK Capri - is in the wrong side of the island.

2. The hotel grounds is big, and evoke a sense of a grand Italian private residence. The hotel is strategically located allowing a sense of privacy and separation. You pass through a very nice winding garden passageway - a really relaxing walk - before you enter the very elegant hotel, completely away from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets.

3. The hotel swimming pool is probably one of the biggest ones around in Capri. So relaxing and the views again are breathtaking. Take a casual lunch there - food is very fresh and delightful.

4. The service is very attentive, warm, and friendly. You really get a sense of stepping back in time when things are done elegantly and properly. Granted, you may not get the advance technology or modern furnishing that you can find in JK Place Capri. But in Luna Hotel I feel like I'm staying in a vacation villa of an important Italian family.

5. Location is quite centrally located to most places. Unlike JK Place Capri you're on the other side of island and you have to take the "funiculor" to get to the right side of island. Or Punta Tragara - though you can take a buggy, the walk is forever long!!

If you want the views, the spaciousness, the traditional hospitality of warm-hearted Italians. This is the best and absolute place to be. This place is extremely addicting.

Take a 1 bedroom suite if budget allows - it's on the prime corner with unobstructed view of the island and the sea, with perfect position to Faraglioni. Otherwise, take the deluxe room in the main building - the views to Faraglioni are identical to the suite. The rooms on the smaller building facing the pool is also very nice, but your views of Faraglioni would be less open.

I'm looking forward to going back again April/May!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
The Hotel Luna is ready for the new season!
From 2014 April 17th, we'll welcome our Guests.
So, we have received your message as a wish for our work and, mainly, for the pleasantness of the holiday of all the vacationers.
We thank you for the amazing review and the beautiful photos, we have really appreciated the careful description, structured in the most important items of the hotel, and the recognition of our style... "the traditional warm-hearted hospitality of Italian"....thank you!
We look forward your arrival in Capri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is by far the best hotel in Capri -- it has the most fantastic views of the Faraglioni Rocks and is in the best location. My husband and I go to the Amalfi Coast every year and stay at only the best hotels (Le SIrenuse in Positano and Santa Caterina in Amalfi) and this is where we stay in Capri. The negative reviews are very old and not at all aligned with our experiences. This is the best value on the Amalfi Coast!

Room Tip: Must have an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you, sweet Guest, for your significant review. We look forward to seeing you in a few months.
It is really precious that you "faded" the not kind reviews about the Hotel, you know, the Guest is more and more believable than the owner! Double thanks, be happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Capri is one of the most beautiful places on earth….You have to see it at least once in your lifetime !
Me and my husband go every summer, and we never get bored….

To take the best of Capri and feel the "air" you have to stay in the core…
Hotel Luna is the hotel with the best location in Capri…. the view are breathtaking and unique; the hotel is located in an gorgeous antique park, with picturesque alleys immersed in Bouganville, wisteria trees, rosemary and jasmine…It is a fantastic place!
Of course after all this beauty should appear some minuses, otherwise would have been too perfect to be true :) .You have to expect mediocre service as almost everywhere else in Italy. Especially in beautiful places like this one, owners no longer give so much interest in satisfying customers, considering location sufficient to justify the astronomical amount of money they ask….but once you understand this is common in Italy, you start to enjoy the beauty ...
I will not begin to enumerate the minuses, because for me they became in the end irrelevant … Anyway, it's a place to be seen!!!

Room Tip: ...choose deluxe see view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oana_lucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Madam, thank you for reviewing the Hotel Luna and posting of some very nice photos. It is the first time we have received a comment which lists the names of the garden's plants, you are really expert!
You have to believe that we are aware of the beauty of our country and, at the same time, we cherish the satisfaction of our Guests. We hope you again come back here in Capri. Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.3 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.2 mi away
La Minerva
La Minerva
#1 of 42 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna

Property: Hotel Luna
Address: Viale Giacomo Matteotti 3, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Capri
#6 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#7 Family Hotel in Capri
#9 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing