We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This does have the " WOW " factor”
Review of Hotel Luna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luna
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“This does have the " WOW " factor”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I recently spent 3 nights at this hotel. When researching on tripadvisor where to stay , Hotel Luna was not even on my radar. I had narrowed my choices down to Quisisana or La Sciantella when an acquaintance ( who lived in Positano for several years ) recommended Hotel Luna.

What a great recommendation this turned out to be - especially after I went and had a look at both the other hotels. To get to our hotel , you had to walk straight past Quisisana Hotel. That hotel looked impressive but was way too " Surfers Paradise " in its look for me - it was big , bold and brassy and the tables outside the entrance ( about 80 of them ) were full of people who all seemed to be out to impress each other.

I knew I had made the right choice whenI saw these beautiful grounds and gardens at the entrance of Hotel Luna. It was a beautiful walk down through these gardens , past the pool to the hotel reception area. The Hotel is located right on the cliff withthe most spectacular views. I was fortunate enough to get room 215 , which is the room ( a suite )on their website where the couple are standing on a small side balcony.

Even though the hotel is said to be 4 star , I have stayed in so called 5 star hotels that do not come anywhere near Hotel Luna. The rooms are typical of those found in hotels on the Amalfi Coast and are in keeping with the setting.

The hotel staff were very helpful , spoke good English and were always eager to assist. The pool area was good with plenty of lounges available. The position and views were sensational. Quisisana did not have great views and the pool area did not appear adequate for the number of rooms.La Scalinatella had great views although was a bit more isolated than the others. They also would not take a booking for 3 nights.

We had a great time at Hotel Luna. They arranged a private boat tour of the island for 150 Euros which was the bst 150 Euros I spent on the trip. Whilst the blue grotto was closed , that did not stop my 22 year old daughter and myself diving off our boat and swimming into it. We had the grotto to ourselves and was an experience I will never forget. I did not know that the blue grotto is often closed due to tides or winds which make the entrance very small. There is a chain that you can hold onto whilst you swim in . If you are told it is closed but are doing a private boat tour and you are able to swim about 25m , have the boat driver stop and DO IT !!!!!!

Capri was probably the highlight of my trip and that was in no small part due to Hotel Luna. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would undoubtedly stay there again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank McLee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks to you and to your friend that have recommended the Hotel Luna. It is prohibited and a bit dangerous the swimming in the Blue Grotto.. but you are right ... it's amazing! Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    92
    18
    13
    3
See reviews for
91
230
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed 6 days at this fabulous hotel. Our room was a very nice, clean ,king size bed, with an additional single bed and a balcony view of the Faraglioni rocks. The breakfast buffet was huge, with omelets, fruit, cereal, breads, meats, pound cakes, and cheese. It was more than we could eat and it was complimentary. The pool area was fabulous, lots of pool chairs, a bar , and lunch was served. Walking to and from the hotel was breathtaking, with floral gardens filling the landscape. Each morning we walked out to our balcony to see the many boats and yachts anchored below. If you want to stay in a luxury hotel, the hotel luna is the choice!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the faraglioni rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and compliments for your smart way to enjoy our places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Hotel Luna is in a central location in Capri, about 5 mins walk from the main square. It is located within large grounds therefore the hotel is very quiet at night and has amazing views over the ocean, some the best we saw during our stay.

Some people mentioned the interior is quite dated and it maybe is a little but the rooms were a good size, very clean with a small/medium outdoor balcony. The breakfast was very good including lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt, pasteries, breads etc and you could also order eggs if you wanted.

The pool area was nice and not that crowded when we visited. There was plenty of sun loungers and a nice sized pool. There is also a poolside restaurant and bar.

When arriving in Capri the best way is to get to the hotel is to get the cable car up from where the boats come in (cost about 2 euros pp) and then it is just a short 5 min walk to the hotel.

Overall we would definitely stay here again and recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissathrupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We look forward to your return here in Capri, as promised. Best wishes and many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Hotel Luna in Capri was a wonderful hotel. Capri is full of tourists on the streets. Hotel Luna has an amazing view of the ocean and you feel very secluded from the hustle and bustle of the streets. The rooms were very clean. Our room was a little on the sparse side as far as decor, but our balcony and view made the stay amazing. The pool area was beautiful and our lunch by the pool was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krismurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest, we send you our thanks for your words, we also have pleasure in saying that we have renewed the furniture in many rooms, and if you'll come back to Capri, you will have even more comforts. Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The Luna is an elegant, convenient hotel with a distinctive charm having breathtaking panoramic views of the natural splendor of the Mediterranean's sharp cliffs and to the stunning Faraglioni! It is ideally situated in vibrant, exciting Capri city, merely a short walk to the famous town Piazza where aperitif and dining choices abound in a charming evening setting favored by locals. Yet, Luna itself is very quiet and peaceful due to it's location and surrounding private gardens. It is elegantly decorated and features an exceptional dining experience, a relaxing & picturesque outdoor pool, and is the absolute ultimate in gracious hospitality. Their assistance in arranging Capri arrival/departures is more than deluxe and indicative of their close attention to every detail!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
With pleasure we read your appreciation of our attention to detail.
No "relax" just because we are on a beautiful island, we try to generate quality for Guests, even through some small daily attentions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
241 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We spent 2 nights here and it couldn't have been more perfect! our room had a spectacular view of the famous Faraglioni (natural rock formations in the sea) and was so lovely, we had dinner out on the terrace there one night! The staff is gracious, helpful and formal but not stiff. The grounds are tranquil and lush - with long winding tree-lined pathway to the hotel's entrance. It's rated a 4 star, but was nothing less than a 5 star experience!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truthbetold_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for the 5 stars rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Luna for 5 days with husband and Baby. I was a little worried about how baby-friendly it would be, but infact the staff were very welcoming and super helpful. Like idiots we forgot our baby's favourite teddy bear in the hotel room, they couriered it back to us in the UK and would not accept any money for this which was amazingly kind!

The views from the room are awesome, room was big and sparkling clean, with lovely local ceramic patterned tiles on the floor. Breakfast had a good variety of choice, and had a high chair available. There is a reading room with books available to borrow in it also. The pool is big and again sparkling clean. We did not dine at the hotel in the evenings but the lunches by the pool very extremely good, particuarly the grilled sole.

We have no hesitation in recommending it. It is not cheap but hey, it's Capri.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Nothing is more important than a child’s favorite little bear … young people grow and tomorrow they will bring with them other best friends! Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#7 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.3 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna

Property: Hotel Luna
Address: Viale Giacomo Matteotti 3, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Capri
#6 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#7 Family Hotel in Capri
#9 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can be in no other place than Capri’s Hotel Luna. “Tell me if there is another spectacle on earth which can compare with this” wrote Alexandre Dumas as he gazed at the Faraglioni rocks way back in 1816. “No, there isn’t” you instinctively want to answer, as you sit on the sweeping terrace of Hotel Luna, watching the setting sun paint the legendary sea stacks a shade of fiery red, or stroll through the gardens on a summer evening, in the silvery light of the Capri moon. Watching the sun rising over the sea, whiling away a morning lazing by the pool, relishing a delicious lunch of insalata caprese and fresh fruit, taking a spot of exercise in the panoramic fitness corner, enjoying a candlelit dinner overlooking the Faraglioni, savoring a bottle of wine with that special someone on the terrace of your room. Can you imagine a better way to spend the day? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing