We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Il Geranio

Ristorante Il Geranio
Ranked #5 of 122 Restaurants in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was not our first visit to Il Geranio. We enjoyed it and the food was good. There were some unusual items on the menu and something for everyone. The staff is very nice and convenient if you are staying in Capri.
There is an amazing view from either inside or outside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    299
    102
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEW, FOOD AVERAGE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

As they say, you cannot eat the view!! The food was well prepared, but nothing spectacular for the cost. Two of us spent 158 euros for dinner, which include a 15% service charge, which they try not to show you. Scrutinize your bill before leaving a tip (if you are so inclined). The ambiance is outstanding. The view - could not get better. The server - watch out. The one we had, even though very nice and spoke very good English, was overly helpful. We found ourselves ordering an addition course we really did not need (even though it was tasty). The portions are sufficient for two courses. Pasta shared and possibly the main shared depending on your appetite. We started with an octopus salad and then shared a green pasta with clams and mushrooms. For our main course we shared a Snapper Capri Style. They bring the fish for you to select, cook it and then clean it for you. In our experience one that weighs 700 grams is more than enough to share. We also had wine which the server helped to select - 40 euros - average price for a decent bottle of wine. The meal was very tasty, and worth the visit. Glad we got there, but we feel once was enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Love-Italy-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ristorante Il Geranio Capris - Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Ate here one night we stayed on Capris on our honeymoon. This place had been recommended to us by a local and am so glad he did.
The food was really, really good, excellent quality and I loved it. We had eaten and stayed in Relais Blu in Massa Lubrense the previous night which is Michelin star but Il Geranio was a thousand times better.
The restaurant is in a lovely quiet location and our Polish waiter was excellent. He recommended a really lovely wine and made is laugh an awful lot.
If I am ever on Capris again I will definitely eat here again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carversville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overlook I Faraglioni from a treehouse restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

WOW! We ate here 2 nights. The first we had a late night selection of appetizers. Super Carpaccio, delicious melon with prosiccutto, and seafood. The waiter was attentive and friendly. The second night was spectacular as we had the table at the edge overlooking I Faraglioni with the full moon shining over the sea. The waiter this evening was charming, and recommended the Branzino - delizioso!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RADandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Possibly the best restaurant in Capri. Delicious food, great service and good value for Capri. Their handmade green pasta with clams and porcini mushrooms (I forget the actual name) is absolutely fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 14352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Geranio also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Ristorante Il Geranio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing