We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb fish, superb views, leisurely and romantic”

Ristorante Il Geranio
Ranked #6 of 120 Restaurants in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superb fish, superb views, leisurely and romantic”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have enjoyed our best meal yet in Capri here. Our hotel kindly made a booking for an outside terrace table for 8:30pm on a Sunday evening. After a lacklustre start, we were eventually given an excellent table.

Our waiters were excellent, friendly, helpful and mildly theatrical. Most importantly, however, the food was simply superb! Our recommended highlights were the mixed seafood risotto (best I've had so far in my life) and the grilled catch of the day (red snapper) expertly filleted and served with a light tomato flavoured sauce (also cooked with expertise and a light touch).

If you come during daylight, you have the bonus of enjoying wonderful views of the Faraglioni rocks. A great location if you are near Via Krupp and that part of Capri. Not a place to come for a quick meal but a definite yes if you are looking for a leisurely and romantic evening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    351
    113
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best in Capri!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews and wanted to try it, it was a hard decision with so many options and only one day to explore the island. I am glad we did! We got the best table right in front of the Faraglioni, the food was to die for and excellent service.
Thank you Geranio for an amazing time!
We'll see you soon!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Food looks good but made us wait 40 minutes, I thought I was going to die of old age. I finally left with a furious girlfriend and went to Edode which was remarkable!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nradice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ahhhhmazimg food and place!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I am really trying not to be biased here but ohmygosh! Food in il geranio is just simply amazing! I love the autenthic taste of all the dishes there! The paccherini seafood pasta or something, the green pasta witv mushrooms, the grilled fish of the dayy, the calamari was sooo good! Had the risotto too, guess it was okay, needed more salt- but hey maybe its preference. Service was good, place was already half packed by 7ish.. Thats why we couldnt get a table at 8 so we went early. GREAT VIEW facing faraglioni! A must a must!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louieliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Special place”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our hotel recommended this place as well as some others and we actually passed it earlier that day while visiting Capri. Having seen the location, we decided to book immediately.
This was our anniversary dinner and wanted something special, and we were not disappointed. We were given a table inside and were initially disappointed we couldn't be on the terrace, but in hindsight this was a good thing, as the views are much better from inside. We had a table right by the panoramic window, which was open and let in a lovely breeze. The service was exceptionally friendly and they brought me a special desert with a sparkler for the anniversary, which was a lovely touch.
The food was great. We couldn´t decide on a starter so they put a bit of everything on a plate for us. It was all very fresh and tasty.
The whole experience was lovely and special. One of those places you will remember in 20 years time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcelonaBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Geranio also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Ristorante Il Geranio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing