We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Il Geranio

Ristorante Il Geranio
Ranked #5 of 122 Restaurants in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best food in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Booked this online prior to our vacation for my husband's "special" birthday. Our waiter, Giovianni was pleasant, witty and very attentive. The views of il Fargaflioni were beyond words: spectacular, alluring, beautiful. The food was absolutely delicious; I ordered a seafood/sausage appetizer in parchment paper with a main course of homemade green pasta with clams. My husband was demurely surprised (as was I) when presented with a sparkler candle in his chocolate torte dessert (compliments of Giovianni) for his birthday. A must visit. Thanks again, Giovianni!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karmablu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    299
    102
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great lunch with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I arrived early for lunch and had a perfect table at the edge of the patio overlooking the Gardens of Augustus and one of the grottoes in the Mediterranean. A perfectly lovely spot to sip wine, enjoy a very tasty simply grilled sea bream, and relish the view that will remain delightfully embedded in memory. When we finished lunch other diners were vying for our table at the edge of the patio. The wait staff was very helpful -- my wife has food allergies. Decent wine list. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mot9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Loved the food here. Our risotto was the best we had in Italy. Also tried a fish carpacio, did not even now such a thing existed, Fantastic. Recommended by our hotel, but was packed with Italians. Nice Patio.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank josh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful people, Five star view, Three star food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Think waiters in bow ties, beautiful setting. Mix of Italian families, Russian billionaires, people yachting into town, and tourists. It felt slightly over priced but possibly worth it for the venue. Nice wine list although priced accordingly. Dishes are very small as the expectation is that you will do a proper ordering of the requisite courses. Request to sit outside on the terrace (must do). Overall, this place is good but food a bit overhyped. One of the bigger bills we had in Capri, however if you feel like getting a bit dressed up and dining with the beautiful people, this is one of the best places to go on the island.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank aj j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

staff attentive if not a little overbearing but the food was excellent and compared to other good quality Capri restaurants good value. Nice view

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mimramtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Geranio also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Ristorante Il Geranio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing