We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Edode - CLOSED

Edode
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horrible tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

After travelling throughout Italy for 2 weeks, my last stop was Capri. I was already prepared for the high prices, but my food expectations still remain high as my experiences thoughout Italy have been great.
Unfortunately, this restaurant tries to lure you in with its Italian charm, but it is all smoke and mirrors. The pasta felt like it was from a can, the caprese was below standard. My husband ordered the chicken caesar salad for 16 euros, and it was insulting and disgusting. It was the smallest portion for a toddler, with only iceberg lettuce and a few dry pieces of chicken.. Then the have the nerve to charge 15% service charge and also a cover charge on top of that... How do you charge 15% service charge when there was barely any service! The owner was obnoxious and blasting loud music, so you can only imagine how fast we wanted to get out of there and never come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EVCH1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    75
    36
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sibenik, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

By reading these reviews I decided to write one. Husband and I had dinner there, on my demand becouse he thouth it is to fancy.
We walked around Capri and all the restaurants were reserved, so we came to Edoda. We asked for a table for two, we've got no reservations. We were dressed very normally, unlike other guests, an ordinary t-shirt, pants and havaianas. None of the servants looked at us wrong, and we did not feel weird about it. We ordered a tuna steak, meat steak, a salad, a glass of wine and 2 beer. The food was perfect. Meat and tuna were perfectly cooked. After a delicious meal so we had to order dessert, creme brulee and semifredo who were equally good.
On the end this dinner we paid about 150 euros and we were not regret a cent, not even those supplements on the account. The waiters were more than polite and we fell very comfortable dining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BiM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Creative and worth it,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

After 6 nights in positano and Capri, this restaurant offered a creative take on the usual favorites. Excellent bottle of wine for 35 Euros-deep fried cod and caprese salad were outstanding. The music and attentive service is a nice touch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulMary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
184 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Restaurant at Via Camerelle with tables inside and outside. The menu has traditional local dishes and a surprising Baked Codfish. Also fried fingers Codfish for starter is a good option. Wide wine selection at affordable prices. The table outside in the gazebo are not very confortable, but has its glamour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Racedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Beutifully decorated and in good accessible location. A family visit prompted us to dine there for lunch. Fairly typical Capril prices (wine from €28/bottle for example) and food was very good and not over-priced for central Capri town. Near panoramic footpath but not direct se views per se. Highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAscea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edode also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing