We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place”
Review of Il Piccolo

Il Piccolo
Ranked #45 of 124 Restaurants in Capri
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Il Piccolo is a historical cafe in the famous Piazzetta of Capri, now completely renewed. It offers a variety of coffee, aperitifs, snacks, pastries, cakes and light lunch served at the tables in the square or in the interior spaces. It is the ideal place to spend your time relaxing with your love or with friends, enjoying the whole glamorous atmosphere of Capri island.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

Expensive, very poor service, birds flying all around you to catch something to eat. It could be the best spot in Capri and it is for a drink. However, we ordered a salad with tuna, tomatoes and greens and received a salad with corn and greens in a bowl for dog. We returned it, not without the disagreement of the staff that came back with the same salad in witch someone added, apparently, some tuna. We were still not happy, showing the waiter with the pictures of their own food list, but there was nothing to do and the salad stayed there. When was time to pay, the waiter was not there and we had to pay anyway for the salad. But again, the credit card reader was not working, apparently and after I entered my codes, (I check my accounts since then) and I finally paid cash. Surprise, when we left, a few meters away, our waiter came back on the scene. Still, up to you to go there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria_Capri, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Piccolo, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018
Google Translation

Gentile Lise M,

se davvero è accaduto quello che voi descrivete, per noi è motivo di dispiacere e ci scusiamo con voi. Piccoli incidenti capitano in ogni servizio, è vero, ma assolutamente siamo organizzati per offrire la migliore accoglienza ai nostri Ospiti, dunque rimaniamo davvero attoniti questa volta.
Sperando in una prossima più felice occasione, porgiamo saluti
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 238 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2017

The bar is located in the main square in Capri town and is furnished exactly the same as the other bars there… and thousands of other places throughout Southern Europe. It was a quiet Wednesday evening in October so not much in the way of an atmosphere.

We sat for quite a while before we were able to order some drinks and then waited longer before they came. The waiter was courteous and delivered our two glasses of Greco di Tufo, some nibbles to go along with them and a bill of €18. Fortunately we didn’t have time to have a second.

The prices were expected to be high however we were also expecting something a bit more classy and some ambiance but went away disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rantinrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria_Capri, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Piccolo, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018
Google Translation

Gentile Rantin rover,

La vostra esperienza poteva essere migliore, ma speriamo che torniate ancora a Capri e possiate apprezzare il Piccolo completamente rinnovato! Abbiamo fatto un gran lavoro proprio per donare al locale l'aspetto più consono alla sua tradizione e alla posizione nella piazza di Capri!

Grazie
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

Expensive lunch, 7 Euro for a tea. Need we say more. Good location friendly staff.

Ordered tuna sandwich, pizza, and two other panini type of sandwiches. Food arrived quickly wife liked her tuna sandwich although for 9 EUR you would more than two qtrs. The others who had the panini type sandwiches were not impressed and my pizza was a frozen job shoved in oven.

Thank foodwhisperer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria_Capri, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Piccolo, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018
Google Translation

Gentile foodwhisperer2016,

La Vostra recensione ci spinge a fare ancora meglio e crediamo di essere nella direzione giusta: nel 2018 il Piccolo è completamente rinnovato nell'architettura e nel menù. tornate a trovarci!

Grazie
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

Bought two coffees and pastry from the bar today for 7 euro and when I paid I was told I could go sit in the seats out front and enjoy it. Five minutes later I was delivered a bill for 9 euro more for sitting in the chairs I was invited to please sit in. Ridiculous. Steer clear of this place.

Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria_Capri, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il Piccolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017
Google Translation

Gentile Thomas P,

ci scusiamo molto del frainteso che si è creato. Anche nel nostro bar, come ovunque, vi sono tariffe differenti tra il consumo al banco e il consumo al tavolo che sono evidenziati con tariffari esposti visibilmente e giustificati dalla differenza di servizio necessario per le due modalità. Chiederemo al personale di sala di essere ancora più attento su questo aspetto, perché non vi siano più fraintesi di tal fatta che imbarazzano sia il cliente sia noi.
Grazie comunque per averci dato modo di spiegarci.
Cordialità
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

We were told by our guide the bar didn't mind us using the rest facilities so after walking round Capri Town we stopped here for drinks. They were eye wateringly expensive but that should be expected in major tourist destination in one of the worlds greatest beauty spots. The staff were pleasant which is refreshing in such a busy place. Usually they try and move you on a quickly as possible. The outdoor tables are under sunshades and the crowds pass right by them so people watching is part of the pleasure.
Would recommend a drink here as part of a visit to Capri just for the ambience and buzz.

Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria_Capri, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il Piccolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017
Google Translation

Gentile Toni G,
il nostro Staff Le è grato della cortese opinione e siamo lieti che abbia consigliato la sosta da noi come tappa del tour caprese. Effettivamente siamo ormai parte della storia dell'isola e cerchiamo di rendere piacevole la sosta anche nei momenti di maggior affollamento. L'aspettiamo ancora al Suo ritorno.
Cordialità
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Piccolo also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Il Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing