We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant!”

Da Paolino Lemon Trees
Ranked #15 of 120 Restaurants in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $92 - $185
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dinner in a magnificent and quiet lemon garden. Selection of local products Buffet of seafood. Meats and fishes grilled Selection of meat, aged in a fridge with Himalaya-pink salt Home-made cakes, wild berries and iceCream Now it is closed for the season Opening on April 2017
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best restaurant!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went twice as we adored this place - great atmosphere and delicious food...including a dessert room!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Purbecks68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    368
    180
    84
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Somewhat overrated.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good for groups of 8 or more (there were five tables of 10+ the night we went). It is certainly not a romantic lemon grove. A bit too kitschy for my taste. Food was average not great. Waitstaff seemed frantic, which did not help the atmosphere. Overall it wasn't terrible, but I really wouldn't rush to go back or recommend to others. Staff pleasant, though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning atmosphere, salty prices.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This restaurant is clearly one of the most famous in Capri, and obviusly, that comes with a price. It is relatively far from the town center, which only means you have to add the cost of a taxi. The area is a little sketchy looking, especially because the taxi driver drops you a short walk away from the actual entrance, but it is perfectly safe and boy is it worth the trip!
Just the ambiance is incredible, candles hanging from lemon trees, entrance hall with statues and little lounge areas to the main dining room which looks spectacular. It is completely covered with treetops packed with lemons (at least they were during my visit).
They offer too buffets which patrons should be aware of, a seafood-themed antipasto buffet with numerous options and a desert buffet, which looks incredibly appetizing.
The prices are high, it is true: I ordered one dish of pasta that cost 31 euros, although it wasn't the cheapest one on the menu (nor the most expensive), but portions are generous and I was pleasantly surprised to see that the wine list includes options for all budgets (well... maybe not a back-packer's budget, but if you're back-packing that's not the place for you).
We were a five-top table, and made sure to order a variety of dishes, so we could taste as much as possible an as far as the pasta dishes go, we were not disappointed. All the pasta dishes we tasted were phenomenal, and the portions were large enough for too people to share.
Honestly, the second courses of fish were a bit of a let-down. I understand the italian way of cooking fish (I've lived here for over 7 years), but the flavour impact is underwhelming, especially if compared to the first courses... Moreover, the prices are those of gourmet restaurants, whereas the fish is cooked in the most basic of ways. It's great, fresh product, but the technique in the cooking is solid, yet elementary and uncreative.
If your budget can take the hit (and you don't need to be a millionaire, either) it is definitely worth a visit. I advise against the buffets, they look better than they taste and are a little overpriced. Just share an appetizer from the menu and pick a dish of pasta, because it's the best they have to offer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Everything is just great. Products are super fresh, the ambiance is terrific... there's nothing that could have been done better. To finish... the desert room is just spectacular.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The atmosphere was perfection, the service was nice, but we were surprised by their prices. Definitely above what you would expect to have to pay for pasta or steak. I would recommend a visit for the dessert buffet and coffee . . . enjoy the atmosphere without breaking the bank!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Paolino Lemon Trees also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Da Paolino Lemon Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing