We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa La Terrazza 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Terrazza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Terrazza
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Villa La Terrazza 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Villa La Terrazza is the perfect place to stay in Southern Italy. Located near downtown Sorrento and along the Amalfi Coast this is by far the best Villa in Sorrento. Close to all downtown shops, restaurants, and the train & bus station for trips to Pompeii, Mt. Vesuvius, and Herculaneum. Views from the patio are more than amazing. Take the sailboat along the coast or the speed boat to Capri and enjoy a wonderful lunch with gorgeous views. Andrea and his family were more than helpful throughout the week. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    33
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
101
88
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our family of 4 had a fantastic stay here. The views were unbelievable from every which way even just looking out my bedroom window. Andrea is a very pleasant guy with a great disposition although we found that his focus is on his excursions instead of apartment improvement. We didnt mind it much because its setting had the most beauty I have ever seen and super convenience. This location is a great home base to all attractions, stores and restaurants. There are a few slight down sides that I must mention- Our doors did not lock or close. Even though its perfectly safe, we didnt want to leave anything important in the rooms (like our passports) so my husband and I carried around all our valuables wherever we went. On one occasion, we came home late at night to a swinging open door to find a cat sitting on our kitchen chair. We just laughed it off. There were only 2 towels given to us in 3 days. There were 4 of us. They were changed the day we were checking out. I had to do a small load of laundry for clean towels and personal items but the power circuit blows every 10 min. and I have to keep running outside to reset power. It was a bit noisy because its near a road that leads to the dock and buses honk the horns as they round the corner. It was my wake up alarm. Who would want to sleep the day away? Andrea says he is working on improving Villa LaTerrazza but the old world charm it has will bring me back. Dont expect super luxury accommodations, but do expect a luxury view with a charming host. Definitely do Andreas excursion to Capri, and if he takes his daughter Elza, you're in for a treat. I wanted to take her home with me. I still highly recommend this place. I give it a 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joannelcoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Amazing views over bay with backdrop of Vesuvius. Host Andrea extremely friendly and helpful. Perfect for exploring Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius and Amalfi coast. Very close to all restaurants and bars. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: With hindsight we would request an apartment on first floor. We were on ground floor which, althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliza6644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

thankyou Andrea and family for another stunning visit arranging our transport, and superb boat trips to various inlets and spring water waterfall for cool swimming, bluewater caves, a complete tour around Capri stopping at Tiberius beach for a few hours, relaxing on sun loungers with food and drink, swimming in the Roman pool with intact Roman construction in parts still visible. on returning we saw sparkling on the surface a large shoal of tuna, (Dolphins on a previous visit.)
There is now another visitor to Villa Terrazza an elegant collared dove nesting in the tall palm tree outside our apartment who has found the most deightful location in Sorrento.
























0

Room Tip: our family and friends have stayed in all the different apartments over the years all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were drawn to the beauty of La Terrazza. How can you not be? The soft yellow villa with the cheerful blue and white terrace which embraces and welcomes you to the mesmerizing views of the rugged mountain cliffs that drop dramatically into the deep blue Mediterranean. It is strikingly beautiful and you simply cannot get enough of it. The rooms are filled with family heirlooms and antiquities that take you back in time…

However, it’s not just the beauty, but the spirit and family of La Terrazza that gets you. It’s the history of the villa and the romantic love story behind it. Your host Andrea, the hardest working man in Sorrento, always happy, always smiling, the epitome of “it’s all good”, the contagious free spirit, the man you wish you could be like but you can’t!, who pulls it all together, connects the past with the present and welcomes and grants you access to his family and La Terrazza. It’s about watching your kids play with Giovanni, Elsa and Francesca in the evenings, it’s about jumping into the blue grotto and hanging out with the luckiest house cat in all of Sorrento. It’s Brazilian boom booms and life-long memories. It’s about visiting the family you didn’t know you had in Sorrento. Thanks so much.

We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julsandcalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierrefonds, Quebec
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were 5 girlfriends in our 60s travelling Italy and stayed 5 days at Villa Paradise, which is part of Villa Terrazza. At our arrival in Sorrento, Andrea, the manager, picked us up at the train station. He was absolutely a pleasure to deal with. As he lives in the villa La Terrazza, up above, he was always there to help us.
You cannot ask for a better location in Sorrento. The ferries going to Capri and the Amalfi Coast are just below and you can take an elevator back up for 1 Euro. The train station is less than 10 min. walk. The center of town is a 2 min. walk but you do not hear any street noises. The view is to die for. You overlook the Bay of Naples, the Vesuvia and have magnificent sunsets every night while having a candlelight supper or enjoying a glass of wine on the balcony.
As Paradise in built in the cliff, it is a bit echo and the access is not direct from the outside. There are 2 rooms overlooking the Bay and 3 single beds that have no windows. If you want to cook meals, you may miss a bit of cookware but Andrea will be happy to accommodate you.
We all have enjoyed very much our stay. It was an overall great experience and would go back to this little bit of paradise. We only wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpicySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

spent 7 nights and i can tell you that the little things like toilet paper and towels are hard to come by! that being said , it was otherwise amazing!
the views are the greatest i have ever seen...the location on one side is the sea and the other is the perfect town of sorrento
-but the greatest asset is andrea and his family! he took my family on his boat with his family and was thrilled to do so...actually he insisted that we come!
-he also took us another day on a complete trip arround the ridiculous island of capri (the most beautiful piece of land i have ever seen!)
his wife and children are beautiful people inside and out and we truly enjoyed everything about the stay! it is hard for me to explain the stay--i can say that the combination of the place , and andrea's amazing array of boats to take excursions (every day if you choose) and the fact that you feel like you are staying at a relatives home and not a hotel , made this a perfect getaway for me! it was amazing! i'm still having a tough time adjusting to home lfe and work because i just cannot get the trip off my mind! thank you andrea and family!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank tiger0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Terrazza

Property: Villa Terrazza
Address: Via Luigi de Maio 38, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best location in the center of Town, overlooking the bay of Napoli with a fantastic large terrace and pool with private parking.Villa Terrazza is the known for is location and easy access to the beach. The bar and the best restaurants ore one minute away walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Terrazza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Terrazza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing