We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ROOM WITH A GREAT VIEW”
Review of Marina Piccola 73

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Piccola 73
Ranked #11 of 139 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GUERNSEY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A ROOM WITH A GREAT VIEW”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

After a long journey Roberta's genuine friendly welcome was much appreciated. The view from our window across the harbour to Versuvius was outstanding and the location is ideal for the ferry to Capri, the lift to central Sorrento and an excellent nearby restaurant. Our fellow guests were also delighted with this find. What a shame we did not have longer to laze on the roof terrace. Had we known more about this suberb B&B we would have planned a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MASKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    67
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
37
226
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

After some difficulty in locating the hotel and a bit of a chuckle when we realized there was no way we would be able to drive our car around that corner to her parking space, we were enchanted to walk up the path to this charming mansion-type building built into the base of a cliff. Our room was large with large beautiful windows overlooking the sea. The staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was very good. Roberta helped us with parking through a close by hotel and that worked out quite well. We used this as our base for a day trip down the Amalfi coast...and one day we went to Capri (the boats to Capri are literally outside the door). We ate all our dinners at restaurants within walking distance and enjoyed the food and ambiance. After driving through Sorrento (oh, my), I'm glad we chose this location to stay--away from the crowds and traffic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CasaFlamboyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

With all fussy overpriced accommodations to be found in Sorrento, Marina Piccola 73 is a welcoming breath of fresh air... Situated at the base of the cliff and overlooking the harbour, it's fascinating to watch the ferries hustle the tourists off to the island of Capri, Positano and Amalfi as you have breakfast from your rooftop patio - and across the Bay of Naples rises Mount Vesuvius.!!

If, like we are, you are NOT looking for the concierge, swimming pool and big screen TV for your Amalfi vacation, this is a perfect location to do all day trips by boat or easy access to the train station for Pompei or Naples. Yes, its a really old mansion and not the easiest to find as many reviews say, but once there, it's a wonderful renovated B&B with Roberta and her helpful staff that will also direct you to some of the best local seafood restaurants in town..!!

Roberta is also in the process of renovating several additional rooms which will make availability better. We would definitely return if back in Sorrento.!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTravellerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robySorrento, Proprietario at Marina Piccola 73, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your kindly review. I'm happy that you were well in my B&B. My staff and I try to make our guest feel at home. I hope to accomodate you again next year in my renewed B&B with several additional seaview rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked a room with see views, and requested a firm bed, as my spine has been reconstructed. We were given a room with a 1foot x 2 foot window, only one person at a time could see the sea. The room was painted in so many ugly colours it felt like we were in a kaleidoscope. We spoke to another guest , who also paid for a sea view. She invited us into her room. A large tree blocked 90% of what would have been a sea view, many years ago. Hotel is now in a good location, it is located about 1 km, then down 350 steps from the main street in Sprrento. The beds were incredibly uncomfortable. Breakfast very basic. We changed hotels after one night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marellalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked what we thought would be romantic four days in sea view room. We asked for a supportive mattress. We were dumped in a pathetic room with a small 2 foot x 1 foot room window that you had to strain your neck to see the sea. The bed was pathetic, I advised I could not sleep on it and was told I would have to as they thought I wanted a saggy old bed! We were told we could move to a room with a supportive bed after one night , by which time I will hardly be able to walk after first night. Room offered second night has lovely view of tree, not sea! Do not pre pay this hotel, if you do they dump you in worst rooms, they did have rooms with good sea views, but although that is what we paid for , it was not what we were given. Dishonest owner/ operator . We wll recommend to avoid this hotel to all who ask.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richardclarke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

What a great ,quirky and lovely place to stay.Just 4 rooms all with individual style and design.Ours had lovely big windows overlooking the Marina.Very friendly and helpful staff and the roof garden where breakfast was served was lovely.So much nicer than a large impersonal hotel.Would definitely recommend it and would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robySorrento, Proprietario at Marina Piccola 73, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad that you have had a good jorney in our B&B Marina Piccola 73.
We hope to see you soon.
Ciao
Roberta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, NH
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Marina Piccola 73 B & B fronts on the Mediterranean Sea overlooking Sorrento harbor. At night the ocean waves will help you go to sleep. There is an outdoor restaurant near the B&B that can be a little noisy until it closes. The view from our room took in the harbor and in the distance you can see the City of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius. The B & B we were told is over 1,000 years old. Modern accommodations and tastefully decorated. The host was very friendly and accommodating. There is parking available, but be prepared to be guided in, otherwise you may end up going off the wharf into the water.

The location is about 500 feet (vertical cliff) below the town. To access the town by foot, walk across the parking lot and follow the trail along the base of the cliffs by the beach clubs. There you will see what looks like a cave. If you enter the cave you will find a lift that will take you up the cliff or you can take the steps. At the top is a beautiful park. Be aware the park closes at 9PM and there is no access to the lift or steps after that time. You can also walk the auto road. Sorrrento is full of shops of every description.

From the wharf in front of the B&B are ferries offering transportation to the Isle of Capri. This is a beautiful island and a must visit.

From Sorrento we took a train to Pompeii. Its a convenient an inexpensive way to travel there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hhadaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robySorrento, Proprietario at Marina Piccola 73, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad that the ocean waves have helped you go to sleep.
From June the park is opened untill 1 a.m.
We hope to see you soon.
Ciao
Roberta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Piccola 73? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Piccola 73

Property: Marina Piccola 73
Address: Via Marina Piccola 75, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Marina Piccola 73 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Piccola 73 Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing