We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic Setting”
Review of L'Antica Trattoria

L'Antica Trattoria
Ranked #11 of 285 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Romantic Setting”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

For a very traditional Italian feel this restaurant nails it. With a great romantic vibe and attentive service. The food is very good and for Sorrento reasonably priced. The home made bread and fish dishes were our favorite. As a tip visit the shop across the way to look at the handmade wooden jewelry boxes. The older couple is a delight! The husband is the craftsman and the wife is very social. It was our favorite interaction while in Sorrento.

Helpful?
Thank DanDebHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,442
    643
    224
    124
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of our most memorable dining experiences in Italy!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and decided to go there with my dad and sister because it had an incredible number of reviews and over four stars. I was so glad we went! We visited during off-season so it was pretty empty but we had such an enjoyable dining experience here with a four course meal plus little freebies (like a potato croquette and biscuits with our espresso). I got the Symphony (land) meal and my dad and sister got the Harmony (seafood) meal. Both dinners were lovely but some dishes to highlight were my pasta dish (homemade linguine with tender beef ragout in a cream sauce), their fresh fish, and my pork loin. The waiter spoke very good English and gave us nice descriptions of each course. A superb dining experience overall and I recommend this restaurant if you want a relaxing, tasty dinner and are willing to spend a few extra euro :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovegoodeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great dining experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went on the recommendation of a friend . Much larger than it first looks . Service was first rate .
The portions were perfect though as other comments suggest , that some dishes tended to be saltier than need be . Food was delicious . I've paid more for less in Canada so I thought the prices for food and wine quite reasonable . Would recommend !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim_86944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A Memorable Dining Experience”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife, adult daughter and I were in Sorrento and L'Antica Trattoria was recommended by our hotel. We loved the impeccable service (especially that of Salvatore) and the atmosphere. We found about half our dishes to be too heavily salted and that detracted from the experience. The others were very good. The portions were a good size; not too large. The prices are on the high side, particularly the wines. The desserts were just so-so.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheiksan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good but not deserving of the highest rating in Sorrento”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was a deceptively large establishment doing a roaring trade, with successive waves of diners coming in. It was therefore possibly struggling a little bit with the volume of its own success - even in late season October. The food was good quality, as was the service, but not tremendously memorable. Had we not eaten at Il Buco's (a 'cheffy', top class establishment) and Inn Bufalito (comfortably friendly and better value), this would have rated higher. I can easily imagine being more impressed if we'd eaten at lesser establishments in Sorrento before 'discovering' this one (having done our reviews carefully!) So this was well worth eating at but it doesn't totally justify what is/was its current TripAdvisor 'top spot' rating for Sorrento. This is still a Good Review!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank honestobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Antica Trattoria also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to L'Antica Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing