We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sorrento” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museobottega della Tarsialignea

Museobottega della Tarsialignea
Ranked #21 of 83 things to do in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“sorrento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

some beautiful handmade products like wood pictures and furniture all painted & polished up some great workmanship

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank claire k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    70
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Unique artistic sorrento experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had a private 8hour practical intarsia workshop at Museobottega della Tarsialignea with curator/founder & artist; Alessandro Fiorentinoit, it was awesome!!!; I designed & made 4 intarsia artworks; Alessandro helped me with designing & choosing colours. Another man (can't remember his name) showed me all the steps in cutting & putting together the artwork & I was able to have ago myself. workshop was 160 euros which is a lot-however for a private workshop with an amazing artist I think it was a fare price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hazey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The museum is a little hard to find: for all that it showcases Sorrento's artistic heritage, it's not very well signposted.
First obstacle over, we entered and found the museum to be housed in an old townhouse not at all like that in the main photo, which is a grander view of Sorrento in general. The house isn't small by any means, but the photo is not representative.
The exhibits are beautiful: they show a wonderful level of craftsmanship and detail, but age has not been kind to some of the items. There are opportunities to view designer's sketches and articles about some of the exhibits, but I was not able to fully appreciate these, as my Italian is limited.
I agree with other reviewers in that watching examples of craftsmanship would enhance the experience, but as the museum is in the middle of the 'craft quarter' of Sorrento, modern craftsmen can be seen nearby.
We didn't experience the pushy salesperson approach from the curator: the museum shop was small and choice was limited. What was obviously for sale was contemporary design, which didn't interest me. There was a cafe downstairs, but it was closed on our visit, as was what looked like a small auditorium.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was interesting to a point but so pushing you to buy it spoilt the experience... very expensive.Did find some of the work amazing you cannot say anything else but demonstrations and have a go demos would have been great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank I J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

A charming building and wonderful art inside.Wonderful wood pieces and other rare and exciting hings to look at.
The outside of the building is stunning too.Well worth a good look about

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank poodlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museobottega della Tarsialignea also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Museobottega della Tarsialignea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing