We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“make sure you look down...”

Il Vallone dei Mulini
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.30*
and up
Small Group Walking Tour in Sorrento
Ranked #14 of 84 things to do in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Matera, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“make sure you look down...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

i did not notice this place first time I went to sorrento because it was not visible unless someone took you all the way.... make sure you go all the way to the balcony and look over... unbelievable scene.... and don't forget to read some history to understand why and how....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ReginaFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    142
    61
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fascinating and scary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Talk about a vertigo scare! Felt dizzy walking by it but was so worth it! It's a 1 or 2 minute walk from Piazza Tasso but no one would guess that there is something this unique right there.
Right there in the middle of the town, costs nothing, takes 2 minute to see....great value for the "surprise" factor!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank onetripamonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fascinating ruin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

this fascinating ruin is below street level and is so interesting. only problem no-one can go down to it. beautiful at night when coloured lights shine on it

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lainnieA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“nice to see but little information”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice to see but easy to miss. Go to the Piazza Tasso and turn left to head down past bar fauno as this should now be in your right hand side. You pass a wood shop on the right and another hotel and then get to a set of railing and it is hidden down there. If you dont know to look for it you can eaisly walk past it.
No information about it but managed to find out it was an old mill. No access to it which is a shame as there are stairs but no start to them and because it has not been maintained would now be very dangerous. Needs to have info to tell us what it is about and how it ended up to be there. A bit weird to find a random mill right down there so would be interesting to find out how the land developed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank suzky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a stunning archeological wonder. The ancient mill is located far down in a deep ravine and the end of a street in Sorrento. It is easy to miss, as we were right next to it before we looked down and saw it. It looks like a castle and is overgrown with moss and other vegetation. At night various colored lights shine on it, giving it a unique atmosphere. The locals seem to be less impressed by it, than the tourists who happen upon it. Very little information is given about it in town. We were told it was an ancient pasta making building by our taxi driver. The pictures we took of it are my favorite Italian pictures. Amazing place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vallone dei Mulini also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Il Vallone dei Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing