We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury in the heart of Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The Palazzo Guardati is a three year old boutique hotel within an historic building located within 100 meters of Sorrento's main square. The rooms are large and well appointed and the marble bathrooms are beautiful.
The rooftop bar and outdoor lounge provide stunning views of Sorrento and accross the cruise ships anchored in the Bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvius.
The desk staff were always courteous and Vittorio, who runs both the bar and the breakfast room, was especially welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Guardati
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 478 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2010

We agree with many of the reviews, but be aware of the following information. We had just stayed in 2 other 4 star Hotels in Italy and were very surprised to be charged 5 euro a piece for both a small bag of ice and the use of a safe key. The other two hotels were generous with these amenities. There was no coffee service in the room nor could we use the existing refrigerator though it was stated as an amenity.
The very loud pounding of the veal, when ordered in the restaurant, did disturb sleep.
Recommended with advance knowledge.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shortmama044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

My husband and I definitely enjoyed our 7 night stay here. The hotel was close to everything and we walked everywhere! We were warmly greeted at reception and found all the employees on the desk to be very helpful and willing to please. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. The roof top terrace was a bonus, as we had no view from our room (however, we did not spend much time in our room). Breakfast was included and we had enough to choose from each day....both hot and cold choices. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others and would book here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HMBNiagaraFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at the Palazzo Guardati for 7 nights from 1st October and had a great holiday in Sorrento. As described by other reviewers the hotel is in an excellent central location in the town close to shops and restaurants. The hotel is clean and stylish with modern facilities and all staff are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast operation is well organised by Vittorio with a good selection of items on display each morning. The roof terrace is a fantastic asset with views across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius in the distance, we used it several times to relax after trips or walks and were the only guests to do so - if you stay here please use it for the views and to unwind

If you are a light sleeper or value a good nights uninterrupted rest when on holiday you need to be aware of the only negative aspect of our stay - the noise from the alley leading to the hotel. It is narrow and connects the main square Piazza Tasso with another Piazza San Antonino and is a short cut for pedestrians and scooters at all hours and it is also home to 3 restaurants and two bars

Our room 107 was on the first floor over the front entrance and the balcony can be seen in pictures of the hotel. The noise arises from al fresco diners and drinkers until late followed by staff clearing up and leaving with good humoured shouting and departing scooters until 2am. Early deliveries and locals heading to work start from 6am and every word and sound is carried down the alley, catering staff also take their breaks here

We decided to stay put and got used to these nocturnal activities but it is important that you know in advance that a number of the hotel rooms will be affected by night time noise and you may wish to specify a quieter room higher up the building which may cost more. Would we stay again - definitely but would request a quieter room for our visit

We went on a couple of local trips - a half day to Pompeii which was an amazing experience to be amongst the ruins, with an excellent guide. The site is uneven so you need to be fairly mobile to get around and watch the weather carefully - it was a cool sunny morning at 9am but a very hot sun overhead by midday with no shade or shelter of any kind - similarly if it is raining there is no cover so be prepared. The souvenir sellers descend on departing tour groups at the site exit

We used the local bus service to visit Positano and Amalfi down the coast - buy the 24 hour ticket at 7.20 euros at the information centre next to the station off Corsa Italia. Join the queue - in the first week of October at 10.30am there were 100 people waiting for the Amalfi bus, we eventually got on the 12.00, beware of locals queue jumping and again there is no shelter from the elements

Make sure you stamp the ticket when first getting on the bus so it is validated but only do it once. The drivers will allow 20 or more people to stand and it is 45 minutes to Positano along steep roads with sharp bends, first come first served - don't expect to be offered a seat if elderly or unsteady on your feet

At Positano get off at the second stop and walk back past the bus down the hill into the town - the driver may call out the stop - we planned to have lunch and our rep had suggested we get the ferry across to Amalfi to save walking back up the hill but it had been cancelled due to strong winds so we had to catch a later bus. Fantastic views along the cliffs and admire the skills of the local bus drivers

Amalfi bus station has no queues just a mob of tired frustrated and increasingly angry visitors and locals trying to fight their way on to the return Sorrento bus - you can get on thru the rear exit door if you have already stamped your ticket. There are no manners, order or courtesy it is a free for all - be warned. It must be a nightmare in high season and the frequency of buses must really be increased by SITA on this very popular tourist route

We visited Naples by ferry from Sorrento, a fabulous 45 minute journey on a sunny day. We navigated our way from the ferry port up via Toledo thru the centre of the city up to Museo Archeoloico Nazionale which houses the artefacts and pictures from Pompeii. We should have taken the red tour bus from the port rather than walking due to traffic and potential dangers

The museum does not do itself justice - there were no English guide maps available - for info the Pompeii exhibits are on the first floor in rooms 66 - 77 and 85 - 89. There is no cafe for refreshments and the shop although showing a good range was out of stock of many items and had limited tourist souvenirs. The best collection of Pompeii pens, scarves, mugs, books etc were found in Naples Airport departures

Overall we would definitely recommend Sorrento as a tour centre and Palazzo Guardati as a base to stay

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank edgbaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I recently spent 4 nights at the Hotel Palazzo Guardati and cannot recomment it highly enough. Apart from the fantastic location, right in the centre of the town, the staff were very helpful, friendly and professional. My room was a good size (compared to many in Italy) and was kept very clean. The breakfast offered a lovely selection of hot and cold and for the rate you pay, it was terrific value. I will definitely stay again when next in Sorrento. Sue

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255060Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed in Room 301. We had requested a high, quiet room with Thomsons when we booked and this is what we got. Our only minor quibbles were the occasional inconsiderate late night noisy other guests (which aren't the hotel's fault) and the room did occasionally have an unpleasant smell, but this was reolved by simply leaving the windows ajar. I find the previous review faintly ridiculous bordering on paranoia. Our room was beautiful, not dark, quiet (despite the fantastically central location), massive bed and a lovely bathroom. The waiter at breakfast was entertaining and happy go lucky and we never felt uncomfortable. The croissants were among the best I have ever tasted. The roof terrace is simply superb. So what it has a camera ? good, this helps ensure no one is abusing the facilties of which there were many. I never even considered "big brother" was watching us. We were left alone and were able to relax up there to our hearts content. When out in the evening look out for a bar called "the kiosk" on the Corso Italia part of the town. It is family run by a wonderfully friendly young Italian couple who cater for anyone who cannot live without their Guinness etc ! The service is fantastic and there are screens for sporting events etc. This was the best bar by far we visited. All in all we had a superb holiday !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My husband and I spent two weeks in this hotel, the first 9 days in room 103. Beware room 103! It smelled of sewers, was so dark that the energy saving lights had to be on in the daytime and you could hardly tell if it was night or day, it was just above a noisy hot huge kitchen for the restaurant next door, and last but not least - right outside the small window was a row of 4 gas cylinders which were regularily messed with by men who also spent lots of time talking on their phones outside our window. I ask you, is this the kind of room you expect from a 4* hotel?
The modern 'distressed' pine furniture was attractive and the bathroom worked well, but the room was smelly and utterly depressing and ruined any sense of romantic holiday feeling for us. When we asked to be moved to another room and proceeded to expain why, the recepionist just cut my husband off with a "yes,yes I know" and told us we had to pay 300 euros a night if we wanted a better room. (We had booked the holiday with Simply Travel - which is part of Thomsons - and we had presumed they would have got us a decent room because the holiday was not cheap and we had booked it back in May). The hotel gave us the room above - room 203, eventually, which didnt smell and the gas cylinders were at least further away.
Breakfast had a poor choice of foods which never changed much and the waiter was constantly angling for tips in various ways, making you feel uncomfortable or ignoring you for a long time and generally creating an unpleasant atmosphere.
The bar seemed to be none existant in reality and the roof terrace had a camera on it to see that you didnt eat your own food or drink on the premises even though they only supplied breakfast!! There were various signs to tell you what you couldnt do.
We chose this hotel for its central location and promised comfort. The location was good but the hotel was awful and we would never go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lewisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lady73098, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2010

We are very sorry for the words of this customer, expecially because we always do our best to sutisfy our guests.
Certainly this guest's room is not our best room but his knows he has riserved a classic room, sold at a smaller charge, if he would like a deluxe room , with sea view, he'd have to riserve and pay for one of it. Our hotel is located in the historic centre of Sorrento and so same of the rooms are at few steps from other properties. The photos depict a terrace with a gas cylinder that is not owned by the hotel. All our rooms are new and confortable, with exclusive florence forniture and a charmant atmosphere, which surely make our guests' stay enjoiful, not awfull, as everybody can see reading all the other review.
However we care about all our customers and so we hope to have the possibility to remedy and to have again this guest in our hotel in order to give him a room with a sea view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guardati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $137 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guardati 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Guardati, well-known 4 stars hotel, is located in the historical center of the vivacious Sorrento town, among the more suggestive places of Naples Gulf.Located not far from the sea and absorbed in the characteristic historical center,full of small shops and workshops of the typical Sorrento craftsmanship, it gives to its guests the possibility to live fully the magic Sorrento atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guardati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Palazzo Guardati Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing