We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centre of Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Centre of Sorrento”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here as our room was comfortable, we had a splendid view over rooftops to the sea, and everyone was very helpful. The furniture was beautiful painted wood. You can't actually drive down the street as it is a narrow alleyway. We went in May and the weather wasn't warm enough to swim, but the rooftop pool is actually very small, OK for a cooling dip but hardly for doing lengths. Lovely roof terrace though for sunbathing or relaxing. Warning to others though, the hotel claims to have parking but like many in Italian towns it actually means there is public parking available at a cost of 25 Euros/day. Also the WiFi is rather expensive: I really feel that at these prices hotels should provide WiFi included in the price.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a (partial) sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest
thank you so much for your review, your opinion is very important for us to improuve our effort to give a better service to all our dear guest.
Regarding the parking we have a sister Hotel Zi Teresa where is just far 10 minutes walk and the cost of parking is only 15.00 euros, as they have a limited space you need to book by email to us, also we would like to put on your attention that if you will book directly from our website the wifi is free.
Looking forward to welcome you one again to Hotel Palazzo Guardati.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    135
    34
    13
    13
See reviews for
104
254
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We were on the second floor and when we opened the window it was incredibly loud with the restaurant below. The bathtub/shower combo has cracks in it and made it look really dirty. There is a open room in the hotel but we didn't spend any time in there since it felt super old. The balcony was nice with the small pool on the roof. They took our passports and forgot to give it back when we checked out. I share the blame on forgetting it but if they take it, they should give it back at checkout automatically with someone asking. Overall it was okay but for the price I would have looked elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickyandhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank you so much for your review we apologize for the inconvenience, regarding the bathtub is very strange because the hotel has been renovated recently as our lounge area and all the forniture are new with old florentine style. We will remain at your disposal and we will apply a special discount for your next stay in Sorrento.
Best regards.

Emanuela Cuomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My husband and I with another couple stayed at this hotel for five nights this past week....I cannot say enough thanks to them for their welcoming and great and caring service!
Our rooms were so pretty. They have a beautiful terrace off of the first floor which has comfortable padded furniture , umbrellas and bright lemon trees!
On the roof...awwwww....there is Antonio! A breathtaking view ....small sparkling pool....lounge chairs, patio tables....flowers...and a bar! Sorrento square is busy and humming with fun, but when you are shopped out or want a day to sunbathe, go visit Antonio on the roof. They will provide you a towel, pretzel snacks and they have great wine!
At the front desk you will be greeted by professional helpful staff. They are extremely accommodating and want to be sure your stay is memorable .....and trust me...it was!
Hopefully you will never need a doctor on any vacation but...we did. They knew my husband was uncomfortable and offered their hotel doctor to make a house call. She was there in 30 minutes, came directly to our room and was terrific!
Front desk....Marco...I think that was his name.....was always checking to make certain we were comfortable.
Breakfast is amazing with a large selection to choose from!
Last day there...lol....we left clothes in a drawer behind and the hotel sent them with a driver to meet us at our next stop in Atrani.
This hotel along with their staff deserve a round of applause.
Beautiful, clean, friendly and accommodating.
Hats off to hotel palazzo !...and thank you from John and Carolyn Wannamaker.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Wannamaker
we thank you so much for the nice review about our hotel and our staff, we are so happy and satisfied that you ve enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you once again here in Sorrento.
Please visit our facebook page : Hotel 4 stelle Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Hills, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Palazzo Guardati in April, 2013. Very first day in Italy and the quaint hotel off the main plaza in Sorrento was truly a hidden treasure. It was intimate, yet regal and the staff and especially our waiter for our breakfasts was truly an Italian treasure. Made our first days in Italy ones we will always remember with pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ael67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are delighted with your wonderful review that motivates us to always do our best. We wait you for your next holiday in Sorrento.
Best regards.

Emanuela Cuomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Palazzo Guardati in June 2013. What a HIDDEN GEM. Nice, clean, spacious rooms, although no great view. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, and waiter had a great sense of humor. The real prize is the roof-top deck, pool, and food service. Beautiful view of Sorrento and Naples Bay.
It is about a 6 block walk from train station. Cobblestone streets and sidewalks made pulling suitcases a little difficult. The hotel is down a narrow street off main plazza. Hard to find.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are very happy for your review and we invite you to contact us direcly by email as we can offer our best rates and free wifi.
Best regards.

Emanuela Cuomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed there in September 2011 - Lovely little hotel, right off the main square in Sorrento - Nice little Roof Top Plunge Poll and Bar - Helpful, friendly staff - Rooms lovely - what more could you want??

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie-jo431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest
we are thrilled for your enjoyable stay to Hotel Palazzo Guardati and we look forward your next visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel early Oct 2013; Paid for Deluxe Sea View Room. Receptionist showed us a small sea view room, when we objected, he put us in a larger room at back to our liking. Had King bed with couch/single bed. Great bathroom. Warning, that the sea view is from a large window with balcony from side of hotel room. Still nice view. Alfonso, at reception, was so helpful---he was the bonus for our stay in this Sorrento hotel and helped us to find a washeteria, a bus for the Amalfi Coast when we had missed our tour, etc. Rain kept us from enjoying the roof top; the breakfast was in basement, but very good. Only thing that bothered me, was the waiter expected tips. He was extra helpful when tipped. Would recommend highly this hotel; just very expensive for a deluxe sea view hotel ($630 U.S./night) The corner room at the front might have been worth this, but we were told it was occupied. Told we had wifi, but found out we had to pay for it; used our ATT Liberate instead.
Great location, between two major plazas, near the bus terminal and train station, and near lift that takes you to marina below where ferries are caught.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LAMEL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guardati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guardati 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Guardati, well-known 4 stars hotel, is located in the historical center of the vivacious Sorrento town, among the more suggestive places of Naples Gulf.Located not far from the sea and absorbed in the characteristic historical center,full of small shops and workshops of the typical Sorrento craftsmanship, it gives to its guests the possibility to live fully the magic Sorrento atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guardati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Palazzo Guardati Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing