We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Hosts, Bright Rooms and Delicious Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Pane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Pane
Ranked #46 of 126 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gracious Hosts, Bright Rooms and Delicious Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay in Sorrento. When trying to find the hotel without a good map, a friendly local jumped into our car and showed us the way to the Villa and walked back on his own to the starting point at least 2 km away. The atmosphere at the Villa was more laid back than the rest of our trip and the hosts were friendlier. If you are in a rush then stay closer to town, but if you want to slow down and experience a more everyday side of Italy, we would recommend Villa Pane.

Our stay at Villa Pane was for two nights. The website warned us that the lane up to the hotel was narrow and they weren't kidding! We parked in the square and although a shuttle was available, enjoyed the 3min walk up the hill to the Villa. (Note: you need a cell phone to call for the shuttle and if you don't have one, the Villa can provide you with one.) As we had a car, we used it to go into town, so we didn't use the shuttle, except to ferry our luggage up and down the lane to the hotel. Just like all the Italian towns, parking was at a premium, so the 2nd parking lot that was just blocks away from downtown core reserved for Villa Pane guests was very useful.

The rooms were a fair size with lots of cupboard space. Wifi was free, although a bit patchy in certain areas. The large patio off our room was a lovely place to sit and enjoy a quiet evening.

The hosts were very gracious and helpful and spoke very good English. Even Guido the golden retriever was very welcoming. The evening meal was prepared by Anna Maria and was very delicious and provided a good alternative to travelling into town to find a restaurant.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony. 2nd floor might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OFlahertyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    73
    15
    15
    24
See reviews for
74
187
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I am a very experienced traveler and often organize trips for family and friends. Our stay at Villa Pane near Sorrento was fabulous. It was truly akin to being hosted by ones Italian mother. The setting is great, the food delicious and the accomodations wonderful. The Pane family is very generous and willing to assist in every way to make each guests stay a memorable one. I am returning this summer with all of my grandchildren and cannot wait to have them experience true hospitality in this magnificant setting. Thank you Anna Maria and family.
Jack Brennan
Colonel USMC (ret)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

It looks fabulous on the website but.......
We were collected at the station on arrival after a good 45 min wait and some confusion over who we were. This worried me slightly as they didn't seem to be expecting us.
Pleasant relaxed welcome before being shown to our small room.
Nice view overlooking hills to the sea. I felt reasonably pleased at this stage.
After spending the first night there in an extremely uncomfortable bed and after spending a ridiculous amount of money on eating at the B&B, we were told in a very 'relaxed' way that we could have the room for only 3 nights....we had booked 8. They had messed up the booking in other words. A common occurance if you read the other reviews.
They pointed out on my booking form that I had in fact booked a 'monolocale'. This is some kind of 'apartment'. I certainly didn't book it but that is how the confirmation read. I had to assume I had made some mistake. So they offered us the 'apartment' about 20 mins away.
We were not too happy but were taken to see it. It was on another hill overlooking Sorrento; better views than Villa Pane but in the shade all day. My partner thought it smelled of damp. I thought it smelled of VERY fresh paint which sort of pleased me......obviously well looked after I thought. So we convinced ourselves it was an OK move.
We had a good week touring around sightseeing and each night returned to our brightly-coloured, freshly-painted apartment with an incredibly uncomfortable bed (even worse than Villa Pane). The shower was good but flooded the bathroom due to the bad design.
We had to phone Villa Pane several times for new towels and toilet rolls. He did drive over specially at night just to bring them but I shouldn't have had to ask.
On the last evening I went to Villa Pane to pay. Hoped for a discount due to the earlier disappointment but alas none...
Then returned to the 'apartment' for the last night.
It was only then that the reason for the damp/paint smells became obvious.
I noticed dark mould appearing all over the place. The huge de-humidifier should have raised our suspicions, but there was absolutely no sign of damp all week until the very end.
Too late. I had paid in full.
Hence the strong smell of paint to cover the mould. Hence the delay in telling us they had overbooked - they had to quickly find us somewhere else to stay. And then paint it.

This review is more about the 'apartment' than the B&B but the poor management led us to have this bad experience. I booked via their website which appears to be managed by an agent. This may be where the problem lies.
The photos on the website give the impression that every room is delightful. It was very clean and friendly but if you stay there be prepared for some disappontment and frustration.
It is quite some way into the hills and a scary drive up very steep narrow lanes to the house. Getting to and from the house is a not ideal. You are better staying in the town.
Our evening meal was OK but service was so slow we forgot we were eating. We had nice pasta for starters but this had been cooked by other guests during their cookery lesson. The lesson was expensive and then WE paid alot to eat it! Surely this contravenes health and safety? I found that disturbing but said nothing as the 'cooks' were on the next table telling us what fun they had preparing our (expensive) meal.
I thought it would be cheap to eat there but no. Be warned. The owner knows there is nowhere else to eat nearby and no way of getting back to the house late at night if you wish to eat elsewhere. So you get stung.

To sum up - DON'T STAY HERE. IT ISN'T WORTH THE HASSLE.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wannagotheretoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Having read one or two fairly ropey reviews before heading off for Villa Pane in Sorrento, you might say that I was a little apprehensive (i had entrusted my other half to book the holiday!).

After arriving in Sorrento our naivety, and lack of preparation caused us to get absolutely fleeced by a taxi driver, who dropped us in the little Park & Ride area for Villa Pane, needless to say we weren't very impressed.

However, shortly after, the charming Annamaria collected us in one of their dinky little shuttle/minibuses in which we made the death defying drive up the almost vertical road to Villa Pane, and there our lovely little getaway began!

Villa Pane is a quaint little B&B, up in the hillside with fabulous views overlooking Sorrento and it's coastline. It is run by Annamaria and her son Gianluigi who were both fantastic, plus a handful of other people, one of which was a cook lady who, alongside Annamaria, made some of the best food we have ever tasted!

Villa Pane was the perfect place to return to after a busy day of visiting the stunning sights of the Amalfi Coast. It presented an equally lovely alternative to the hustle and bustle of Sorrento town, set in tranquil surroundings with a lovely garden kitchen in which we sat and gorged on the spectacular fresh, homegrown and delicious food Annamaria and her expert staff prepared day and night.

Any minor faults that Villa Pane might have had were far, far outweighed by it's rustic charm and and the friendliness and approachable nature of the staff, allowing us to fully immerse ourselves into Italian culture. We truly felt like we were staying in the house of a proper Italian family!

Aside from Annamaria's AMAZING food and hospitality, I would also pay her son Gianluigi a special mention for generally being FABULOUS and the backbone of the B&B. He ran us about in the crazy little shuttlebus endlessly and dealt with any issues/queries we had about the room, or getting around the area etc...without hesitation.

Last, but not least is Guido, the family's GORGEOUS golden retriever. He made the holiday extra special for us and provided us with much entertainment. If we could have fit him in our suitcase, we would have!!!

Therefore, despite the few bad reviews Villa Pane has received, we wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else in Sorrento, and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience proper Italian life and culture (a lot of the guests were Italian) in comfortable and clean surroundings, and be treated to scrumptious food in abundance. We are missing it already!!!

A few handy hints:
Pre-arrnage your pick-up with Villa Pane for your arrival. Taxis are very expensive.
Try and keep the staff updated, where possible, on when you will be requiring the shuttlebus, and if your plans change you can ring them and they'll be flexible.
If you eat at Villa Pane, make them aware of your budget when it comes to wine etc...and they'll accommodate this.

Thanks very much to everyone at Villa Pane,

Jo & Daniel (Nottingham, England)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo_aspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

To begin with... this place is no where near the actual town of Sorrento. You absolutely cannot walk to town as they claim. Your only choice is a bus... which rarely comes, the shuttle from the B&B, which is on a set schedule 2 in the am, 2 in the PM, or a taxi which is about 30 euros each way, they also hike the price up at night... which is most likely when you'd want to take one.

We booked through a third party... bad call bc once we got there the place looked nothing like advertized and there was nothing we could do. The tiny shower overflowed... all over the floor and into the room. We only had one tiny little hatchway style window to get any fresh air in our room and the room had a strong... musty smell to it. Overall... not happy with our stay, food at breakfast was alright. Staff was very friendly... hardworking but unless you plan on being a hermit in a nasty room, I wouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank souladventurer5005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
327 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

I heartily agree with the bulk of the reviews.
We came to the conclusion that villa Pane is run by a bunch of liers.
If you agree to eat at the "VIlla" (Annemarie is a great cook) then you are in her good books even though we found out when we got the bill how deceiving it is without knowing the prices of the meals.
However, if you dare to eat elsewhere, well you know the rest.
We were told will be picked up at the port upon arrival , which never happened,and we had to take a taxi which cost us 20 euros.
The business with the shuttle is a farce.
We did not even have a car to park, so we were totally at their mercy.
Stay away from Villa Pane.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

Villa Pane is actually a private house run by 3 members of a family who do not all live on the premises. I also think it maybe a case of 'you get what you pay for' depending on the rates you get at the time of booking.

Be aware - Villa Pane is in the hills of Sorrento and part of the road is steep and so narrow a taxi is unable to get to the villa and a narrow shuttle bus is your lifeline to Sorrento. We did not encounter problems with this as long as you stuck to the timetable and booked your journeys, otherwise a fee of 5 euros per room per trip would apply. The first bus down to Sorrento being 9.00am and no more until 1.00pm. However it could be a big problem if you needed a very early shuttle for transfer to the airport.

The rooms and bathrooms are not as advertised on their website infact the whole place looks better on the website than it actually is. The bedroom was dark and sparse with a small shower room, the shower overflows and the bed not the most comfortable, there was an air conditioning unit for heat but it was very noisy. Maintenance was non excistent and you just put up with certain things. The room did have a wardrobe with a few hangers and fridge.

The reception and dinning/breakfast area were part of the same room and breakfast was adequate if you were down first. Steer clear of the preserves in the pots I'm not sure how long they've been in there also try and avoid the flies. Breakfast seemed to be prepared by a young relative who also does the cleaning.
We never saw any price list for food or drink. I think drink prices were perhaps 5* you could get a surprise at the end of your stay.

Any bills have to be settled in cash as they are awaiting a new credit card machine. I think they've been waiting a long time!!!!!

The Amalfi Coast is stunning, Pompeii and Herculaneum amazing, Positano and Varello chaming and Sorrento is a good base for sight seeing with its train and bus links and the Marina for a ferry to Capri but Villa Pane is just not for me.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Feg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Giovanna
Villa Giovanna
#65 of 126 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Il Roseto
B&B Il Roseto
#8 of 126 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Monica B&B
Villa Monica B&B
#2 of 126 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Elena
Casa Elena
#43 of 126 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Carolina Country House
1.0 mi away
Sorrento Relais
Sorrento Relais
#24 of 126 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pane

Property: Villa Pane
Address: Via Baranica 13 | loc. Casarlano, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Pane 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greenery, our villa is open all year now enhanced by careful restructuring to taste the taste of the ancient into the modern. An ideal place for nature lovers, walkers and discover one of the most pristine places like Sorrento.The villa is situated in a panoramic, sunny and quiet location offers many benefits to spend your holidays. The villa offers many services:swimming pool with solarium,free parking, free shuttle to/from Sorrento,restaurant service (on request) and cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Pane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Pane Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing