We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Villaggio Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villaggio Verde
Ranked #69 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent a week here in June 2013 and it was perfect. It is at the top of the hill so a bit of a hike from the centre of Sorrento but worth it. Excellent value for money and we found a fantastic restaurant walking up the hill from the hotel instead of down (down on the way home). We had self catering accommodation and although the bathroom was a bit small (particularly the shower) we couldn't fault it. The location is fantastic, set in a grove of orange trees and grape vines. We didn't use the pool but it looked lovely. It's an excellent location and I would higly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeenTraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    82
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
74
102
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel,a perfect balance of all the conveniences you need abroad with the local charm of why you go on holiday in the first place. The walk down to Sorrento main square takes about 10 mins and this was not a problem for us and also gives you chance to walk off your food and wine before bed too! The walk back is an uphill and therefore anyone with mobility worries may wish to avoid this one (although many of the walks around Sorrento and Amalfi require a level of uphill at some point so should be comfortable for most).

Room was lovely and clean, fresh towels, hot water, tv, fridge, safe, comfy bed. We stayed in the main block and were glad we didnt pay extra for a bungalow, maybe worthwhile if you planned to stay at the hotel a lot in the day but since we went out everyday we didnt require it. The holiday was booked via Thomson, who provide help if required. The hotel owner and her family were always friendly and able to recommend local insights. We went to a great locals restaurant around the corner called Fillipos after a late transfer.

If you want a relaxed, charming and unfussy holiday venue ten minutes from the action but ten minutes for serenity this is perfect for you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soph-cusimano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

stayed here 2nd september 2013 for 2 weeks we went with thomsons having read the reviews on tripadvisor we thought we would give it a try and we were not disappointed we stayed in the hotel part the room had an ensuite bathroom /shower it was very clean towels were changed every day and bed linen 3 times while we were there we had breakfast every morning which was continental you just helped yourself so there was always plenty ! the pool was very good there were some rules but they helped keep the pool area clean ! the pool bar was very good cheap drinks and the food was excellent in fact the best pool bar food i've had on holiday anywhere ! the cook was excellent ! there is a laundry to wash and dry your clothes which was brilliant they charged for this but it was worth it ! the family that run the hotel and bungalows were brilliant they couldn't do enough for you always there when you needed anything we were glad we booked and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone we would definitely return if we go back to sorrento can't praise it enough ! and it was just the right distance from town as for the so called cardiac hill we had no trouble with it !!! give it a try you wont be dissapointed !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve1954Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here 30 Aug-13 Sep 2013 and had a fabulous holiday.There is little to add to the glowing reports without repeating them.We has a wonderfully warm welcome with an explanation of the site by the ever helpful and happy Attonietta.The room was spotless and free air conditioning quiet and efficient.Never ending hot water and a daily change of towels. Breakfast was great with a good variety of food accompanied by a cheerful and chatty catering staff.The room was quiet at night.Free electronic safe andTV . Although they do not do an evening meal the mid day snack(we has tomato omelette) was tasty and good value for money compared to Sorrento town. Antonietta and her family in reception were always on hand to offer advice,recommendations and ideas. The swimming pool was quite one of the best we had experienced. The setting, amidst citrus trees and grape ,vines was quite unique and shaded much of the oppressive heat.We did not experience problems with mosquitoes but did use deterrents very liberally. The talking point was "The Hill",aptly described by a previous writer as " Cardiac Hill".This need not be the problem some make it out to be. There is a local bus that stops at the gate from Sorrento, cost 1 Euro, which runs at reasonable intervals until early evening. I am not a young soul but fortified by the local wine in the evening we found the walk back endurable but certainly not for the disabled or those of limited mobility. Incidentally, guests are,by law, required to pay a tourist tax of 7 Euros per person if staying for 7 consecutive days or more. We found food outside to be quite expensive,in line with most EU countries,a cover charge and or service charge adding to the cost.We refrained from tipping for this reason. There are some wonderful restaurants in town. We made use of the local train to visit Pompeii and Heraculaum which were cheap and ran every half hour.We also used the local bus services where needed. We found it cheaper to book excursions through the local travel agents rather than through Thompsons. We had absolutely no reservations about Villaggio V erde and would love to return

Room Tip: Room 124 and 125 are the quietist, set at the rear of the hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Three of us stayed here this summer. We were so impressed by the kindness and efficiency of staff and immaculate accommodation. Towels and sheets changed everyday, fluffy and smelling of fabric conditioner! The pool was clean, safe and surrounded by grape vines and lemon trees, which was idyllic. A free electronic safe and free efficient and very quiet air conditioning!! I have never experienced such a relaxed holiday, it felt like a private villa. Anna the daughter of the owner was so polite and helpful, as were all the staff. We will certainly visit again and tell all of our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here this summer and thought it was lovely. The staff were very friendly, the room, pool area and bar were spotlessly clean and breakfast was entirely what you expect in Italy (croissants, bread, yoghurt etc).
The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and the air con and safe were free (which is often hard to find).
I liked the fact that we were not based in the middle of Sorrento but up near the residential area, that, even though it was bank holiday weekend and everyone was off work, was pretty quiet. The walk back up is not for people who struggle with hills but it would be fine for most people as its only short.
I would definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just back from hols, nice hotel staff great, location became a pain as the restaurant on site was closed .This meant a long walk into town, down and up a steep hill , and in 30 degrees heat it gets very sticky. The center of Sorrento is lively at night, lots of places to eat at good prices and as a Scot (tight with money) was not shocked at the bills.Transport very easy to use and cheap, would recommend trips to Pompei solo and not through tour operators , so easy to do and not far from train station.

Room Tip: Recommend hotel clean and air con great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#55 of 100 in Sorrento
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#76 of 100 in Sorrento
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Verde

Property: Villaggio Verde
Address: Via Cesarano 12, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#42 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villaggio Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villaggio Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Verde Sorrento
Villaggio Verde Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing