We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite What Was Advertised”
Review of Villaggio Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villaggio Verde
Ranked #70 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just back from hols, nice hotel staff great, location became a pain as the restaurant on site was closed .This meant a long walk into town, down and up a steep hill , and in 30 degrees heat it gets very sticky. The center of Sorrento is lively at night, lots of places to eat at good prices and as a Scot (tight with money) was not shocked at the bills.Transport very easy to use and cheap, would recommend trips to Pompei solo and not through tour operators , so easy to do and not far from train station.

Room Tip: Recommend hotel clean and air con great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Villaggio Verde
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 254 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Be careful if you book a bungalow at this resort. I did, and arrived to find the bungalows full. I was given a room. I had gone way over my budget in order to get a bungalow, and probably wasted about 100e, but all Villaggio Verde were prepared to do was give me 5 euros off a night and throw in a free breakfast. Make sure you get what you pay for at this place. They don't seem to mind letting the customer pay for their mistakes, and the place is not cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank catherine326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

A mini centre parcs in sorrento, surrounded by lemon and orange trees, the hotel is just far enough away from the centre of sorrento and close enough via a brisk walk which you will need after eating in the town every night. The rooms are basic and functional, it's by no means luxury but it makes a very comfortable stay and the whole place is very welcoming. We loved it and would recommend to families and couples wanting to stay somewhere a little bit quirky and different.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just back from a week in this hotel. Staff excellent very friendly and helpful. Room clean with all you need at hand fridge very handy. Only complaint was the trek from the town up the hill (cardiac hill) to the hotel not for the infirm at all and taxi's charge a fortune so we were advised against this. Also a bit of a nightmare to go anywhere as the buses do not come up her the road is too narrow if you go any trips you have to be picked up in a mini bus and taken to the bus station for the coach trip. Overall a very nice enjoyable stay here but don't think I would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This lovely family run hotel was extremely relaxing set in a orange grove. The family where very helpfull nothing was a choir allways with a smile. Small issue where the cockeral and the pool closing at 18:00 but it depends on what holiday your after nice and peacefull this is the plaice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Only 2 minor grumbles and easily remedied . Mozzies ! Great big brutes that bit the living daylights out of my fellow guests , my missus decided we should take anti histamine tablets a week before going and thru the fortnight of our stay worked a treat . 2nd the cockerel noisy git never sleeps crowing from early . We shut all doors windows bathroom and bedroom to block him out. Now the positives lovely location lush green foliage orange and lemon groves, friendly staff , other contributors hav mentioned pool, the accommodation and breakfast, so now the hill, our best time was 11mins down and 14mins up including a stop off at a little patisserie called Monica's , delicious small cakes truffles tiramisu and ice cream. Gotta treat yerself on such a trek! Recommend such a lovely place great memories

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curvanord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back from a week in the family run Villaggio Verde booked through Thomson Small & Friendly. The chalet was clean and compact albeit quite dark . It was situated at the far end of the site, surrounded by orange and lemon trees, with a small balcony outside the entrance door. and apart from the Cockeral next door which crowed every morning at about 4.30am was very quiet but ear plugs worked!! Because of the direction the chalet was there was not any direct sun so sitting outside was shaded by the overhanging trees etc. The pool and during June was only open until 6pm but by then the sun had moved so it was difficult to sit in the sun at the end of the day when returning from a day out. The pool and bar though I think is open later in July and August. The Hotel is at the top of a very steep hill, a fact that is not mentioned in the Thomson description, we are not unfit, and after a few days of sometimes tramping up the hill 2 or 3 times a day our legs were certaiinly feeling the strain!! However, the staff were very friendly and helpful, would phone for restaurant bookings etc and arrange any transport that was available. When they discovered it was my husbands birthday we were given a bottle of Fizz in an ice bucket, which we found in our room on returning from our evening out . Sorrecnto is a very busy and cosmopoliton city, lots of cars and mopeds, too many really, which drove like formula one drivers through the very narrow roads and streets!! There are lots of resaurants and cafes, some good some bad, and difficult to get into in the evenings if you had not booked. Tip if you find one you like during the day book a table to avoid disappointment. We did the usual trips, Pompeii and Herculaneum, Capri and Amalfi which are all recommended. We chose the Capri select trip which was a small boat with only 12 passengers, picked up and dropped back off at the hotel, which was a bonus. Capri again though was very busy and commercialised, apparantly the other island Ischia is prettier but again very busy. In July and August it must be difficult to get around. Best meals were at Donna Sofia and the family restaurant Da Cataldo down on the Marina Grande cost a little more but worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakeCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
1.3 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#81 of 100 in Sorrento
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Verde

Address: Via Cesarano 12, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $85 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villaggio Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villaggio Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Verde Sorrento
Villaggio Verde Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing