We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Not Fault It In Any Way”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
DublinIreland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Could Not Fault It In Any Way”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Plaza as a base for attending a family wedding in Positano. It was perfect in every way. Location excellent, staff friendly and helpful. From reception area, to breakfast area to rooms,all kept to a very high standard. Roof top pool with relaxing areas just made the stay perfect. We will without doubt be back to stay in Plaza and would highly recommend this hotel as a perfect location for a stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    377
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
358
929
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We arrived to Sorrento via train and found the hotel easily enough and within a few blocks of the station. Everyone at the front desk could not have been friendlier, and very good at answering all of our questions. The room was very clean, everything worked, including the air conditioning. The breakfast buffet was first rate (and, again, great staff providing some wonderful cappuccino and hot chocolates) with lots of choices in a comfortable setting. Since this is off the main square it was relatively quiet both during the day and in the evenings. I would have liked free wireless internet in our room but they did offer complimentary use of a pc and printer downstairs. Also, they have a lovely horizon-pool on the rooftop, while not huge, is great for a dip and cooling off and indeed the entire roof is comfortably set up for sunning, reading and relaxation. Sorrento itself was a pleasant surprise as many travel books suggest to just give it a miss (many good restaurants and some interesting shops to browse). We took the bus to Positano and had a lovely day there, taking the ferry back at the end of the day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, June 12, 2010
Dear sir, thank you for rating us on tripadvisor. We value our guests' comments very much.
We have noticed that in your review though you regret not having had free wireless internet in the room. Perhaps you meant borrowing a hotel laptop in the room? In fact, there is indeed free wireless internet throughout the hotel both in the public areas (lobby, plaza cafe, sky bar) and the guests' rooms. We are very sorry if you did not realize such service be available for some lack of communication on our part!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We've just returned from a 4 day trip to Sorrento. After reading many positive reviews we decided to choose the Plaza as our base. I'm very happy to say it was an excellent decision. As we are in our late 20's we wanted somewhere modern(quite tough in Sorrento) clean and with a good location. The Plaza ticked all of these boxes.

As previous reviewers have mentioned, it is right of the main square and close to all the shops and the train station. A couple of tips- there is a pharmacy across from the hotel but they are extremely expensive. I paid 18 euros for a small bottle of shampoo and conditioner. If you walk out the hotel, and turn right at the square there is a supermarket with everything where you can get the same for about 8 euros.

We ate at Il Buco restaurant which is about a 10min walk from the square. As it is a Michelin star restaurant we expected to be wowed. Sadly this was not the case. Food was ok, nice but nothing spectacular. Service was very poor. We waited 20min in between ordering wine and actually receiving it. This is only after having to ask for it! We got given bread for the table but without any olive oil or balsamic- had to ask again. Can go on and on but will write a seperate review for the restaurant. Bottom line- save yourself the 250 euros and go somewhere else.

One last note on the hotel front- We got to the hotel quite late on our first night. After checking in we went up to the roof to check out the pool. As it was quite dark my husband didn't notice the little water step just before the main steps- he got one soaked foot!! Watch out! Think it's meant for washing your feet? Drying out after the pool? Is in quite a awkward place. Gave us a good laugh though. All in all- I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champagnetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Just recently renovated very modern and all facilities included and you can not beat the location. We got to the hotel after a horrible experiance in a B&B in Aggata. They couldn't have been nicer and accomodating in all requests. They recommended the Musical Sorrento in the Tasso Theater and we loved it! Nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefdulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Hotel Plaza is an ideal location for many reasons. 1. It's about a 5 minute walk from the train station so no need to rent a car. 2. Sorrento is central to visiting Naples, Pompeii, Almalfi Coast, Isle of Capri, etc.. 3. In the evening most tourists get back on their cruise ships and Sorrento is left in peace. We had the most beautiful evenings walking to dinner and then strolling through the shops. 4. The hotel is right off the main square. 5. ATM at the end of the streeet. The hotel itself was clean (bathroom was spotless!) and nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet was extensive with eggs, meats, cheese, pasteries, toast, fresh juices, etc.. The waitstaff were friendly, outgoing and accomodating. I'd definitely recommend staying here. It was a very pleasant and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2010

From stepping through the doors of this well located and stylish hotel the staff could not do enough to help with your stay. They were helpful and friendly without being overbearing. The rooms were very modern, stylish and clean and breakfast was delicious with amazing coffee! The pool area has fantastic views and a great place to retreat from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. All the staff speak great English and are very friendly including Carlos on the bar who is lovely! The maid even laid our bed with towels in the shape of hearts when they saw wedding anniversary cards in the room, a lovely touch. Just one more tip, if you get on a ferry to Capri and an Italian guy called Lueigi approaches you to sign up for a guided bus trip round the island then go for it! He is a great character and we had a lot of fun!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffsLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Beautiful modern design throughout. Rooms very clean and comfortable; fabulous view of bay and Mt Vesuvious. Convenient location, walk everywhere. Delightful roof top infinity pool.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mma_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing