We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfect in every way. The rooms are spacious and clean, the rooftop pool is nice for sunbathing, the staff is helpful and polite, the location is perfect and the breakfast offers all you could ask for. We also appreciated the gym. Strongly recommended:)

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank hegekri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was my wife and I's second time in sorrento but I wish we had chosen the hotel plaza for our first visit great hotel great staff and a great location 50 meter walk to the main square I would've given the hotel 10/out of 10 but the only down side was the pool area was a little small but the views from the pool and sky bar made up up for that we will be back soon

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic week in beautiful Sorrento. The Plaza hotel is the perfect base for exploring the stunning Amalfi coast. The Hotel is 100m from the Piazza Tasso which is the heart of Sorrento and lined with restaurants, bars and shops to suit everyone. The hotel is modern and very clean with excellent facilities. The choice and quality of food is very good and varied. The rooftop sundeck has a bar and an infinity pool with stunning views towards Vesuvius,the Bay of Naples and the mountains surrounding the town. The room was very clean and comfortable and all the staff are very friendly and welcoming and cannot to do enough to help. Carlo in particular was very helpful and always willing to take time to advise on local culture and places to visit. A great holiday at a great hotel in wonderful Italy. We will be back. Grazie mille !

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We highly recommend this hotel. We travelled to Sorrento for a friends wedding and arrived on Saturday the 21st of June 2014 and stayed until the Wednesday the 25th. The hotel is right in the centre and surprisingly it wasn't very noisy. It was so convenient to get to all of the sights and general shopping instead of having to get on a bus or taxi and for us this was very important because we were only there for a limited time.
The hotel staff were exceptionally polite, the room was very modern and clean and the breakfast was varied and nice. The pool and sun deck on top of the building provided us with a relaxation area rather than having to walk down and pay to go onto the beach. We would use the hotel with our children but the pool area was very quiet and we wouldn't have liked the children running about. We probably wouldn't take the children to Sorrento anyway unless we were in an all inclusive hotel because it isn't really a place I think they would enjoy until they are in their teenage years. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenToby2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

As newlyweds we visited the hotel from the 06-16 June.

Well amazing, beautiful & just perfect.

Location
You could not ask for a better location in the middle of the main square so you have restaurants, shops, ice cream & sea at your disposal but even with Italy winning the first World Cup match we never ever had any disturbance at night.

Rooms
Clean, modern, amazing bathrooms. The cleaning service was very efficient and I could bit complain about any aspect if the rooms.

Facilities
Roof top pool, snack bar, restaurant (for B&B) car, gym & free wifi

All facilities were fit for purpose, clean, tasty & really great

Breakfast
A great variety catering for everyone from the full English to the smoothie machine.

Staff
Well well well, amazing, friendly, helpful, could not do for us & we specialties this being on honeymoon.

Would I recommend - is go back in a heartbeat!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jackiegodding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear guests,

we hope you had a good journey back home.

We are glad that we were able to contribute to your "perfect" honeymoon in Sorrento. You seem to have appreciated the main highlights of the Plaza hotel - from its central location to the helpful staff.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future, we greet you sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

hotel plaza is a modern and very clean hotel located in the heart of Sorrento. the infinity pool is absolutely spectacular - you can see across the entire peninsula from the Roof top. staff was amazing and did everything to help when we needed. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear guests,

thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our infinity pool on the rooftop, its amazing view of Vesuvius is unrivalled. A perfect place to relax and taste our barmaids' delicious cocktails...

We hope to see you again one day.

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Plaza Sorrento. The breakfast was delightful and the location is perfect. I would give it 5 stars except for a few items that should be addressed.
1. Never knew what housekeeping would leave or not leave. For example, one day, the tissue was not replenished, another day we had no bath mat. Another day we received plastic cups in our room and the following day we did not. It was just inconsistent. Not a big deal, but when you are traveling, you expect consistency so it is known what to expect.
2. We hired an expensive guide throughout the hotel to take us to Rome. We all felt the driver was unsafe. The response we received to our complaint was totally untrue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malawne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear valued guest, thank you for your review. We are sorry to have missed the 5th star this time but we are confident to get it next time especially after we have clarified some points:
1. our hotel adheres to the eco-philosophy. Thus we have got cards in all the rooms explaining how the towels' replacement works. Towels in the bath-tub or shower stand for "please change" - towels or bath mat back on the towel rack mean "I will use them again".
So it is not really inconsistency on the part of the housekeeping staff rather we let the guests decide whether certain items should be replaced or not for our environment's sake.
2. transportation: we only collaborate with extremely professional companies and we never had a complaint so far. In your case, while in the traffic, a scooter accidentally hit the car's side rear mirror. No one was hurt nor was the car damaged as it was a minor thing. We are sorry if that alone made you feel unsafe. When you say that our response was totally untrue, well we simply reported the driver's version.
In conclusion we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,475 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $122 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing