We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent week”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An excellent week”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Before any other comments, just like to say that we would stay here again if/when we come back to Sorrento. Our room was not one with a view, but it was mostly quiet, even with the (effective) aircon running. Comfortable bed, excellent shower, loads of storage space and a good-sized safe. Brilliant location.

Many previous comments say how wonderful the breakfast buffet is. It does have some positive features, but (sorry to sound like a kill-joy) we just aren't too keen on piles of cakes or champagne at this time of day! The 'full English' is powdered scrambled egg (or a good imitation of it), frankfurters, baked beans of an unusual sort and bacon. The bacon was excellent, but the rest? Boiled eggs were also available but these were very hard-boiled. Muesli kept running out. Could all be easily improved - larger cereal containers, an egg-boiler...

The room, with the hard flooring, certainly looked clean on arrival, but wasn't. Only when we came to pack up and something I had left on the floor under one of the bedside units came out covered in dust! Sorry, but the cleaning needs to be checked and improved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiddyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    373
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
354
919
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HOLLYWOOD, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just got back from our trip through Italy. We spent 3 wonderful nights at the Plaza Sorrento. The location is fantastic, so close to everything. Within walking distance to train, marina and all the great shopping and restaurants of Sorrento. The hotel is clean and modern with a fantastic rooftop pool, lounge and a great view. The breakfast was by far the best we had anywhere during our trip. Such a huge assortment of foods, including eggs, bacon, sausage, fruits, meats, cheeses, pastries, juices and so much more and so fabulously displayed. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSOSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel had a modern feel to it. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. Superb views from the rooftop. My one small criticism was that the rooftop shuts at 20.00 which didn't allow you take in the night view, otherwise everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tophat3077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Most valued guest, we are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. Indeed the Plaza Hotel stands out in town for being a fresh, modern, stylish hotel just off the main square. Our infinity pool on the roof top is certainly one of the hotel's most appreciated facilities. The view from there is fabulous and of course even the night view with Sorrento and the bay all lit up. However, the pool cannot stay opened until late at night for obvious safety reasons. A lifeguard in fact must be on duty to supervise access to the pool.
Looking forward to your next visit, we send our kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just got back from getting married in Sorrento. We stayed a full week and also hosted a small reception on the roof top terrace at the Plaza (what a view). I don't think they could possibly have done more for us! Guests who weren't staying at the Plaza were treated with warmth and enthusiasm. The food for our reception was organised in advance by email so we were a little nervous about what we might get. No need, it surpassed all of our expectations right down to the wedding cake itself. The staff even helped with onward travel plans by dealing with Italian websites and agents. When one of our party became ill, it was the Plaza staff who organised a doctor to attend the hotel within the hour.
The rooms were bright, comfortable and immaculately clean with silent air conditioning - bliss. The central location made this a fantastic meeting point most evenings for the wedding party and the short walk to the Cloisters for our wedding. It was also ideally placed to explore historic sites of Pompeii & Herculaneum. What this small modern hotel lacks in glamour it more than makes up for in service and convenience. Thank you everyone at the Plaza

Room Tip: pay to upgrade to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent modern hotel with clean rooms, helpful friendly staff and superb breakfast. The main square in town is just a minute away and the boats and train just a 5 minute walk. Could not have asked for a better place to stay in Sorrento. They go out of there way to make your stay perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you sincerely for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Sorrento and have appreciated many features about the Plaza hotel to the point of not being able to ask for a better place to stay!!! We are honored to read this about our hotel.

In particular, we thank you for having underlined the fact that our helpful and friendly staff would really go out of their way to make our guests' stay perfect. It means a lot for them being able to contribute to one's enjoyment.

Hoping to see you again, we greet you sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

First thing I considered when we wanted to visit the Amalfi Coast was, where can we stay as a headquarter place to drive around and get to know this amazing area. And after reading a ton of reviews and heard opinions, my conclusion was the right one: Sorrento!!!!!
For every night we stayed there the three managers gave us the best reference of where to eat, walk, visit and have fun. Amazing Grill with best meat in Italy, pizzas and trattorias, walking distance to the terraces to best views, and also right in the center of the action in the Piazza.
Once we visited Ravello, Amalfi, Positano, with all their charm and beauty, coming back to Sorrento felt like home, and so much activity in the evenings!!
Great Location, alive and fun. Will definitely return. Thank you for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaulC1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,

hoping that you had a safe trip back home, we would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sorrento and that you found this lovely town to be the ideal base for your visit to the Amalfi coast.

We are also happy to hear that you appreciated our front desk staff's advice on where to eat and what to visit. The Plaza hotel is located right off the main square and gives you a variety of options in particular when it comes to restaurants, cafès and shops; all within walking distance.

We are pleased to hear that upon returning from your daily trips, you felt like home. Although quite a small town, in summer Sorrento comes alive with so much to do during your evenings.


Thank you for choosing us and we would be very happy to be able to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Location for this hotel is second to none, main square is 60 seconds walk away. The hotel is always crisp and clean in every aspect. Staff are warm, friendly and alway smiling ready to help should you need it. Breakfast is a buffet which covers most tastes - we were very happy with the freshness of the food especially the home made cakes.
Strongly recommend a stay, we will certainly be back again someday.

Room Tip: All rooms ok but those at the front allow better sunshine on the balcony. Towels at the rooftop pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirHCRockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest,

we hope that you had a safe trip back home and thank you sincerely for your review.

You remarked various services offered at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento and in particular you seem to have appreciated our breakfast buffet. Freshly baked and/or cooked, the food served during breakfast does in fact cover all tastes - from sweet to savoury .

We are glad to hear that you will come back to Sorrento and while waiting to welcome you back, in the meantime we greet you sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing