We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, stylish and friendly hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September with three others. Our rooms were exceptionally nice and freah. The location was very near and easily walkable to all of the shops and restaurants in the main tourist area. The swimming pool and deck area were lovely with a fabulous view out to the sea. The breakfast buffet was delicious and bountiful with a wide food selection. The hotel was very modern and attractively decorated in a minimalist style. The staff were friendly and helpful and most spoke English which was great for us since none of us spoke Italian. They helped us to arrange a tour of the Amalfi coast on very short notice and gave good restaurant suggestions. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone except someone who wants more of a country or old style experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank d--jdDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

I am not inclined toward hyperbole, but you could not ask for a better place to stay. This small hotel is a few steps from the Piazza Tasso and just two blocks from the train, but is still on a quiet street. The room was perfect, with a nice view. The staff was extremely helpful in researching our questions. And the breakfast buffet! Where else do the guests take videos of the buffet table because the variety and quality is beyond belief? Stay here; you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: You pay a bit more to be on an upper floor, but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Evanescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunoplaza, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear valued guest, thank you for your very positive review! Saying that "you could not ask for a better place to stay" in Sorrento is the kind of comment that motivates us to do ever more to keep and consolidate that reputation.
Looking forward to your next visit in Sorrento, we send our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Plaza is well located in downtown Sorrento close to shopping and good restaurants. Staff is excellent and attentive and it has a charming street side lounge/bar. The breakfast is exceptional with a wide variety of pastries which change seemly every morning.

The only problem we encountered was sound proofing in the rooms. It wasn't street noise that interrupted our sleep (we had a room in the back), it was noise from neighboring rooms and paper thin walls.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunoplaza, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear valued guest, thank you for taking your time to write a review after your stay at the Plaza! We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's ideal location, our exceptional breakfast and the charming street-side lounge bar. Thank you too for remarking how excellent and attentive our staff is. We are sorry however that some noise coming from nextdoor disturbed your stay. We assume this may have been caused by some inconsiderate behaviour by nearby guests. It is a shame that this problem was not brought to our attention during your stay, we would have found a solution like changing your room for instance. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

A lovely hotel perfectly placed just a few minutes walk from Sorrento's main square, with plenty of bars and restuarants close by. We were there very much out of season in early December and for much of the time we felt like the only guests. The hotel had clearly been renovated and offered clean, modern accommodation throughtout. The breaskfast buffet was plentiful and an improvement compared to most other Europeon offerings.

Parking was easy and the cheapest I could find locally at 10 Euros a day (be warned that this is a constant problem if you plan to drive anywhere in the Amalfi).

On a more personal note my partner was unfortunate enough to fall down some stairs on arrival in Sorrento and spent the better part of an evening in the local hospital. The staff at Hotel Plaza were superb, very attentive and even loaned us the use of a wheelchair for the remainder of our stay (however I do not recommend using one in the Amalfi).

Overall a lovely experience given our slight misfortune and we'll be happy to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DS_WannabeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunoplaza, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Dear sir/madam, you hardly were the only guests in the hotel when you visited but we like the idea that you had that impression. Indeed we want our guests to feel like they are the only guests! We are ever so grateful that you wrote such a lovely review despite the unfortunate, unhappy incident occurred during your vacation. We hope that your foot feels much better now. Thank you for the words of commendation to our staff. We really care for our guests and we always do our best to make them happy. We are glad that the very central position of our hotel also proved a blessing during the misfortune. Thank you too for remarking how cheap the hotel parking is compared to the average charges of the area. Reservation of such parking lots is always recommended since limited. We also enjoyed your comments about our plentiful buffet breakfast ways above the average European offerings. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were recently supposed to honeymoon in Italy and were staying at the Hotel Plaza for part of our trip. Due to hurricane Sandy hitting the East Coast of the US, our flight to Italy was canceled and our trip inevitably cancelled as well.

Although we haven’t gotten to stay yet, we can’t say enough about the hospitality we received from the staff at the Hotel Plaza. We were recommended to the hotel by a close friend, so we were eager to visit. We certainly make it a point to do so in the future. They were overly accommodating in the booking and cancellation process. We are going to try to postpone our honeymoon trip in the future and we will be sure to rebook with them because of the level of professionalism they showed us during this misfortunate situation. If you are looking for a hotel, I would recommend booking with them based off the high level of hospitality they have shown us during this circumstance.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank foodieforlifeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunoplaza, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear valued guest,
thank you ever so much for your most kind and appreciative review! We are sorry that your honeymoon was somehow upset by hurricane Sandy. We are pleased at the same time though that despite the misfortunate situation you eventually managed to come to Sorrento and stay at the Plaza. Thank you for commenting on our "high level of hospitality" as this is exactly what we are striving for. We are delighted to know that having postponed your honeymoon trip in the future you plan to come back to the Plaza. We eagerly anticipate your return and we will make sure that your honeymoon be memorable indeed. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very centrally-located position. Clean, smart & modern design. Generally pleasant & helpful staff, except one. Good breakfast choices & quality, and good bar. Plenty of good restaurants, bars & shops nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damianb239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I, had the pleasure of spending 4 nights at the Hotel Plaza... It was our home base, while touring Sorrento, and the Amalfi Coast.Just a few steps from the Piazza Tasso, and nearby attractions. The rooms a very clean, the staff very Accommodating. The view from the rooftop pool overlooks Mt. Vesuvius, The coast of Sorrento. We are planning on returning to our staff and friends at the Hotel Plaza this Summer, with friends of ours. See you all soon! :) Petrina passantino:)

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Petrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $115 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing