We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Cannot say enough about this property!
The location is perfect. It is just a 1/2 block from the main square. You get the convenience but none of the congestion.
The staff is wonderful. They were so helpful in planning a tour of the Amalfi coast. The lobby, restaurant, breakfast room are bright and cheery. It is updated and very clean.
The rooms are clean, updated and convenient. There is a frig.
The pool area is a little small but has a good view and is fun to take a dip after a hot day of sightseeing.
The best part is the roof! The rooftop bar is amazing. We would head there each night to have drinks and appetizers while looking out at the water and mountains. The view was absolutely amazing!!!!
The breakfast is huge. I have never seen such an assortment of pastries. The chef is a pastry chef and provides many fun and unusual sweets in addition to the fruit, eggs, meats etc. Yum!!

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    373
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
354
919
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Three Bridges, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week at The Plaza and cannot fault it. The rooms were wonderful, clean & comfy. The most comfortable beds I've found in a hotel. Breakfast was a wonderful buffet with many choices giving something different everyday. Location is just off the Piazza Tasso which is perfect for a walk to the restaurants or seafront. Even the doors on our balcony were well sound proofed to keep the noise of the busy square out of our room!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richyrich48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from the 26th September for five nights. Hotel is wonderful, right in the centre of Sorrento, very clean and fantastic staff who are very friendly (especially the lovely gentleman who served on the rooftop pool in the evenings) lovely pool, overlooking mount Vesuvius and an extensive buffet breakfast which included Buck's Fizz and blinis and smoked salmon...we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siantill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Plaza in summer this year and made the booking based on the hotel's rooftop pool. The pool and bar on the rooftop did not dissapoint. The rooftop area was so relaxing with plenty of sunloungers available.

We also loved our room - really nice decor, super comfy bed. The complimentary breakfast was fabulous. I can hardly believe how much lovely food was provided. The staff were also very friendly.

Location wise, we arrived on the train so it was only a short walk (about 8 mins) to the hotel and very easy to find. The hotel is then also very close to the old town (jus toff the main square) which suited us well. We wanted to be near the old town whilst still being able to stay in a modern hotel.

Overall, this hotel is highly recommended for a relaxing couple visit. We could not fault any part of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Juke8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, CT
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights recently. Have travelled a bit in Europe,(know what to expect) and loved this hotel. When we arrived, Alitalia had lost our luggage, so we had nothing for our first 24 hrs. Staff gave us tooth brushes, paste, robes and slippers, plus in room amenities, which helped get us through the first day. They also called the airline repeatedly until they got an answer as to where our bags were. We had a 4th fl balcony room, which overlooks the street and is great for people watching. A short 2 min walk to the main piazza. Rooms are decent size for european rooms(worth it to upgrade), beds comfortable but firm, linens nice. Mini fridge in room- good for your own stuff. Bathroom spacious, ex. ventilation after a shower. They clean the rooms nicely every day, and the breakfast is wonderful. Staff are so helpful and will even make local calls for you. The street level cafe is a nice place to pass some down time. Can't say enough about the location, close to everything. The soundproofed slider to the balcony really shuts out noise though at night. AC works great during hot spells. Taxi stand right out front of hotel in case you need one. Also free wifi throughout hotel!! They give you the passcode for your stay. Would stay here again definitely!!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms on 3-5th floor seem best. Four to a floor, so email ahead after booking to request bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTtraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The location is good if you are arriving via train station- you can walk there easily with your luggage. If you are coming via boat you need to catch a taxi. (Make sure you bargain the price.) The actual hotel is poor value for money. I stayed here with my sister for 3 nights in Sept 2012. We found the staff very unhelpful. At the reception we enquired about the transport options to one of the neighbouring towns. We were told to come back in the morning when they would have someone who knows more and then the guy at the reception just walked away without giving us a chance to respond. We really needed the information then to decide about which day trip to take the next day. Then, on another occasion we were given an outdated ferry timetable, with the incorrect times!! (By a different reception staff member) This was really unprofessional as this nearly ruined our transport connection on our way back to Rome. The cleaning staff barged into our room one morning without knocking- I was changing near the door. Further, the room walls are very thin. We could hear the person in the next room blowing their nose! Difficult to get good sleep unless you have earplugs. They also don't have irons in the room, which was extremely inconvenient. We had been travelling for some time at this point and needed to wash and iron our clothes. I found this very strange, that a 4 star hotel doesn't have an iron facility in the room!! The only good thing about this hotel is the roof top pool with the view. I wouldn't recommend this place. You can find a better deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana_9020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunoplaza, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to write a review! We are pleased that you enjoyed our ideal location and roof top pool. However, we are surprised to read that you found our reception staff unhelpful as the great majority of our guests constantly underline exactly the opposite that is how courteous, knowledgeable and professional they are. We are sorry that you were given an outdated ferry schedule. The ferry company in fact changes the schedule at some unset time in September but they never bother to notify the hotels. We regularly call them to verify the accuracy of the schedule, it is obvious that you caught the ferry one or two days after their change. With this we are not trying to justify ourselves rather we will endeavor to be all the more scrupulous when giving information. As to the intrusion by the cleaning staff, they are trained to always knock before entering. They knock very gently though and it could be that you did not hear them. We respect your opinion and we will use your remarks to improve the quality of our service that it may be impossible to find a better deal in Sorrento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great location, just off the main square and close to train and bus station.
This hotel works on the philosophy that things will not go wrong and they work quietly toward this aim. Rooms are a good size and well decorated. Breakfasts are varied and quality, pastries!!!!.
I am writing this review a year after we stayed here; the reason being that we have just stayed is another Italian 4 star hotel and the contrast is amazing – Stay here – this is a class act.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MikeB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing