We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,982)
Filter reviews
1,982 results
Traveler rating
1,473
446
47
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,473
446
47
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolrooftop barthe main squaremodern hotelgreat hotelpiazza tassopastriestrain stationperfect locationcomfort roomhotel barbreakfast buffetamalfi coastbalcony roomour honeymoonwould highly recommend this hotelstayed here for a week
Filter
Updating list...
1,197 - 1,202 of 1,982 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed 6 nights at the Plaza in July. Location is perfect, right in the centre of sorrento a minute from piazza Tasso and about 5 minutes from the train station. Rooms were comfortable, shower cubicle maybe on the small side and we thought the cleaner did the minimum, but did come everyday. Staff were friendly, the roof top bar pleasant with good views over sorrento. This was never too busy, and there was always spare loungers or chairs. The hotel had 2 PCs with printers you could use to access the internet if you don't have your own laptop/ipad etc (get code from reception). Breakfast was very good, although you need a sweet tooth to enjoy all of it. The hotel has its own pastry chef and there was always a good selection of cakes and tarts , along with fruit and a few hot items. Not many English channels on the telly - ended up watching the olympics in french, but this was not an issue as we didn't go on holiday to watch TV. Overall a very good hotel, maybe more generic in its design, less traditional Italian, but that suited us. Would recommend if you want a centrally located hotel.

Room Tip: High room with a balcony
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivang219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've just came back from a week stay at this hotel in Sorrento & i have to say i have nothing but praise for this hotel! The staff were lovely & polite and were always helpful with any questions we had. The rooftop pool was AMAZING and offered a spectacular view! The only thing i could suggest to the hotel was to somehow fit more sun lounges in as throughout the day it does get busy or people go off and just leave their towel on the sun lounges for hours before returning!

Our rooms were very clean and were cleaned everyday! They were an average size rooms for me & my sister and the family room for my parents & younger sister was a reasonable size offering them plenty of space!

The only downfall with this hotel was how thin the walls are! I'm not sure if we just had a noisy floor of people but we could always hear room doors banging throughout the night and we could hear the next door people having showers and going to the toilet throughout the evenings. It was slightly annoying in the evenings especially when you were trying to get to sleep and you keep hearing heavy doors banging but my family managed to ignore it and however annoying it was i guess the hotel can't do much to stop the noise.

Other than that the stay was amazing and i would strongly suggest this hotel to friends & family!

Thank you for much a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becki081290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunoplaza, Responsabile reception at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you for your lovely review! We appreciated your mention of the AMAZING rooftop pool with its spectacular view and the accurate daily cleaning of the rooms. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza and that you will strongly recommend our hotel to your family and friends. We thus look forward to your and your friends' next visit. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Fantastic stay in the Plaza. It's well located to get the main square and so most parts of Sorrento. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff were very helpful too. Rooftop pool has great views over the Bay of Naples. It helped make our honeymoon a great event. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M_Marr_1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunoplaza, Responsabile reception at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you for your positive review! The central location of our hotel will never be overemphasized. You really simply forget the car at the Plaza eveything being so close at hand. Thank you too for describing our rooms comfortable and clean and our staff very helpful. We are finally very glad to have contributed to a memorable honeymoon. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We chose this hotel in Sorrento after reading so many positive reviews and we certainly weren't disappointed. It more than lived up to our expectations and more worthy than its 4 star rating - we've stayed in far worse 5 star hotels! All the hotel staff were polite, friendly and helpful and always greeted you with a smile. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean and tastfully decorated throughout in neutral colours and wood.
Our room was on the 5th floor and although we didn't have a balcony, we had wonderful views across Sorrento and the Bay of Naples.
The location is perfect, far away from the noise of the traffic in the main Piazza Tasso but near enough to walk to everywhere - shops, buses, trains, places of interest, etc.
Breakfasts were a full meal in themselves to start the day and the choices were fantastic and all served in a bright dining room with cosy alcoves round the edge.
The infinity pool on the roof commanded superb views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples and was a wonderful way to cool down after the heat of the day and we never experienced any trouble in getting a sunlounger or chair to sit on. The roof bar was a a relaxing place to read a book or have a few cool drinks.
All in all one of the best hotels we've stayed in and are planning to return again to Sorrento and the Plaza hotel sometime in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happily-married23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Visited Sorrento July-Aug. The hotel was very busy but the service was still excellent - the best service of all the places we visited in Sorrento.

The rooftop pool is amazing. The pool is lovely and the rooftop bar was a great place to get a quick drink before heading out for the evening.

The breakfast was very good - the staff were excellent - down to remembering what room we were staying in & what morning drinks we have.

The room was very modern & clean. Nice balcony but no view to speak of. The only problem during the stay was that we could always hear doors banging. This was slightly annoying. I think that if the hotel could solve this problem - allowing me to sleep in I would book again without hesitation! This hotel is offering something special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJ20100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunoplaza, Responsabile reception at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your kind review! We are very pleased that you particularly appreciated the quality of our service which you found to be the best of all the places you visited in Sorrento. We are also glad that you enjoyed our infinity pool and Sky Bar on the rooftop, a great place indeed! As for the banging of doors, besides trusting in the consideration and good manners of our guests, we have adopted a special system to reduce the noise. So we wait for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews